We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$181
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$160
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$181
US$146
View Deal
SAVE US$35
Hotels.comUS$160
eDreamsUS$181
TravelocityUS$160
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
98
161
86
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
98
161
86
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river costa rica beautiful grounds eco hotel scarlet macaws santa lucia surrounding forest all inclusive plan hotel grounds hotel consists nearest town the cantina single story air conditioning no hot water dinner buffet watch the wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2020

This hotel is so beautiful - the perfect getaway nested in the jungle! We stayed in one of the cabins in the garden at the back - the room was spacious, bed comfy and beautifully clean. As is the case with many places in Costa Rica you are incredibly close to nature here. The sound of the birds, frogs, insects and the presence of so many iguanas, lizards, moths and other animals was enchanting. The river setting is also unique and really stunning.

Staff were all very nice and friendly and helpful, and the general atmosphere is very happy and calm :)

My only negative feedback would be with the food. Myself and my partner are vegan, TUI (our provider) promised all accommodations had been informed and would accommodate but sadly this wasn't the case. The menu is quite small, and there are are two options on the menu that can be vegan. My boyfriend and I explained (in Spanish) that we are vegan, and what that meant (as initially everyone thinks vegano/a means vegetarian). So no eggs, cheese, meat, fish, milk etc etc. My boyfriend opted for the buffet but quickly realised the only veg-looking option (nothing clearly labelled) had meat in it and had to eat around it. Then my food came drowned in mayonnaise. I ended up with a cold salad which was okay but it was a disappointing and stressful meal because I had to send stuff back and keep explaining myself. I also ended up paranoid that my other salad had stuff hidden in it and couldn't enjoy the food at all.

The next night the server was very kind and asked me to have a free salad from the buffet along with the cold salad, the only obviously vegan option (I was scared to order anything ambiguous at this point). I really appreciated this and it was very lovely of him.

My feedback would be that the hotel needs to cater to vegans and chefs/waiting staff need to understand what veganism is, just one option on the menu (a proper meal not a salad!) would be wonderful. It's highly upsetting to be served something you have been told is vegan only to have a mouthful and realise it's not. Hopefully in the future there will be more options here :)

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoconutVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephannieCarranza, Concierge at Hotel Villa Lapas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing your feedback. We highly appreciate this opportunity as it is our best resource to improve our service.
We are very excited to know that you enjoyed our environment, we will work better to train staff on the vegan diet and differentiate it from the vegetarian one, in addition to having more delicious options and better labelled identifying the buffet, our main objective is to provide our clients with an exclusive service so that you feel as in home.
We hope you came back soon to Villa Lapas Jungle Village.

Thank you for valued comments!

Stephannie Carranza
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Obviously money and care has been spent here in the past and some work is being carried out now, but certainly not in an obtrusive fashion. The breakfast buffet was hot, which was unusual in CR, and the choice reasonable. Unless you are without transport or the other meals are included, please eat elsewhere. 2km up the hill was a cafe with the most incredible panoramic view serving huge portions of good food.
The showers were warm, the swimming pools were cooler than I like. The grounds were surprisingly devoid of wildlife. The skywalk costs $20 per person if you need a lift to the top, otherwise it is a good climb to the top.
The hotel is used by several larger tours, English is not spoken competently by all the ‘front of house staff’ and unless you can patiently watch potential bird sites for a long time on the off chance someone lands, I would suggest taking some good pass times with you!

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank vpexplores1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephannieCarranza, Concierge at Hotel Villa Lapas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing your feedback. We highly appreciate this opportunity as it is our best resource to improve our service.

We hope you can reconsider coming back to Villa Lapas Jungle Village to experience a more enjoyable stay next time.

Thank you for valued comments!


Stephannie Carranza
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Picked this place out due to the close proximity to Carara NP. My wife found the pool a little bit too cold but she has a narrow comfort range. Interesting place. Not fancy but it was clean and fairly priced.
We were satisfied with the food but it was only a overnight stay. Maybe a little overpriced but you don't have to eat here.
The majority of the other guest seemed to be birdwatchers. The word must be out this is a great place for bird watching. It really is too.

Room tip: We stayed in the tree house. We had multiple tree frogs in the room and many bats under the eve of our deck. Loved it.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 45galef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephannieCarranza, Concierge at Hotel Villa Lapas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Gale,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing your feedback. We highly appreciate this opportunity as it is our best resource to improve our service. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful atmosphere.

We hope you came back some to Villa Lapas Jungle Village.

Thank you for valued comments!

Stephannie Carranza
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

A group of friends decided to go and take head on the all inclusive package from Villa Lapas.
It was the best decision!
From the moment arriving until the time living we were drinking, enjoying some breath taking views and the "skywalk" that one is deserving of a YouTube video all on it's own.
The accommodations were super comfy and cozy
The food on each buffet was surprisingly top notch (you don't get that on "all you can eat" formats very often)
And "the villa colonial downtown" like section of the lodge really makes you feel like those times of yore in Costa Rica.
The cantina is a most
The skywalk is a high impact trail walk with gorgeous views and the invigorating tropical forest air that will leave your lungs crystal clear of all the city smog

Highly recommended either for friends weekend, family trip or even couples get away for relaxing

It is appealing to all

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank marco2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephannieCarranza, Concierge at Hotel Villa Lapas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Marco,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing your feedback. We highly appreciate this opportunity as it is our best resource to improve our service.

Our main purpose is to offer a quality service and inspire full rest for our clients, your words are very gratifying, you let us know that we are on the right way.

We hope you came back soon to Villa Lapas Jungle Village.

Thank you for valued comments!

Stephannie Carranza
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed w a group of 12 on a birdwatching tour of Costa Rica. Meals Very good in quantity n quality, meals served buffet style. Rooms had plenty of hot water and comfortable air conditioning. Grounds quite pleasant for walks.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank yodamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephannieCarranza, Concierge at Hotel Villa Lapas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Yodamak,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing your feedback. We highly appreciate this opportunity as it is our best resource to improve our service.
We love knowing that you enjoy our buffet and facilities, we are very fortunate to be surrounded by such beautiful flora and fauna.
We hope you came back soon Villa Lapas Jungle Village.

Thank you for valued comments!


Stephannie Carranza
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews