We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”
Review of Sabin Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormoc
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sabin Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I like it because :
1. It's calming, private, and quiet. Away from the noisy nightlife but it's very near the pier, malls, and church.
2. Sweet corn!! They cooked it without any charge. 4 pieces for only P50.
3. Sal Pineapples! P26 only. Get it at the guardhouse.
4. Affordable meals at Mario's. Crispy Pata is only P250, rice platter P70, lomi P130. Serves 3-4.
5. Garden and swimming pool.


Needs improvement on customer service though.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RonGaby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at Sabin Resort Hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. My family stayed in two Twin Deluxe Rooms. This resort is the biggest so far in Ormoc City and their facilities are good enough for a family trip. The ballroom is large, the swimming pool is clean and has a nice shape, and the resort has it's own beachfront. They also have a coffee shop/ bar. All in all the resort is good for a family weekend. The food that they served during the wedding reception was delicious, although service was quite slow. The rooms need a major upgrade though. The rooms looked dark and old, although the bedsheets, bed, pillows were okay. The bathroom was not so clean and had a bad smell. There is a queer smell inside the room also (maybe the draperies) , that maybe their housekeeping could check. I could recommend this hotel to my friends, although they should not expect much from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The structure is really beautiful but the rooms needs a lot of improvements... some rooms are not clean and needs to renew..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shengkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

While Sabin has a great pool and ambiance its rooms are a little worn down. The toilets arent kept well, in fact during my stay there were yellow stains (like urine) on the toilet seat and morsels of food on the table and in the in-room menu. Staff i guess dont take extra care in making sure that all things inside the room are cleaned whenever they do their housekeeping. The phone inside the room had this terrible smell, I didnt want to use it!The smell was strong that even if i was just on my bed i could smell it.Perhaps housekeeping should put some chemical to remove that smell. Lastly housekeeping didnt answer their phone whenever i called so i would always have to call front desk first before i can get things done like the leaking faucet in the bathroom.

Room Tip: the room is spacious and the beds are too so if you dont mind sharing your room with someone, feel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank princesscat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have stayed at Sabin many times over the past decade and generally like it very much. The hotel and grounds have been expanded and renovated several times since our first visit in 2001. Some older rooms, such as the ones nearest the water on the southern end of the resort, are in great need of refurbishing. The rooms have been very clean each time, but some items need maintenance, especially the bathroom fixtures. We have found the service to be very good. My wife and I had our engagement party banquet in their (now old) ballroom. The caterers and coordinators did a great job for a fair price ($550 USD) One time, our baby became ill during the night and the front desk arranged for a tricycle to take us to OSPA Hospital. In 2008, the room service still delivered to our room during a typhoon! The poor server was very wet. Needless to say, we tipped him well. The new restaurant is much nicer than the old and the nightly entertainment is pretty good. The food has always been good, especially the breakfast. The one complaint I must corroborate from other reviews is the fact that the kitchen takes forever to make your food and get it delivered to your table. In fairness, this is common in Leyte and in many parts of the country. Sabin is a peaceful place away from the obnoxious buzz of the city. One drawback is the distance from downtown, requiring a tricycle ride. We look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to the restaurant, or you might have trouble sleeping, due to nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deepsix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormoc
2.3 km away
Don Felipe Hotel
Don Felipe Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ormoc
80 reviews
47 km away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
25 reviews
49.6 km away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
21 reviews
47.1 km away
Basic Rooms Hotel
Basic Rooms Hotel
#11 of 21 in Tacloban
5 reviews
50.2 km away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabin Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabin Resort Hotel

Address: Bantigue, Ormoc, Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Ormoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Number of rooms: 248
Also Known As:
Sabin Hotel Ormoc
Sabin Resort Hotel Ormoc, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing