We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
522
228
44
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
228
44
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dodgy dock free shuttle cooking class street food tower room rum tasting grand anse beach infinity pool small kitchenette dive shop yogurt view of the bay dive trip hired a car spent a week local dishes dive school
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was our first visit to Grenada, and we spent 8 days at True Blue while diving with Aquanauts Dive Center, which is on-site. The service started even before we left. Having been stranded upon arrival at airports before, I emailed True Blue to confirm a pick-up. Someone responded within an hour (!) with confirmation, and sure enough they were there upon arrival. We arrived on a Friday night, and by the time we'd checked in, unpacked and readied our dive gear for the next morning, it was 9:45 or so. We went down to True Blue's restaurant, Dodgy Dock, for a drink and light snack. We ordered drinks and decided to get chips and salsa. When we asked for the bill, the waitress told us that she wasn't going to charge us for the chips/salsa as Friday was Mexican theme night. We experienced many more instances of exceptional service during the week. The staff without fail- whether waitstaff, groundskeepers, cleaning staff, front desk staff- always had a greeting and a smile when they saw us. The rooms were extremely clean, and most important for us, the beds were very comfortable. Not that we spent much time in the room, but cable TV out of FLA kept us informed about a big storm at home, and wifi was available for free (yes, free- what a concept!). The food at Dodgy Dock was very good, the theme nights for the most part good (and even if you didn't like anything from the theme menu, you could order off the lunch/snacks menu). The desserts- I can't say enough about the kahlua cake and the sticky toffee pudding. The nutmeg ice cream was the best we had on the island. And the drinks were excellent- so often, we find mixed drinks in the islands to be overly sweet, but Dodgy Dock's were perfect. Most nights had live entertainment, which was great (both the quality of the entertainment and the idea of providing it). Cheryl kept our room clean and even, when she found out we were diving every day, made it a point to clean our room first so that when we'd come back from our morning dives, we'd have fresh towels for the afternoon dive.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no beach at True Blue, but the pool was nice (and clean), and the views of the ocean were spectacular. We weren't there to beach it anyway, so didn't even notice the 'missing' beach until others mentioned it. I believe they have a shuttle to Grand Anse beach anyway...

We did rent a car for three days and had fun exploring the island- driving up into the rainforest to look for monkeys, circumnavigating the island (gorgeous views along the coast roads), visiting Belmont Estates (information/interesting explanation of the cacao to cocoa process), and the Friday Night Gouyave Fish Fry (eh- I'd skip it next time and splurge at the Beach House)/

Everything about our stay was exceptional- from the people, to the accommodations, to the island itself (this is the friendliest island in the Caribbean we've been to..), and there is no question that we'll stay at True Blue when we return to Grenada, which we most certainly will (and soon...). We loved, loved, loved, Grenada and its people!

Room Tip: Rooms vary by price as to ocean-front, etc. We stayed in a 'standard' bay view room, and it had a beautiful view of the bay, a great balcony with two chaise lounges, and a little kitchenette if you'd wanted to do lunch on your own. The Bay View rooms were a bit of a climb from the dive shop, but it was good exercise!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This boutique hotel was excellent in terms of the grand ocean view and the relaxing rustic feel of the rooms. The one challenge I had was that I madea reservation online with my credit card, only to arrive and find out that my room has not been reserved! After waitng for about a half hour, the receptionist advised that I got a slight upgrade for the inconvenience.
The food a True Blue is excellent - the drinks at the Bar are original and fun. It's a wonderful place to stay for the romantics at heart, but you can also have a great time with a group of girlfriends who have a fancy for the exotic!
I'd recommend True Blue if your budget is middle-upper pocket, as it is indeed one of the finer hotels on the island!

Room Tip: Choose the top floors, as it's less noisy atop
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veoma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We just got back from an amazing 10 days at True Blue Bay Resort. Everything about the resort was wonderful. I’ve never met a better team/staff than the folks at True Blue. They are friendly, warm, and service oriented. The hotel is well maintained, clean, and fresh. Everyday we noticed maintenance crews working on upkeep and minor repairs on things other small hotels either don’t notice or don’t think you will notice (like trim work, small weeds in flower beds, etc.). The owners live on site and seem to treat the staff well because 100% of them really seemed to enjoy their jobs. Chavon did a wonderful job of cleaning our room everyday and always making sure we had clean towels for the pool or beach. Omega makes AWESOME omelet’s every morning and serves them with a beautiful smile and Mickyele always made sure your coffee cup was full. The only negative about True Blue is they do not have a beach. They have an artificial one, however with the pool (pretty ingenious) and it works well. We spent a couple afternoons at Magazine and Grand Anse beaches and checked out other hotels as well. We were thinking on our next visit we’d like to stay with a beach. These other hotels did not compare to True Blue regarding upkeep and staff friendliness. When we return to Grenada we will absolutely stay at True Blue again!

A little about us – we like smaller, local owned hotels. We typically don’t stay at the Ritz, or somewhere with 300+ rooms. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not it. However, we prefer the atmosphere of a smaller hotel.

We loved hanging out at the Dodgy Dock. Very good quesadilla’s and piña colodas!! Leah always greeted us with a cheerful, Hello! The staff at Dodgy Dock was wonderful and the atmosphere is great. Right out over the water. Several nights they had really good live entertainment, which was a nice treat.

If you are staying at True Blue, be sure to walk up the street for drinks or dinner at Bananas. Go upstairs to the bar and have Omar make you a Banana Paradise. It is yummy, yummy, yummy and Omar is a real treat to sit and talk with.

Also, we cannot say enough about the people of Grenada overall. Without exception, everyone we met was friendly, warm, and welcoming. It truly is the “friendliest island in the Caribbean”. We’ve traveled quite a bit throughout the Caribbean, and have never been met with more openness and friendliness. The Grenadians really are glad you are visiting the island. They are the polar opposite of many in St. Thomas that give you the impression you are invading their home and that you should leave ASAP.

We will absolutely return to Grenada, and in the mean time we will be singing its praises to everyone that will listen.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimberleeEtcetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here as base for diving (on site aquanauts are superb) and exploring the very pretty island of Grenada. Hotel is away from main resort areas in a quiet upmarket residential area close to the University. It is close to the airport which is great for transfer times and although on the flight path there are so few flights in and out that does not matter at all. Given the size of Grenada, its as good a place as any to base yourself if you wish to explore either with your own car or by hiring a driver or taking a tour A ten minute walk to the end of the road sees you on the main bus route into st georges (and if you talk nicely to the driver on the way back for an extra dollar or so he'll bring the bus up the road to the hotel for you!)

We stayed in a standard room on the first floor with lovely views over the grounds and bay Room had everything we needed and although our meal plan meant we did not need it the small kitchenette was well equipped and it was good to have a fridge for juices etc. There is a small pharmacy/conveneince store 5 minutes walk away which has all the basics but if you were wanting to do a bigger shop you would need to go to grand anse or into st georges. Bathroom was shower only but well supplied with shower wash, handwash, shampoo etc.

There are two pools: the infinity pool is not that inviting (its underused so not that clean) but the main pool is clean and lovely While not that large, most days there were very few people in it and it felt like having your own private pool (complete with slide!)

Room rate includes continental breakfast - compared to other places we have stayed this was very limited Otherwise however the food was outstanding- the chefs at the dodgy dock certainly know their trade and we were never disappointed and often absolutely delighted at the taste and quality And of course sitting overlooking the bay just helps the food go down Staff are all friendly and helpful and we spent many a happy afternoon/evening lounging around with cool beers, reading our books and enjoying the view.

There is a low key smattering of things to do throughout the week (yoga, rum tasting, cookery lessons etc) but otherwise, like the rest of Grenada this is one laid back place. Clientelle are mainly Canadian/American and older, with many associated with the neighbouring university in some way which makes for interesting conversations around the pool, interspersed with people on or off yachts that are passing by.

This hotel certainly met our needs - a nice quiet haven, characterful with good rooms, good food and easy access to a very good dive school. It would in fact be perfect except for one thing - Wednesday nights. Each Wednesday the bar is given over to party night for the students with standing room only at the bar, 20 minute lines to get served and a Dj who can be heard three streets away until gone midnight Given there is only one bar and one restaurant in the place this is quite an imposition on the guests - especially as it is timed to coincide with "couples night" in the restauant I have no doubt it does wonders for the hotels takings but quite frankly you cant style yourself a boutique hotel and then expect your guests to be plunged into a student union for one night each week

Would we go back? Yes - Grenada is charming, the diving outstanding and True Blue an oasis of well fed Caribbean character - but I would probably avoid visiting during term time at the local Uiversity!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueBlueBayResort, Guest Relations Manager at True Blue Bay Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

We thank you for your comments as we found them very helpful.

Your comment about couples night on Wednesday was insightful and we are strongly considering changing it to a different night. We are sorry that our Wednesday DJ Jam intruded on an otherwise wonderful vacation. We try to cater to the various desires of all our guests who come from different age groups, cultures and backgrounds. Some guests prefer night life while others prefer peace and quiet and so we offer a little of everything on our various theme nights.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a wonderful location especially for scuba divers. Aquanauts Dive shop is on the property and they are a top rate dive operator. The owners are always on the property and always available, the staff is friendly. The resort is close to the SGU campus for families wanting to be close in location to SGU. We stayed at a villa this time and it was clean, roomy, close to the pool and provided all we needed. They have rum tasting and cooking classes and a cocktail party during the week free if you're staying on the property. This adds a personal touch to the whole experience.

Room Tip: Both hotel rooms and the villas are equally wonderful. What may matter is if you need or want more room a villa may be best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews