We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Beach!

Did not expect to find such a beautiful little beach in St. Estephe, out in the middle of the... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2019
kurt_stimens
,
Mansfield, Ohio
via mobile
Perfect place

A perfect place to unwind during our annual trip to this beautiful area of France Beach sun water... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2019
Andy2391
,
Tickhill, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 69 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
40
25
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
25
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

Did not expect to find such a beautiful little beach in St. Estephe, out in the middle of the countryside. The sand is nice, as is the lake itself. There are a couple of snack bars where you can get drinks, salads, and petite manges. There are campsites, a sand volleyball court, and picnic tables under the shade trees. There is also a nice restaurant in an old mill on the dam itself.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank kurt_stimens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

A perfect place to unwind during our annual trip to this beautiful area of France
Beach sun water great footpath with exercise stations

Great food at all levels.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Andy2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

What’s not to like? Free hire of kayaks and paddle boards, food and drink nearby, lovely sand for kids to play in, nice lifeguarded lake with showers. One evening there was a local producers food market just along the path from l’etang which served a variety of food for supper. We sat on the benches there with other families and ate. Beautiful afternoon/evening out.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 111amandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 August 2019 via mobile

We spent most of the day at Grand Etang de Saint-Estephe saying “I can’t believe this is free” - it is beautifully kept and there is lots to do. The walk around the lake takes approximately 40 minutes and there are some pieces of fitness activity equipment along the way to play with. Half way round is a manual hand-pull ferry which is great fun.

We didn’t spend lots of time on the lakeside beach as it unfortunately was quite rainy when we visited but the time we did spend on it was lovely and it was so clean. There are two play parks for children of different ages and a cafe that sells a wide menu of hot meals and crepes and ice cream. I had the duck salad and it was huge!!!

We also went canoeing in the afternoon which again was free! Some people were also paddle boarding so that’s also an option.

All in all I would hugely recommend this as a place to spend a day with young children, there was lots to do and plenty of space to run around all afternoon. We will be back!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ozzycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

Clean and tidy this lake has to be there at the top of the list. Free kayak hire. A great walk with a twist half way. Good swimming. Great cheap(ish) food. Free wooden sun loungers. Clean toilets and showers and changing facilities. Easy to find and park. All in all a great day out.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews