We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Oldie Worldie" with all mod cons”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen / Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Lounge
Roll Top Bath in the Main Bathroom
May Day Celebrations
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wellow, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnieD23D...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Oldie Worldie" with all mod cons”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are a family of four, including teenage boy/girl twins and we stayed at White Horse Cottage at the very end of June, first week in July really. We had a really pleasant stay and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation. We had excellent communication from Julie and really appreciated her professionalism. Earlier reviews spoke of problems with the neighbors: we had none and they seemed very friendly. We listened to the rules and parked on the street which is right in front of the home therefore we personally didn't find any need to use the drive at all, even to unload. We were in the area as we had my husband's mother's home to clear nearby and the cottage was a perfect place to go "home" to, following an exhausting day. Very cosy indeed. We did not use the sauna or larger lounge at all, but it is lovely and provides an escape from the TV lounge. There's plenty of books and games if you need them. This room would also make a fabulous master bedroom with room for twin beds or a king and hence provide the owner with a greater market for the elderly and infirm perhaps as there is a shower room with toilet on the ground level. My husband and son are 6'3" but they coped with the narrow winding stair but you get used to it. For this reason, I would suggest that this cottage might not be suitable for the elderly or infirm due to the stair to all the bedrooms upstairs as the configuration is now. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable. The larger double to the front has a sharp fireplace concrete corner right by the door but we appreciate this is the nature of the building and again, you get used to it. The twin room at the front is spacious. The back bedroom has a double in it but you can hardly move in that room as it is very tight. The bathroom is beautiful with a claw-foot tub. The cottage is very well equipped in all rooms especially the kitchen. We enjoyed using it very much. A great place to gather with a meal and a glass of wine at the large table. The cottage is decorated superbly throughout and you will be most comfortable there. We didn't use the patio, BBQ or garden but this could be a lovely spot to enjoy. The home has plenty of leaflets of what to do in the surrounding area and you have to pubs on your doorstep with minutes walk to enjoy. The Maypole serves great food. We did try to extend our stay a little at the White Horse but sadly they were booked. The White Horse is such a beautiful home in a beautiful village. What's not to like? Book now! We would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2017
Thank you for your fabulous review of our cottage - such a shame you couldn't extend your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton G
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding accommodation - Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

When planning our wedding for Thursday 13th July at Sherwood Forest, we were looking for hotels to stay in the night before and the night of our wedding - which were suitable for my limited mobility. This beautiful cottage popped up and I fell in love! We decided to stay Monday to Saturday instead as it looked so lovely. My partner (Husband should i say!) is a singer so we stay away from home often. Usually disappointed as the Accomodation always looks better on the photos. This was quite the reverse! It's stunning. I wanted to put in an offer to buy lol. The night before our wedding my bridesmaids stayed with us. They also loved it. The day of the wedding the videographer and photographer were impressed and I'm looking forward to some stunning shots. Bonus having 2 living rooms as the ladies used the largest to get ready and the men had the upstairs. No chance of crossover when they left as they went through the main living room. Perfect:) It is so well maintained, and the right side of quirky whilst being comfortable, and the books and DVDs were a bonus! We really did relax before the big day, which after months of stress was much needed. The garden was lovely and the neighbours really accommodating for the volume of cars on the day of our wedding.
We would most definitely return and have already recommended to friends. Didn't get chance to use the sauna - so will be back for that!
Booking process was easy and very well organised. Nothing negative to say - try it for yourself... you won't be disappointed. Thank you. Had an awesome time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review. Would love to see some photographs of you in the cottage garden. I am so glad all the neighbours were accommodating and everything ran smoothly for your big day.
Hope to see you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time at White Horse Cottage.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards,
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrequentF...
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend, was a very well presented house with all the facilities you would need and more. We visited Sherwood visitor centre and enjoyed the day there visiting the Major Oak, walking and playing in the park. We would of liked longer and will be returning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmacaoidh...
Stevenage
2 reviews
“lovely stay in nottinghamshire village”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

cottage has good facilities, is spacious and also an outside garden and bbq area.

good base for travelling to nearby attractions including sherwood forest, rufford abbey country park, wheelgate park, and nottingham castle.

local amenities are good with two village pubs nearby and supermarkets a short drive away in ollerton.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing