We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Capulin Bed&Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarcoles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Friendly hostess taking care without being present. Nice rooms in green surroundings. The room we had had two comfortable queen size beds. Pancakes, bread and fruits for breakfast. Perfect for a short stay on your way.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CHFEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend staying here, we stayed two nights on the journey between The Nicoya peninsula and the mainland coast. Views over the tarcolea river and national park. Views from the shower were incredible. Pool was perfect. Breakfast was delicious, the hostess was lovely. We went to a nearby waterfall for a morning hike, very challenging and sweaty! Spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool and watching a big thunderstorm from the comfort of the balcony. Cash only, so we had to make a drive just for cash before we checked out. A few local sodas nearby to get food from. Coffee maker and sink in the room but not enough amenities to make any food. A truly spectacular place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed only one night at "La casita" but it was one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The property is gorgeous, the rooms are amazing and Claudine is really kind and sweet. The breakfast is delicious and fresh, many of the ingredients are taken from de same property.
We will for sure go back there as many times as we can.
-FE

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Edgardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

A beautiful location overlooking the Tarcoles River valley where, if you are an early riser, most mornings you can see scarlet macaws fly past as they head to their feeding sites. The surrounding gardens and home are beautiful and the breakfast generous. We picked up "take-out" dinners and Claudine provided us with dishes so we could watch the sunset and have leisurely evenings. We stayed here two different times and highly recommend this B&B as a base to explore the area and visit Parque Nacional Carara, where there are wonderful walks through the transitional forest, stop at the Tarcoles bridge to see crocodiles or take a cruise on the river. Although a bit off the main highway and a first visit should be in daylight, the "What3words" app on a smart phone will lead you there directly. Using these 3 words "griddle.elevates.headed" as then PIN you can't miss.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I'm standing on our private "observation deck" of the upper 2-bedroom unit of Rancho Capulin, enjoying the view and the breeze. We were supposed to have checked out from here a few hours ago but my family didn't want to leave, so we adjusted our itinerary. The B&B is intimate, quiet, clean and modern. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is light & tasty. It makes a convenient stopover if driving Highway 34, or a base to visit the nearby Carara National Park.
Rancho Capulin is quiet, but if you are considering a different accommodation near Tarcoles, make sure you choose one that is not on the highway, because the trucks run all night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GarethD176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcoles
3.2 km away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tarcoles
326 reviews
8 km away
Hotel Villa Lapas
Hotel Villa Lapas
#2 of 3 in Tarcoles
297 reviews
17.5 km away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Retreat Costa Rica
8.3 km away
Hotel Carara
Hotel Carara
#4 of 4 in Tarcoles
94 reviews
23.3 km away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Capulin Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Capulin Bed&Breakfast

Address: Bajo Capulin | Capulin, Tarcoles, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Tarcoles District > Tarcoles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarcoles
Price Range: €59 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rancho is located at the foot of Carara National Park in a large tropical garden. The garden includes a swimming pool surrounded by lush vegetation. Breakfast is offered on a terrace that offers an exceptional view over the river Tarcoles, Carara Park and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rancho Capulin Bed&Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing