We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and Food - Bday Special”

Jacques Waterfront Dining
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Rodney Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jacques Waterfront Dining is one of St. Lucia’s most popular restaurants, with a long-standing reputation for consistency in both the quality of the food and the service with which it is delivered. We recently re-opened in a new and exciting waterfront location in the heart of Rodney Bay. This intimate and elegant restaurant right on the edge of the marina is set within the beautiful gardens of Harmony Suites Hotel, with superb uninterrupted views of the marina and hills beyond. Find us just off the main street in Rodney Bay, first right after the East Caribbean Village condo complex. Chef Jacques is well travelled, having worked in Africa, the Middle East and Far East, and enjoys bringing his various culinary experiences into his cuisine. When asked about his style of cuisine he likes to talk of fusion. French and Caribbean cuisines are melded using his French cooking experience and the wonderful Caribbean flavours that are available to him on a daily basis.
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We ate at Jacques last night (19/7/2018). Two couples, both husbands birthdays. The staff decorated the table for the occasion. The food was amazing! When they say waterfront they are not kidding- we could have rolled into the water! The menu offers fish and land options that will not disappoint. We had coconut creme brûlée that was served with sparklers and “Happy Birthday” sang by the staff. We stayed at BGBR and were able to easily walk! Thank you Jacques!

Thank Hailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018

What a beautiful location- this restaurant is right on the water with tables overlooking the marina. The wine list is really special and the bartender/sommelier was incredibly knowledgable about what we ordered. The menu is a delicious blend of French and Caribbean cuisines with meat and of course fresh fish options. We loved it so much we came back the next night! Definitely a hidden gem in Rodney Bay.

Thank hkl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy R, Owner at Jacques Waterfront Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hello, So much time and effort goes into running a restaurant! It is always nice to know when we are getting things right, thank you for your encouraging review! Ali, our sommelier will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed his suggestions, he is newly qualified and very enthusiastic about his new found knowledge! Do come back and see us next time you are in St Lucia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I ate at the restaurant on Thursday night, June 28, 2018, for a special occasion for his birthday. We selected Jacques solely for the lamb entree since our favorite restaurant was closed for the night. When I made reservations I shared that it was for his birthday.

The restaurant facility was very nice and beautiful around Rodney Bay. We were seated in the waterfront area and was perfect for the occasion.

We both ordered the Rack of Lamb (as listed on the menu) entree but was so disappointed when our plates were placed! The plates did not have a “rack of lamb” but instead we received 2 1/2 slices of lamb on each plate. Note that I said 2 1/2 because our 3rd chop was sliced so thin that it was not a whole slice!! Also, the chops were very small with hardly any meat on it. In addition, the plate had very small servings of a potato casserole, rice (not understanding why 2 starches), 1 small piece broccoli, 1 small stuffed eggplant, some other stuff that I didn’t eat. Basically the plate had a hodgepodge of a variety of foods that some really did not go with the “rack of lamb” in which we didn’t have a rack of lamb!

I mentioned to the waiter that we were celebrating my husband’s birthday thinking he would receive something special- but that did not happen. Also we were so very confused of to know who was our waiter. We had a young lady to take our drink orders and she asked if we were ready to place our order (we were) so she then nods to a gentleman, he comes and just stands there (no discussions) we were confused and then realize he’s taking our order. The young lady checks on us throughout the meal. We are through and the gentleman returns & takes our plates and asked if we wanted desserts. We said no. We sat there for a very long time (waiting for our bill) and finally I had to call the young lady over. She brings our bill. Then a different young lady comes to process our transaction. Oh my... so confusing!!

My overall review is that the place is very nice and in a good location but the food and service was not so good and nothing special in that category!!! We were so disappointed!!

Thank Ceejhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Booked dinner at Jacques Waterfront restaurant for our anniversary as we were visiting Saint Lucia & this was one of the highest recommended restaurants in the Rodney Bay Area. Reservations were easily made by email and we were welcomed warmly by Cathy the host when we arrived. The staff were very attentive and had prepared our table with silver stars and knapkins folded as birds. The food was pleasant but not outstanding as we had hoped for. We had asparagus starters which were lovely then our mains came as rack of lamb & Prawn skewers both served with the same mix of vegetables as standard on all plates. Seasoning could have been better but they were adequate. I had creme brûlée as dessert which was a large portion but more like pannacotta with burnt sugar on top. It was a nice meal but not quite as special as we expected.

Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Enjoyed lunch and dinner for our anniversary. Staff was very attentive and friendly! Food was excellent. Superb wine list. Reasonably priced.

Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacques Waterfront Dining also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jacques Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing