We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
27
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wortley arms home from home excellent hosts b and b the pub enjoyed our stay comfortable bed one night worsley yorkshire peaks accommodation wedding
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Tony and Sue who run this guesthouse could not have been kinder or more accommodating. We were a party of 5 cyclists ( and our back up driver ) who arrived wet and cold in after a long and difficult day in atrocious conditions from the Trans Pennine trail. Sue issued tea and towels and help with maps as we set off to collect the others who were still battling along the trail. Tony helped us clean our bikes and then mended them for us. I have never had a better experience from a guest house. They were friendly and welcoming and we are so glad to have chosen to stay here. The house itself is delightful and the food was lovely. Thank you so much for having us. We thoroughly recommend your warm and friendly house!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jollywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Very clean but tired decor and marks on walls and carpet. Loo and shower poor quality. Fresh fruit salad for breakfast day old with just fresh apple and grapes added. My husband always has cooked breakfast when away but even he said no by third morning as insipid sausages and greasy bacon unappealing. Cheap condiments and no effort to make jams attractive. Expensive for what is on offer. Needs total renovation. Su lovely. Wi-fi does not work in bedrooms. Jane and Howard

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank howard_why
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WortleyCottage, Owner at Wortley Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

Wortley Cottage was originally a Farmhouse, and has rooms decorated and furnished in a traditional cottage style. Our rooms were professionally decorated and new carpets laid the following week.

Our breakfast has been awarded a Tourist Authority Silver Award. I believe in supporting local, high-quality small businesses supplying Farmer's Markets and the Village Shops. Breakfast is always freshly prepared every day and cooked to order.

Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and is password protected. If we are made aware of problems, we try to resolve them as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We came up north to visit the peaks
We arrived at the hotel with a friendly welcome, very friendly owners!! Extremely spotless rooms ,music festival in the village so that made our stay even better .
Breakfast was lovely in the morning very welcoming couple highly recommended

Thank u xx

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dawnanddave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I heard about it by word of mouth, and checked the bed out - it was good and firm, :-) so I booked in. TV to watch from bed, good wifi speeds to work with, good shower room with plenty of space and all the usual kit. Fresh milk in a fridge I could have put my supper in.
Excellent hosts chatted to me about carolling in November.. but left me in peace.
Great breakfasts with fresh fruit salad and local really tasty yogurts as well as good local bacon and eggs you can taste.

Good pub food next door, Great steak pies at the farm shop next door, and plenty of things to do in the area. The post office is part of the B+B so easy to get bits of this and that.

I'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie6nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We arrived and were met by friendly welcoming proprietors and shown to our large twin room at the back of the house. This was large and well furnished with twin beds; an armchair; a rocking chair; double wardrobe; bedside tables and a chest of drawers. A door led to an immaculately clean shower room with WC, well decorated in neural colours with fresh clean towels & complimentary toiletries.
Back in the bedroom on the chest od drawers were a kettle 2 mugs, spoons & 2 glasses complimentary tea; coffee; hot chocolate & fruit teas with 2 packets of nice biscuits & chocolate mints. On the bedside cabinet was a DAB radio individual bedside lights; tissues & a selection of books and magazines on the shelf below. Also had free wifi.
The beds were comfortable with duvets and cosy patchwork throws.
After a good nights sleep we went downstairs for breakfast and were met by our hosts. A selection of fresh fruit salad; cereals & yoghurts were on the sideboard along with bread & fruit loaf with a toaster. We ordered full English and were offered poached; fried or scrambled egg. It included egg; bacon with 2 sausages; beans; tomatoes; mushrooms. Fresh cafetiere of coffee & a pot of tea along with orange juice.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
Our hosts were very attentive but knew when to leave us alone to enjoy our breakfast.
They offered advice on where to go, how to get to places and were generally informative.
A well run, comfortable & cosy B&B with the benefit of the local shop being part of the B&B. they also rent out bikes although we didn't use this service so can't review.

Would happily recommend we stayed 2 very enjoyable nights and went home refreshed.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews