We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
26
50
53
33
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
50
53
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice resort lovely pool staff were attentive mini bar needs improvement the air conditioning filipino food palatable resto serenity properties storm
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at Sabin Resort Hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. My family stayed in two Twin Deluxe Rooms. This resort is the biggest so far in Ormoc City and their facilities are good enough for a family trip. The ballroom is large, the swimming pool is clean and has a nice shape, and the resort has it's own beachfront. They also have a coffee shop/ bar. All in all the resort is good for a family weekend. The food that they served during the wedding reception was delicious, although service was quite slow. The rooms need a major upgrade though. The rooms looked dark and old, although the bedsheets, bed, pillows were okay. The bathroom was not so clean and had a bad smell. There is a queer smell inside the room also (maybe the draperies) , that maybe their housekeeping could check. I could recommend this hotel to my friends, although they should not expect much from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The structure is really beautiful but the rooms needs a lot of improvements... some rooms are not clean and needs to renew..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shengkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

While Sabin has a great pool and ambiance its rooms are a little worn down. The toilets arent kept well, in fact during my stay there were yellow stains (like urine) on the toilet seat and morsels of food on the table and in the in-room menu. Staff i guess dont take extra care in making sure that all things inside the room are cleaned whenever they do their housekeeping. The phone inside the room had this terrible smell, I didnt want to use it!The smell was strong that even if i was just on my bed i could smell it.Perhaps housekeeping should put some chemical to remove that smell. Lastly housekeeping didnt answer their phone whenever i called so i would always have to call front desk first before i can get things done like the leaking faucet in the bathroom.

Room Tip: the room is spacious and the beds are too so if you dont mind sharing your room with someone, feel free to do so
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank princesscat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have stayed at Sabin many times over the past decade and generally like it very much. The hotel and grounds have been expanded and renovated several times since our first visit in 2001. Some older rooms, such as the ones nearest the water on the southern end of the resort, are in great need of refurbishing. The rooms have been very clean each time, but some items need maintenance, especially the bathroom fixtures. We have found the service to be very good. My wife and I had our engagement party banquet in their (now old) ballroom. The caterers and coordinators did a great job for a fair price ($550 USD) One time, our baby became ill during the night and the front desk arranged for a tricycle to take us to OSPA Hospital. In 2008, the room service still delivered to our room during a typhoon! The poor server was very wet. Needless to say, we tipped him well. The new restaurant is much nicer than the old and the nightly entertainment is pretty good. The food has always been good, especially the breakfast. The one complaint I must corroborate from other reviews is the fact that the kitchen takes forever to make your food and get it delivered to your table. In fairness, this is common in Leyte and in many parts of the country. Sabin is a peaceful place away from the obnoxious buzz of the city. One drawback is the distance from downtown, requiring a tricycle ride. We look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too close to the restaurant, or you might have trouble sleeping, due to nightly bands playing.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deepsix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If its not for the pool, I wouldn't stay in this terrible hotel. Your food would take forever to be serve. They treat you like you couldn't afford to pay them. They only acknowledge foreigners coz of the tip! That poolside waiter is so Rude!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Titaguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews