We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Barcelo.com
US$200
US$141
View deal
SAVE US$59
Hotels.com
US$143
View deal
FindHotelUS$143
Expedia.comUS$143
StayForLongUS$200
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,931)
Filter reviews
3,931 results
Traveller rating
1,643
1,133
630
273
252
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,643
1,133
630
273
252
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica beach volleyball onion rings all inclusive resort entertainment staff nightly entertainment buffet restaurant pool bar small resort langosta beach ala carte recommend this resort howler monkeys dance lessons resort staff low tide nachos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,931 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2021

First of all if you are Bilingual you get extra Kudos all over the world! since it pays to know at least a little bit of the language of the country that you visit! We met Juan Martinez and Carlos Granados at all inclusive Ocxidental Tamarindo in costa Rica and if weren't for them our drinks here and the service next to the beach and pool would have definitely been mediocre, however both of these guys made our entire pool and beach experience here worth it!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Z1456UZanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Tamarindo . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Booked over 1 year ago. Booked the Master Suite. Was told 1 week prior to arrival that there was construction so we were being downgraded with only a $40/ day credit. Real reason was there was a production crew there and they were given out suite. The buffet was horrible. Nothing healthy to eat. Restaurant workers were rude and distracted. Had to go to the lobby 4 out of 8 days to request towels because they didn't give us any when they half azz cleaned the room. Didn't change the linens on the bed everyday. I would never stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank blindguy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Occidental Tamarindo , we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!! This place is dirty and disgusting. There's no way it is 5 stars. I have been to several all inclusive hotels in the past, and have never had such a terrible experience. They are using Covid as an excuse to significantly lower standards. Check in took 45 minutes alone. We were given our room number and when we went to our building the door was propped open by a coffee table. I went back to the front and asked if there was a reason we had the only room with a table propped in the door and they responded that everything was fine and we just needed to move the table. We unloaded our luggage, locked the door, walked to THE ONLY BAR, and by the time we came back the place WREAKED of ammonia. It was clear they were trying to hide something. I walked down to the front counter and told him we needed to change my room. He responded, "We are unable to change your room because we are fully booked.” Meanwhile, the guy next to me was asking if they had any open rooms available and he was being given a room. I reminded him of the situation earlier and magically a room appeared. We moved our own luggage over and that room had stained bedsheets and a cockroach on the curtains! THIS PLACE IS A DISGUSTING DISASTER. Oh, and don’t even get me started on the food. They have only 1 buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is worse than an American buffet. And god forbid you want to eat something at an all inclusive between the hours they have set for the buffet, then you have to go to this food area, that always has a ridiculous line, and the only thing they serve are macerated, dry pizza that’s probably been reheated for several days or chips, fries, or onion rings topped with nacho cheese. Literally nothing else to choose from. They have 2 nice restaurants but you only get one meal there if you stay 3 days. We couldn’t stay longer than the one night we had booked.
Other things to consider:
1) No swim up bar, and the bar they do have has a line to the front of the hotel.
2) They list free/secure parking – however even during low season when we went they didn’t have any spots left.
3) No working elevators and they have rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors.
I would never think about booking at one of these properties again. 5 stars is a joke. Please look at the pictures before booking!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halienh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Tamarindo , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team,I am very disappointed to know that you have found our service below your expectations.We certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021

This all-inclusive was outstanding. We stayed in unit #9326 which was an EXCELLENT location. Next to bar, snack bar, pool, beach. They have a large, clean buffet restaurant but it is not self-serve. You tell them what you want and it's dished up for you. Lots of selections. Open bar with soft drinks, beer tap and wine dispensers. They also have an onsight Italian restaurant reservations required and you can only eat there complimentary one time and only if you are there for more than 3 nights.
We had a 3 night stay and had dinner here the night of our anniversary. Excellent selections. I opted for the salmon entree. Perfectly cooked. Iguanas can be a menace at lunch time if you are sitting on the south side of the pool. Great experience and would definitely go here again. The only negative thing was the parking situation. Originally had us park a ways from the complex but I complained about it and they moved us up right next to the reception area.

Room tip: unit #9326 has great location and exceptionally large room
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ssparlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

Martin warrior
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

I'm rating this in relation to my expectations, it's listed as a 4 star hotel, and the price reflects that so my rating is in relation to my expectation.

We spent the last week of January 2021 here, after a week at another resort not on the beach. Our objective was to unwind, walk on the beach, swim and not have to think about any logistics, thus the all inclusive was attractive.

We arrived on a Saturday, which is by far their busiest day. The music was loud, there were a lot of people, and checkin was slow. it seemed over crowded and I was beginning to think I made a bad choice. Saturday WiFi was on and off, couldn't rely on it to even text. It was a bit better in the lobby, but then, I wasn't there to work so not that big a problem.

We didn't expect so many children and young people, but they were well behaved and it's entertaining to watch them play in the pool. Still too much loud music and too many lines.

Sunday was better as we became familiar with how to avoid the busy times and where to go to find a quiet place to read. Our room was just fine, although they seem to have a problem with a shortage of towels, the staff would bring them when we called.

My wife speaks Spanish enough to communicate, so my poor Spanish wasn't a problem, and I wasn't there to socialize. The staff were great, they were very responsive and looked happy. The resort looked a bit under staffed, but in the year of Covid, so many things that were easy become hard, so I've come to accept some issues.

Claudio in the reception area was VERY helpful, as we any of the other staff members that we interacted with.

It's a beautiful location, with caring staff, some excellent features and some not so excellent but acceptable.

Room tip: Our "Superior" room was very comfortable, with a balcony and sitting area.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Windslow548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2021

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Tamarindo was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Martin warrior
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews