We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John Bern...
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The standard of accomodation was excellent, facilities were first class and would definitely stay again. Excellent communication with owner. Location was brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyUre
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely three day break here - the cottage was very cosy, especially with the fire! Bakewell is only a short distance away and has great cafes and pubs. Wifi at this cottage was certainly an added bonus. Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your short break at the Old Bakery. Thanks again for choosing our cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharmfanN...
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I have just had a really lovely week staying at the Old Bakery. The cottage is located in Ashford in the Water which is a very pictoresque place with really good amenities. There are 2 good pubs, a tea room and a village shop. The cottage itself is decorated & furnished to a high standard and we found it to be very clean on arrival. It is very well equipped and we certainly made use of the very good kitchen facilities to self cater for the most part. Having the wifi was an added bonus as well. We alsofound all the correspondence from the owner to be extremely helpful prior to
our stay. We did a couple of really good walks from the cottage itself and we noticed that many people come to Ashford to start off their walks, so if you like walking , then this is a great place for you to stay. As a runner I also found some great routes to run in the area, so again , runners this cottage would really suit you. My children aged 10 and 7 didn't want to leave as they fell in love with the cottage and the Peak District itself! Therefore, I know we will be back in the near future! A really enjoyable holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for the compliments and your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage, the village and the local area. The walks and running routes are great and im glad you enjoyed them also. We look forward to you returning again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CED
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautifully renovated cottage. It has all the facilities you need for a great stay. The beds are comfortable with linens and towels of good quality. The bathroom is new with a good shower over a large bath. The village is very attractive with two pubs serving food. We preferred the smaller Bull's Head, which had a more limited menu, but perhaps better quality food and a quieter ambiance. Tip: If you need to charge a razor or toothbrush bring a two pin adaptor as there is not shaver point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you for the kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed our cottage, the village and the local ales! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$121
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing