We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pianirossi(Cinigiano)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo(Montalcino)
Book now, pay at stay
US$1,019
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo La Pace(Civitella Paganico)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Apparita(Civitella Paganico)
Tenuta La Silva(Seggiano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le 7 Camicie(Montalcino)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
93
6
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
6
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hotelwonderful tuscanour honeymoonpastarooms are beautifulstar propertythe hustle and bustlemontalcinocastlegroundspeacebellissimosurroundingsluxuryfeastjacuzzicountryside
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The unconventional layout of the hotel - dictated by the adaptation of the original borgo buildings - gave a lack of indoor lounge/communal areas which may not appeal to everyone. But the place is undoubtedly steeped in history and character.
Our room was very comfortable but let down by a leaky shower. The attractive restaurant served very good food with excellent and friendly service throughout.

Room Tip: the larger the better
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Barbara S,

good morning from Castel Porrona Relais & SPA.
Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the hotel with other travellers.

Further to your review we would like to take the opportunity to inform that, as you correctly pointed out, the hotel is the result of an important renovation of a Medieval village from the XII century. The rooms, the apartments and the services are all obtained from the ancient walls of historical buildings and, in spite of this, the interior areas Castel Porrona offers are more than one .. the intime Tolomei Wine Bar, the Il Chiostro indoor dining room and the Club House and elegant and spacious living you probably did not notice but available for guests who wish to read, play billiard, pocker or simply relax. We apologize if we did not catch this lack of service ..
Regarding the leaky shower you should have informed us about it .. our mainteinance staff is always available to intervene and fix immidiately most of the malfunctions to guarantee our guests all the comfort of a 5* hotel.
In any case Barbara, thank you for your nice words regarding the quality of food and the staff; it is always a pleasure to hear nice comments regarding services we offer.

Thank you again Barbara for your review and your visit at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !

Have a very nice day

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

When we checked in the staff was very polite and courteous. We were assigned a room that was black, dark, stuffy with only 1 window that was 30 in by 24 in. The a/c was not working. The manager came to explain there was a problem with the air conditioning and that it was turned off since it was later in September. The room was very uncomfortable.
See other write ups about the a/c. We were finally switched to another rooms with cross ventilation which was quite satisfactory. The food was good but not 5 star. The beef carpaccio was average. The pasta was fair. My pork tenderloin was very good but my wife's beef was tough.
Good but no were near 5 star

Room Tip: Look for another place if you want a 5 star experience
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Richard O,

greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !
We thank you for your review and for sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We apologize once again for the inconvenience you had with the A/C system; we decided to turn it off since we were approaching colder temperature, as our colleague explained. Regarding to your room it is a shame reading you did not like it and considered quite claustrophobic; it is clear your stay at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa did not meet your expectations and we apologize for this consideration; each guest has its own opinion and feeling and we accept each point of view.
In case you would like to speak with us about your stay we invite you to send an email to direzione@castelporrona.it and we will be more than glad to discuss about it.

Best regards

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We loved our stay. Everything is perfect. The restaurant is of an excellent standard, the rooms are splendid. The SPA is beautiful .... it feels so good, the staff is both discreet and extremely attentive. We are waiting for one thing, Return to castel Porona

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank valeriesoccorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Valeriesoccorsi,

greetings from Castel Porrona Relais & Spa !
Thank you for your very nice feedback.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, the services we offer and the atmosphere of this quiet Medieval village.
We hope to see you again at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa soon !

Best regards

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

After numerous visits to this beautiful region of Tuscany, we were looking forward to bringing our family along with us on this trip.
Prior to, and after Poronna, we stayed at two other wonderful 5 star properties in Florence and Rome (Portrait Firenze & Hassler) which both totally lived up to their billing. Unfortunately, Castel Porrona fell woefully short.
To be fair, let me start by saying that the staff were all very pleasant, and seemed to truly try their best.
We booked 2 deluxe rooms and 1 suite, for 3 nights at the end of August. After being taken to our uncomfortably warm rooms, we were shown how to adjust the air conditioning controls in order to have them operate most effectively. When we returned from dinner, only to find all 3 rooms even hotter than when we checked in, we called downstairs. Within a few minutes, a staff member scurried up to our 3 rooms, with 2 portable fans. We were only told then, that they had been having issues with their AC, since the beginning of the summer! When we asked for a 3rd fan, for our 3rd room, we were told that they had no others available. The next day they ushered in a couple of portable AC units for 2 of our rooms, (which really, were only marginally effective), while our 3rd room was left to make do with only a portable fan for the balance of the stay.
When hotel guests have to continuously shuttle a portable fan between the bedroom and the doorway of the bathroom, in an effort to stay comfortable, something is wrong.

At checkout, when I expressed our dissatisfaction and disappointment, I was given a laundry list of excuses. "It's been a very hot summer", "we realize now that our AC system needs to be changed" and "if you come back next summer, things will be much better." Sorry, I don't think so!
My biggest issue here is that if you advertise yourself, and are charging rates as that of a 5 star property, wouldn't you think it fair to advise hotel guests in advance, that your AC is not functioning?
So unsatisfactory were their excuses, that they only served to reinforce the feeling, of having been totally taken advantage of.
Clearly, management places much greater value on the Euro, with total disregard for the comfort of their guests, as well as their own reputation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank vacation48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Vacation48,

thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa on Tripadvisor.
We are not going to apologize once again to disappoint you even more.

We are well aware that during this season our main issue was the A/C system that caused us huge difficulties in guarantee our guests' comfort and demonstrate our full value. The worste reviews we received came from guests who stayed with us in that hot period during which the system broked down; we tried to keep the rooms fresh offering portable devices and fan but probably this gestures were not enough. As already pointed out, the management is truly planning a replacement of the entire A/C system during winter time in order to avoid these terrible feedbacks from our future guests that lower our brand reputation.
We have your email address and we are going to send you a private email to demonstrate we are working hard in developing our services and facilities and, above all, have a proper A/C system as a 5* hotel must have.

Thank you again for you feedback

Best regards

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We spent 5 days here and loved every moment! It was totally relaxing, from the amazing pool area and spa, to the peace and quiet and stunning views! The rooms are beautiful but as with other reviews, the air conditioning wasn't the best! The staff are really wonderful and so helpful, polite, friendly and informative - really fantastic! The food is incredible starting with an amazing feast of a breakfast tailor made to your dietary needs and delicious and the evening meal was a real lesson in how to please your taste buds! Everything tasted amazing!
The cocktails were unnecessarily expensive but the wines less so.
The presence of locals wandering around the grounds was lovely and endearing and they were polite and friendly too! Lots of fabulous places to visit not too far away but as you return back to the hotel each day it felt like coming home!
The indoor spa is stunning on a rainy day and the massage I had there was fabulous!
Whilst we were there the little church in the grounds had a wedding which was so beautiful! A little surprised that on seeing the owner a few days running that he didn't manage to say hello or engage in conversation, which is a shame as I would like to have told him how lovely it was at Castel Porrona! Will return.....

Room Tip: Any room with a view as the scenery is stunning!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelPorrona P, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castel Porrona Relais & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Ali24,

it is a honor reading your wonderful review on Tripadvisor !!
Thank you for such wonderful words. You described Castel Porrona Relais & Spa as a fairy place .. as actually it is ! We all thank you.

Regarding the owner (I am answering on his side) he send his personal excuses; he did not was to disappoint you and becuse of this, in case you will decide to come back (and we really hope so) he ask you to write him a private email at direzione@castelporrona.it so that he will be able to meet you personally ! He will be for sure more than pleased to introduce himself and apologize for this lack of attention toward our valued guests.

Thank you again !

Tania Guidarini
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews