We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it - but it could just do with a few...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dale Cottage

Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
C R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and well-situated, baby equipment provided as requested.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dale Cottage is in a lovely setting and the nearby trail was great. There was plenty of space , crockery etc for our large group. It seemed rather mean that there was no welcome pack and it was a nuisance to have to bring our own towels. As stated, dishwasher tablets are provided, but not sufficient for the stay. The light switches were really challenging and the lights in the lounge kept flickering on and off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: There was plenty of crockery etc for a large group.
Liked least: That there was no 'welcome pack ' on arrival and that 4 dishwasher tablets and no towels.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved it - but it could just do with a few welcoming touches”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage just off the Monsal Trail and a couple of miles outside Bakewell. It's a great area for walking and eating and drinking. The cottage itself is beautifully appointed and, although just off the road, you're never aware of any traffic. Sleeps 6 to 8 comfortably. We loved it and would certainly visit again.
It did just lack some welcoming touches though - there were only a handful of dishwasher tablets, only just enough toilet rolls, you had to provide your own towels, there was no soap in the toilets, a little coffee, tea and milk would have been good on arrival. These things cost an owner virtually nothing from the rent paid but they really make a difference to the quality of your stay. (And there was no way of controlling the heating.)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stylish conversion of an old stone cottage
Liked least: Lack of welcoming touches
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra000...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

2 families met up in Derbyshire for a short break, and stayed here. What a brilliant find. There were 9 of us in total and there was more than enough space. It is an excellent property with a fantastic lay out, ideal for large families. The kitchen is very spacious and well equipped, as was the dining room with a large table, and lots of comfy sofas in the lounge.
It was an ideal location to explore the Derbyshire Dales, and is on the doorstep to the Monsal trail, literally a walk across a field.
Lovely walk to picturesque local villages, which had pubs serving high quality food and ales. The owner rang me soon after receipt of my enquiry and was extremely helpful and friendly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate in recommending this house for long or short stays. Fantastic!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms and the character of the house
Liked least: limited garden area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSharon...
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage - good location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Great cottage - lots of room and is well stocked and set up for up to 12 people or so. Very close to so many things, really nicely located. Very quiet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaintness & location
Liked least: No wi-fi service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigeFr...
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charme, confort, espace
Liked least: accès internet
Travelling group: En grand groupe / Visite guidée
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
We have translated this review and attempted to translate the reply for the benefit of other guests:-

We were a group of 14 people, and we rented in addition to Dale Cottage, The Old Diary and the Byre Cottage that are next door ( there's even another if needed). Everyone was able to sleep in comfortable beds. We could all eat together in the living room of the Old Diary or Dale Cottage. The rooms are spacious and pretty. Everything was perfect except the wifi is only available in The Old Diary (well it is really a small detail !). We could even make a roaring fire on a night when it was not very hot!

We often welcome guests from overseas and are pleased to have a review from a large group using several cottages. We are delighted that the whole group found the beds comfortable and the amenities and cleanliness to their satisfaction. We are glad you made use of the wifi in the Old Dairy and were able to eat together as a large group in a choice of two cottages during your stay.

It is nice of you to comment that the rooms are all spacious and pretty and that the log burners were used, even in warmer weather they create a cosy ambiance. We look forward to welcoming your group to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages again next season.

Nous accueillons souvent des clients de l'étranger et nous sommes heureux d'avoir un avis d'un grand groupe en utilisant plusieurs chalets . Nous sommes ravis que l'ensemble du groupe a trouvé les lits confortables et les équipements et la propreté de leur satisfaction. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir fait usage de la wifi dans l'ancienne laiterie et étiez capable de manger ensemble comme un grand groupe dans un choix de deux chambres d'hôtes pendant votre séjour .

Il est agréable de vous faire remarquer que les chambres sont toutes spacieuses et jolie et que les poêles à bois ont été utilisés , même par temps chaud , ils créent une ambiance chaleureuse . Nous sommes impatients d'accueillir votre groupe à Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages à nouveau la saison prochaine .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing