We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and lovely fresh local produce”

The Reading Room at Walton
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Walton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 July 2020

Used the Reading Room to encourage two little ones to finish their walk. Staff were very helpful and friendly, COVID-19 controls were excellent, cake and coffee were top rate. This is a must visit stop if you are in the area.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorkteabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2020

Got 2 takeaway sunday lunches last sunday & was so good we had to do the same this Sunday. We got 5 this week including for some of our elderly neighbours.All really enjoyed & said what good value for money. Back next week - orders for 6 already.

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank theladywarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

This cafe isn’t “just a cafe”! It’s a place for fun, laughter, catching up with friends and CAKE! Helen offers all of these with a warm welcome and a smiling face.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank csr978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

Fantastic little eatery here at the Reading Room. Everything is brilliant from the “Food, Friendly Staff, Brilliant Homemade Cakes Scones and Meals”
Can’t find anything negative about this place

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank mothersole6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

we stumbled on this great place while walking Hadrian's wall with my family, it was close to 4pm when normally would be getting ready to shut and found it still very busy will locals and walkers alike, we asked if we were in time for a well earned cuppa and cake, and the very nice owner, without even thinking said of course, no problem at all, and made us very welcome, we had the home made lemon drizzle cake (highly recommended). After a discussion between us, i decided to make the decision to get a taxi for the last 2 miles (some people would say this is cheating...i agree) the owner then very kindly managed to order us one, as we had no luck, and we chatted away with her and her daughter until it arrived. i would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone, lovely cheerful owner. Thank you

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrotherBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reading Room at Walton also viewed

 
Castle Carrock, Brampton
Gilsland, Brampton
 

Been to The Reading Room at Walton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.