We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveller rating
727
52
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
52
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben cruz palapa bar atm cave mayan ruins horseback riding every morning yoga deck zip lining goat cheese daily specials on site our honeymoon packed lunch san pedro the open air restaurant wonderful hosts belize city
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 795 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We had the most amazing honeymoon at Mystic River! We stayed in the Cloud 9 Suite in early October. That time of year is still considered the rainy season, but there were very few rain showers while we were there, and they were mostly at night. They have umbrellas in the rooms to use while getting around the resort during a downpour. This was very helpful!

The suite was gorgeous! The bathroom was huge and the bed was cozy and comfortable. The private patio and pool is where we spent a lot of our downtime. We only wished the water was warmer.

We loved the complimentary fresh and tasty coffee that was delivered to our door every morning. They only have one restaurant at the hotel, but the dinner menu changes every day and the food was absolutely amazing!! We were very satisfied. They use veggies, herbs, and fruits from their own garden, and they even have goats and chickens for fresh milk and eggs! Anything that they don't grow themselves they source out to local farmers from that area. Mystic River even invites guests to tour their garden and milk the goats in the morning!

Our first day at the resort was spent just checking out the grounds. They have a ton to explore, including a yoga deck with a great view of the river and well maintained hiking trails with amazing views of the jungle! All sorts of birds and crazy bugs too.

We came to MR with a general idea of what we wanted to do, and Rick made sure that our excursions were exactly what we wanted. We canoed into town with our tour guide, Ebi, on the Macal river and after that we toured Xunantunich and Cahal Pech ruins. Because we came before the busy tourist season, we essentially had a private tour of both ruins all to ourselves! It was magical!

The next day we wanted to tour the ATM cave but due to high waters, it was closed. We were initially bummed, but Rick scheduled us for a tour of Crystal Cave instead. It was such an Indiana Jones experience! (I would only recommend this cave excursion if you are in good shape, have a full bottle of DEET for the hour hike to the cave, and don't mind repelling down a 30 ft rope in the dark without a harness). Ben Cruz was our guide and he was so knowledgable about the cave's history. Again, we had the ENTIRE cave to ourselves!

Mystic River made us feel more than just another guest. Every single staff member was so friendly, and we left feeling like this was one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. Thank you Mystic River! We will never forget you!

Room tip: MR is about a 2 hour drive from Belize City, on some bumpy roads. I recommend using "Discounted Belize Shuttles and Tours".
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Good morning Carlyrh,
What a wonderful experience for your honeymoon! I am so happy that everything you did at Mystic River Resort was so amazing, and that you enjoyed our food! We take great care and pride In growing our own vegetables and it is always so nice to hear our guests comment on that. I hope you got to milk the goats as well! It is such a fun thing to do for sure. Congratulations on exploring Crystal Cave also. That Cave is pretty intense and only a few get to do it so bully for you! And Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We greatly appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the future. Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

A very short vacation, but endless memories, the place, the food, the warmth and the friendly welcome and stay, the activities (horseback riding, swimming in the river, waterfalls, etc.), a beautiful adventure, especially an incredible experience for our children, definitely the best place, thank you so much.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello Fernando,
It truly was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are all so happy you enjoyed everything Mystic River Resort has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope to see you all again in the future. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

A beautiful property with exceptional staff and management! Hiking the grounds was an unexpected treat as well and proved to be a pretty nice workout. The food was outstanding, especially the grilled pork chop at dinner! This is a very nice option for a romantic getaway...can’t wait to visit again!

Note: If driving in, use Google Maps for navigation, Waze will guide you to the other side of the river...

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hello Jerry,
I am so happy to read that you had an outstanding time with us at Mystic River Resort. The pork chop is one of my favorites on the menu! We cut them specifically to our preferred thickness and it works! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We greatly appreciate it! Take care and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

5 stars in the middle of the jungle! If it's not on the menu or tour list, just ask. The owners/staff will make it happen. Tom & Nadige care a lot about their resort & will do anything to make you happy!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank King E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Good morning,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I could not have said it better! Just ask and we can probably do it. We are the "can do people"! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience at Mystic River Resort. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

When you hit the dirt road and you still have 6 miles to go, you then realize you really are remote and in the jungle. We arrived at night, the staff was very helpful in getting us checked in. The bar was open and we sat down and had a late dinner. The food was great, loved the bar area in the evenings. The fireflies off our balcony over the river were mesmerizing as well as the howling cicadas, the toucans and the large lizards. Our room was gorgeous down to the lovely flower decorations. The rooms do not have air conditioning but each room is provided a fan. We slept with the windows open and the noises of the jungle in the background. We took a canoe down the river to the city of San Ignacio and had a great trip. The staff provided us with an ice chest and cervezas. Enjoyed our day in town and at the ruins. Highly recommend this hotel, their staff and the beautiful location.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scenic396720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Good morning,
Yes we are remote and we love it! No traffic noises, no population noises! Just the soothing sounds of the jungles, birds, crickets, cicadas and sometimes Howler monkeys! I am so happy you enjoyed our location and that your stay with us was wonderful. I will make sure our staff knows what a great job they did along with our kitchen staff! Thanks you for taking the time to share your e periences with others. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews