We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
40
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect ski lift creative facilities austria skiing
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The hotel is located right in front of a ski-lift, nice in wintertime i suppose. But not functioning during our visit in the summer. The hotel is visited by a mix of guests, including small children. Predominantly German during our visit. Friendly reception and table service who are young, attentive and led by a very professional head waitress. Due to the good weather we did not use the wellness facilities, but they were offered to us. The bed was fine (although: where have the great austrian pillows gone), the room spacious (adjoining second bedroom, so great for privacy if you are with children). The overall atmosphere was open (not fenced-in or stuffy traditional as you can sometimes encounter in Austria). Great feature are the free mountainbikes: very well maintained and fun to take you into the vicinity. We had a full-board arrangement, offering the choice between eating in for lunch or preparing an outside lunch yourself. The food was creative, but sometimes the combinations were less appealing. A matter of taste, of course. Room cleaning perfect. The hotel could benefit from a swimming pool, which is absent at the time of writing. Flachau itself is a small but popular town with a lot of activities to take part in. Some of them are free with the Flachau-card. Other, more adventure oriented like Riverbugging, or Climbing, or Segway tours are to be booked extra.
Overall we had a pleasant week.

Room Tip: Check if the room is renovated already.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toemaarjongens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

It was our first visit in Austria during summer. We stayed at the Montanara for seven days and had a great time. A typical family owned hotel, where the host family was present during dinner, always chatting with the guests and helping out everywhere. Very nice atmosphere, good service, good food, authentic and international (wiener schnitzel could be a little better though, too dry).

One detail: our nice room had a balcony with mountain view, which was great, but it was a shared balcony with the room next door, which reduced the feeling of real privacy. Therefore four stars instead of five.

Otherwise highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank JKV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for aweek and it is an amazing hotel located in the best place in the area.breakfast is great and the team is very kind and helpful
You feel very comfortable like home.highly recomanded and for sure we will come again

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ofir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Was here for Christmas / New Year and rebook a short break in March with a friend.

Once again the hotel was excellent in all areas. Friendly, helpful and warming. A real gem of a hotel that the English haven't found yet !

Dinner was excellent the chef has found the balance spot on and the Austrian wine was a real treat.

Homely Austrian hotel with a bit of class in all areas. If your looking for comfort and à la carte dinning this is the hotel for you.

See you next year.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

During my first ski vacation with my boyfriends family we stayed at the montanara hotel. What a great and beautiful hotel. If you love food and art this is the place you should be. The service was excellent. The waiters and the clean service is always there for you. Everything was on point. The hotel has a modern and a homie vibe where in you're in your room you feel comfy and at ease.
The most wonderful thing here was the food! What an awesome chef and a team. The things i ate were so awesome i dont have any words everything was just perfect.

Highly recommend this palce!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Darisa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews