We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$270
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$270
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Trip.com
US$284
US$258
View deal
SAVE US$26
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Hotels.comUS$270
FindHotelUS$284
Official HotelUS$262
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveller rating
1,207
219
62
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,207
219
62
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool bedroom villa costa rica howler monkeys three bedroom cocktail hour complimentary sunset minute walk tide pools watch the sunset beautiful hotel bottle of champagne welcome drink tamarindo beach in town low tide beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2021

Costa Rica is an amazing place to visit. We really like the Tamarindo area. Casa Luna is a nice place to stay. The location is great and an easy walk or cab ride into town. the hotel is also within steps of the beach.
Breakfast was included and excellent. The service was good, but not great. I'm hoping it was just because they are short staffed. We tried calling the front desk 3-4 times and no one was there to answer.

The rooms were very nice and clean. Water pressure and hot water was an issue as you could never have a full shower with hot water, it was mostly luke warm.

They have a beautiful pool and some small walking paths. It was easy to work remotely from here. Plenty of outlets to plug into.

While I would stay there again, I hope that when things return to the new normal, there is more staff to assist. When you could find someone, they were very attentive.

Room tip: We stayed in 314 which was steps away from the beach and resort amenities. Very private.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldesignsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Cala luna es a Beautiful place, in the middle of nature very close to the beach ,great food,the room was nice too ,staff is happy to help in any time.
Will be glad to be back there one day.
And for sure Ill be always recomendéd to others

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 485tamirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021 via mobile

I was relaxed as soon as I walked into this hotel. The open air lobby is decorated in a modern and natural way with soothing white walls and natural wood pillars supporting the roof. Check-in was easy. There is on-site parking.

The front desk attendant walked me through the beautiful open-air dining room next to the pool surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Then, onto my room. The hotel is designed in a very smart way with paths cut through mature tropical plants that surround each room. The plants provide privacy and also give the guest a gorgeous view from their room and their private patios.

The staff is very friendly and gracious. One of the maids made little towel animals for me every day and put fresh flowers in my room. The bathroom has the most amazing tub I’ve ever seen in Costa Rica. As someone who has lived here, I can tell you that tubs are a true luxury here. They are not commonly found in homes or hotels. The bathroom has double sinks. The room was immaculate. There is a safe

The pool is the perfect temperature. A pool bar that serves drinks and snacks is open all day. At the back of the property, is a little path that leads directly to a hidden beach with tide pools and the most amazing sunset views.

The hotel owns a farm which supplies the restaurant with many fresh fruits and vegetables. The food is creative and tastes great!

The hotel is located in Playa Langosta and is a 15 minute walk into the Main Street of Tamarindo

If you’re looking for amazing service and a tranquil place to relax, this is definitely it!!! My very favorite place in Costa Rica!!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank OliviaGrace2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

We traveled to Costa Rica during the week between Christmas and New Year's Day. Our experience at Cala Luna was the best that we have ever experienced in the world. The staff from check in to the restaurant were so welcoming and so genuine in their desire to ensure we had the best experience possible.

We asked that they set up tours for us and they came through within an afternoon charting out our entire week full of ATVs, horseback riding, fishing, snorkeling and a trip to the volcano. Every trip had transportation arranged and we were provided with everything we'd need during our excursion.

The villa we reserved had three bedroom, so we could all spread out or enjoy our own pool. Housekeeping serviced the villa each day leaving it sparkling clean and a different towel animal each day!

We were surprised on New Year's Eve that the staff had arranged a dinner for every guest around the pool, socially distanced with the most amazing food we had during our trip. This was followed by a fireworks display at midnight.

We also each had a massage and Camila did a fantastic job bringing sound therapy into the course of the massage for a once in a lifetime experience. The beach is a very short walk and the sunsets were beyond words.

We loved Cala Luna and Costa Rica so much that we rebooked for the same week in 2021 and can't wait to return!

Room tip: Reserve a villa
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewhD4851WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

I almost don't want to write this because I fear that I am revealing a secret treasure. But if you are staying in Tamarindo and want an authentic, charming, luxurious, boutique and local experience with the most amazing service ever then you must stay at Cala Luna. The rooms are separate little suites with beautiful and comfortable accommodations. Local decor in the rooms is charming but the amenities are top notch i.e. great beds, great showers and baths, and all up to date. the grounds are beautiful with trees and jungle everywhere, including monkeys. Just a short path away (1 minute walk) is the most amazing beach well away from town and with white and black sand beaches and the most amazing rocks and tide pools. you can run and play and swim and sunbathe. But best of all?? the People and Service. From Donovan and Kevin and Carol at the front desk to Flora, Liberty, Charley ,Felipe, Ever and Millie at the restaurant, you could NOT find happier, more friendly competent service anywhere. The Food is fantastic and if you want to go into town, you are a short walk or 3 minute cab ride away. it is another world and awesome. Oh, and the maid service every morning leaves you the most amazing towel animals on your bed. So So Fun. Cala Luna is truly Pura Vida.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johniV2637AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews