We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
0
3
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
5
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2015

coming in to tacloban on a very early flight prompted me to look for a hotel that has a room ready for occupancy in downtown. La Rica was the only place who had rooms to offer on a very reasonable rate. however:

elevator: smell of used oil and sounded so old
hallways: dark and so bare
room: small, moldy smelling, and and dusty. worst is i can see the inside of my room from the hallway. there are no phones to get you connected to the front desk officer.
front desk: warm and accommodating. very welcoming. they assist you with your bags and all.
room attendants: knocked on my door at 4 am to bring in an extra pillow which i never asked for. to find out much later that they were in the wrong room.

all in all, not an ideal place to stay when you are in town for business and where sleep and privacy is very important.

the hotel needs the needed renovation.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank wickedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hotel/Resort name: Hotel La Rica

Location: Tacloban

Country: Philippines

Booking year: 2013

Stars:* (1)

Price: from: 850 PHP

Staff service: OK the staff here is very friendly and helpful.

Standard rooms: OK, the hotel looks old and small it need some paint since it looks like it's many years since the last time.

[b]My Review:[/b]

This is a typical crappy hotel that is dirty, noisy and have small rooms, that is very common in Philippines. The rooms have 1 very hard bed, a small desk and a old TV that have some weird colours so everything looks strange.

The bathroom have a window out in the hallway so the people that walk outside can look in when you taking a shower or do other things there. The shower is almost falling apart, there are no towels in the bathroom so that you need to have whit you.
The toilet is almost falling apart and there is almost no space to sit on it.

They have a karaoke bar on one of the floors that are open to around 2 in the night and it's not possible to get any sleep before they close.
They have a open internet connection in the café on the ground floor that you can use as you like.

The positive whit this hotel is that it's in the middle of the city cent rum so you have everything around you in walking distance.

This is a hotel I will not recommend you to stay on, if there are other hotels that have rooms. It's ok for one night if you are on a very very strict budget but if money are no problem so stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddis36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

UGLY - DISGUSTING - and cheated by the roomrate - the perfect mixture

What people accept if they are in need - go to Tacloban and you know it

Well I was not expect anything nice, but at least clean hmmmmmmm first all hotels was fully rented out and no room available so after the several addresses you accept what you under normal circumstances never would.

Pictures tell more than 1000 words -if you can stay away from them - good luck

Room Tip: the problem up there is - in case of so many helping organisations it is nearly impossible to get a nice room, all are occupied by this organisations, some are blocked even nobody is in but they are not allowed to rent it. Well not much to say than check out in advance maybe the Alejandro Hotel is an option.... but havn´t seen the rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernd_frey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

The hallway was dark, no windows in the room, stained linens, torn towels, fuzzy tv reception and no internet connection. Its just near restaurants and other establishments. The rates are really cheap but the service is bad. You walk by the lobby and the staff are sleeping on the benches and stare at you. I told receptionist to prepare my receipt in advance because I would check out early in the morning, he said yes but did not even do it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siberianhuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Good thing is its cheap. Bad thing is that even its cheap price is not worth for that kind of hotel.the lobby was dark that my 5 yr old daughter asked me if there was brownout in the place. Worst is that when we went out to grab some breakfast
at about 8am,we were surprised to come back to our room and find it open with a bunch of people,about 5 or more doing housekeeping.i mean, its good they were cleaning the hotel rooms for free since they were only students on ojt but to break inside our room without any permission. Good thing i was able to keep all our important things in order.it was easier to see if anythng was missing. I hope the management will do somethng about it.stupid hotel.doesnt even look like a hotel once u are inside.its so much more like an old house with ghosts in it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iyat747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews