We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought elementary school social studies to lice”

Batoche National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Batoche
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I recall learning about Louis Riel when I was a kid. Was in the area visiting family and decided to spend the afternoon here. What an enjoyable visit! We chose not to use the shuttle since there was a fee of $2.40 per person. We walked all over the park - warning it is a hefty walk and we were both exhausted by the time we were back at the interpretive centre. We found several of the geocaches the park has put out - took us to some spots we wouldn't have considered otherwise. Great spot!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank brynnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national historic site"
in 9 reviews
"the river"
in 7 reviews
"parks canada"
in 6 reviews
"bullet holes"
in 6 reviews
"canadian history"
in 9 reviews
"bannock"
in 4 reviews
"louis riel"
in 3 reviews
"western canadian"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"lots of history"
in 2 reviews
"my husband and i"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"homemade soup"
in 2 reviews
"fish creek"
in 2 reviews
"metis"
in 17 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

This location was the final stand and battle for the Metis Resistance and encompasses a vast area . This is a National Historic Site and admission is free this year as part of Canada's 150th Anniversary. There is a very good interpretive center and there is also a complimentary shuttle to get one to the various locations. Would definitely recommend this site to anyone visiting or passing by this area of Saskatchewan.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Piper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

First of all this is my third time to Batoche and each time I am fascinated by this site of Canadian history. There is a video, displays of artifacts, information signs, and friendly staff. The site itself has a graveyard that takes you back in time and forces you to wonder about the fate of these people. It is a bit of a trek off of any main road and the site itself is spread out but if you have the time and are at all interested in Canadian history then it's a must see!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 65lindak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Batoche is a site many people from Saskatchewan have bever been to considering its remote location. The museum itself does have limited buildings etc. The staff were very helpful, the museum has a cafeteria with good food, and the main building is nice. The added bonus this year is that it was free entrance because of Canadas 150th birthday. This site has significant importance to the native and white populations of saskatchewan. Everyone should go at least once.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Manoau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

You know something important happened here, and you might be aware it was controversial. But don't come expecting to be educated or informed.

The site is not remotely accessible - even the road into the site has been neglected. The reconstructions are only partly done. The explanatory notes are terrible. The museum is half way to adequate.

So sad.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank bbanks945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batoche National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Batoche National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing