We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,102)
Filter reviews
3,102 results
Traveller rating
1,357
931
482
175
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,357
931
482
175
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant smaller resort costa rica nightly shows beach volleyball onion rings all inclusive resort chicken wings cab ride pool bar howler monkeys langosta beach in town arenal volcano recommend this resort low tide resort staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 3,102 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 days at the resort. We came from La Fortuna on a package trip so we didnt really pick this hotel.

Pros: free drinks, beach is wonderful (small), town is a mile or so, pool area is clean. Iguanas everywhere

Cons: Food is bland and needs work (buffet). Dinner doesnt start til 7pm.
Room needs upgrades. Door to outside hardly locks. No lights to enjoy patio after dark. Shower was leaking, mold on bathroom door. While getting food, service was poor (water was forgotten for half our meal.) Racoons are in dining area.

Overall my stay was ok. I wouldn't recommend this hotel however.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EllieI92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo L, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Average,


Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Director General
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for a resort with 4 beaches, 8 pools and 8 restaurants...you might not like Occidental. If you're looking for a cozy place with a bit o personal touch, beautiful pool area and great staff - that's your place to stay.
Our room was super clean and spacious and cleaning staff was very friendly.
Food in the restaurant was very good (first time we didn't get sick!)
Pool area was clean. You have to share it with large iguanas but well...
Beach is small and wild but it's Costa Rica, it's beautiful.
Bartender- Edwin- was super professional.
All of the people there are working hard. Many thanks to Alberto, Joel and Edwin for making our stay special!
We will be back!

Room tip: Stay close to the beach - rooms 92-93
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank akravitz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo L, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Akravitz,

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Director General
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have done several All Inclusives. This is a very limited one. Really only 1 restaurant (buffet) area. Dinner HRs didn’t start till 7pm. Only other option was pool side grill. Which really wasn’t much. Same “few” items daily that are set up for lunch. Just not appetizing to us. There is 1 “alacart” restaurant which you can go to no charge, # of times depends on length of stay. Pay if you choose more. Staff great, trips into Tamarindo fun. End of rainy season but our weather good all 5 days. It’s just really hard to beat Punta Cana for all inclusives in our opinion.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Judith Boyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo L, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Judith,

Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Occidental Tamarindo.

Regards,
Martin guerrero
Director General
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

It is a change from the mega resorts.
Right on the beach; it one huge pool with sectioned off children's pool and whirlpool.

Well appointed rooms are in a series of 2 story buildings with 3-4 units each. The rooms with ocean view rooms are obscured by trees.

One themed restaurant with different offerings each night. Short walk to Tamarindo and a $5 taxi back to the hotel.

Nice change from the mega resorts.
The staff are very friendly and earnestly want you to enjoy yourself.

Easily the prettiest female servers and front desk staff in Guanacaste province!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Naturak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo L, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good morning Naturak,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regard,

Martin Guerrero
Director General
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Excellent scenery with iguanas freely roaming around, howler monkies in the trees and peaceful beach access. The staff is always standing by to assist and the spa has reasonable pricing ($100 for a couples 50 minute massage). My fiancé and I throughly enjoyed our time in Tamarindo. Definitely reccommend going on the excursions. We took the Arenal Volcano excursion our last day and it was amazing. It was a 3.5 hour drive each way but well worth it!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Navigator59439651798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo L, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Good afternoon,!

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment praising your recent visit to our Occidental Tamarindo hotel and we are delighted to know that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Regards,

Martin Guerrero
Managing Director
Occidental Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews