We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantique experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zarautz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Karlos Arguinano
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We were very lucky to find a room (at the last minute!) last week in this charming hotel/castle (only 12 rooms so must make reservations in advance).Our room had a lovely terrasse in front of the Ocean (Mar Cantabrico) with outstanding views of sunset and sunrise in the morning just before a lovely and delicious breakfast. Everything was perfect: the personnel so kind and professional, the confortable bed, room and bathroom impecably clean and the garage facilities enormously appreciated given the difficulties parking a car in Zarauz. One one small regret: having had a late lunch at Getaria the same day we were unfortunately not hungry at diner time which we regret as we would have liked to try Karlos Arguinano's restaurant. Needless to say that we definitely plan to go back and thank them for the marvelous welcome we had.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grecoromaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

A great location right on the beach
A mini Castillo if it were, it's sticks out at the top end of the promenade away from the cafe/bar end
There's no lift, so be prepared to lug your case up the flight of stairs
Room is small, but adequate, although didn't find the pillows comfortable

Not sure I would be happy staying here during a vacation, but for a biz trip, I can't complain

Breakfast is served in the cafe part of the hotel and is pretty basic
Staff are friendly and helpful though

Wanted to eat in the supposedly famous restaurant of the same name, but apparently it's still off peak season and so it was closed
So I made do with simple tapas and a beer outside instead

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hotel Karlos at Zarautz
Hotel with charm, with beautiful room, oceanfront with very nice terrace to watch the surfers.The reception is done in English and French. Free parking.
Good restaurant, but expensive!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DjSGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while away on business with the supplier booking this little gem of a hotel/restaurant for us. Right on the sea front with stunning views and the chef is a Spanish tv celebrity! Comfortable rooms with very friendly, helpful staff. Hope to stay here again in future but with time to look around the area next time.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Very Welcoming and friendly, With situation and views beyond compare.
Room extremely nice, furnished lovely, Large balcony off with superb views of Zarautz Beach / Promenade, Getaria and Entertainment watching the Surfers.
Restaurant with Food and Service beyond compare, Fabulous !

Thank You All at Karlos Arguiñano for making our stay in October 2016 Memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zarautz
0.5 km away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
425 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Norte
Hotel Norte
#3 of 5 in Zarautz
40 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Villa Antilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
13.8 km away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karlos Arguinano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karlos Arguinano

Address: Mendilauta, 13, 20800 Zarautz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zarautz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Price Range: €90 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing