We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
57
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
10
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barn owl lovely country fresh milk little things wonderful stay comfy bed simon stratford hosts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Beautiful views from the windows, lovely farmhouse style property, only a small road outside so nice and quite, lovely couple running this B & B. Breakfast very nice. Handy position for visiting all attractions in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quite
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultH8154UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this farmhouse over the Easter weekend and must say that it was the best place we stayed all week! Our room (Barn Owl) was huge with an ensuite and overlooked the lambs in the field opposite. The entrance to the house is through the stone pillars - we parked round the back by the farm so got a bit lost to begin with but once you know where it is it's fine. Our hosts couldn't have been warmer - they did everything they could to ensure we had an exceptional stay. The breakfasts were amazing - I would highly recommend the mushrooms in cream sauce! We were pretty much left to come and go as we pleased - there's a games room with a fireplace where you can while away a wet cold afternoon playing some board games, or spend time in the room just reading. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept really well. We didn't know much about the area and all we had booked to do was a boat trip to the Farne Islands, but one thing our hosts were brilliant at was recommendations for places to visit and also places to eat! We took up their recommendation to eat at Craster's Seafood Restaurant and we enjoyed it so much that we went there every night we stayed in Stamford! Our hosts were also great at suggesting places to visit that we wouldn't otherwise have been aware of, such as Ros Hill where you can see 7 castles on a clear day, and Warkworth, a picturesque town on the river. By the time it came to say goodbye, we really didn't want to leave and felt more like family than strange guests! We can't recommend this place enough and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrs_Stan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and can't fault this lovely, friendly and traditionally hospitable guest house.
Our room was generous with an enormous and well appointed bathroom. Big enough for two, the bath was supplied with lashings of piping hot water and the whole of the accommodation was warm and welcoming.
A great location for surrounding attractions the only downside was that the weather was too warm to necessitate lighting of the real fire!
Would love to return...
Thanks for a fabulous stay......

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cubster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I can only repeat other reviews - large comfy rooms, a warm welcome from Simon and Karen, lovely food. It's a great location, within minutes you can be at the coast, with sandy beaches, castles and seafood restaurants. Or going inland more castles, picturesque villages and verdant countryside. It was particularly refreshing that we were able to have our dog, a springer spaniel, in the room. We had a fantastic break in Northumberland, made all the better by staying at Stamford farmhouse and we are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Barn owl room is probably the best room
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy1112m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had Buzzard room and my mother had Woodpecker, Both rooms were spacious with everything you need. Comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. Woodpecker had bath and separate shower cubicle and Buzzard had bath with shower over.
Breakfast was lovely and we were allowed to take our dog into the dining room which was good, Usually the owners will set up a table in the lounge if guests want to eat with their dogs but the only other guests also had a dog so they were happy for us to all eat together. The only tiny thing that would have made our stay better would be to have a permanent light outside the front door instead of one that is motion sensitive because it is pitch black out front so taking our dog out after dark was a challenge. A light on the entrance gate would be useful too. The owners are lovely friendly people, and the house is very dog friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms comfortable without being fussy. Bathroom for Buzzard is across a small landing but is private use for that room only.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank shelley0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews