We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem-really super food and delightful staff”

Samuel Fox Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bradwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$65
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Samuel Fox Country Inn is conveniently located at the heart of the glorious Peak District National Park. It has four beautifully appointed letting rooms and since October 2012 has been in the hands of chef patron James Duckett. Having worked under some of our finest Michelin starred chefs and in top restaurant across Europe and Australia you may be sure of fine food. James's dishes are an uncomplicated interpretation of classical European and British cuisine. All his dishes are prepared on the premises using, wherever possible, fresh local produce. Whether staying on business, enjoying a weekend or midweek break in the glorious Hope Valley, seeking somewhere special to dine or just wishing to enjoy a well kept pint at the bar, you'll find a very warm welcome awaits you. The Inn is recommended in the Michelin, AA (2 rosettes), Good Food (cooking score 4), Hardens Best UK Restaurants (food score 5), and Good Pub Guides (food & wine awards). This is fine dining in a pub setting.
Reviewed 31 May 2021

two super meals pre covid19 and a third coming up soon. And exciting choices on the menu. It needs to market itself better as from the road it is not likely to catch one's eye

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

We will definitely return to Samuel Fox.

This hotel is great and the food in the restaurant is amazing, staff are friendly and very knowledgable about the food and wine on offer. We stayed in several hotels in the Peak District over 10 days and the staff and food really stood out to us as exceptional.

The breakfast is awesome, definitely one of the best we have had.

The room was clean and comfortable.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Godzilla26501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020 via mobile

Superb food, friendly staff and lovely location. Been here a few times and always wonderful. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank marypV4459ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

Very good delicious food and nice atmosphere. I would certainly recommend it and return. The cauliflower soup and Moroccan chicken were very good

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank og267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Had booked online as seen good reviews and was in the Peaks for a short hiking break. A lovely (though twisty) drive through the countryside from our hotel, was a nice introduction to our evening. Be aware there isn't a great deal of notice for the car park (behind pub) when coming from Bradwell.
Had a one way system in place to move around the dining room which seemed sensible and practical. The tables were well spaced and most guests wore face coverings when moving around away from the tables (as politely requested). Cutlery was brought in plastic wrappings and all staff appeared to follow good hygine pratices (in terms of washing hands and face coverings, etc.) So all in all we felt comfortable even under the current circumstances (COVID-19).
On to the food; they had a 3 course set menu (although they did say they could do 2 if preferred) which was reasonably priced (for the quality of food and service). I think 3 or 4 options for each course and a good range of choices in terms of dietary requirements. Great information provided on allergies for each dish. Between us we had cauliflower soup\goats cheese with butternut squash to start, beef bourguignon\gilt-head bream with curry for mains and chocolate tart\almond and fig clafoutis for dessert. It was all really tasty, well prepared and presented. We felt each dish was clearly put together by someone\some people who really know about getting different flavours to work together and to be balanced. Portions aren't large but we still came away feeling suitably satisfied (I have a healthy appetite), I'm guessing in part down to the great flavours. Can't say much about the wine list as we only had a glass of dessert wine (one of us had to drive :( ) but I was told that was really delicious.
Service was punctual without rushing you, polite and friendly.
Had a really nice evening and would go back again without question.
Thought the team there have a good set-up and we wish them well in these challenging times, it would be a real shame to lose it!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meche0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samuel Fox Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Samuel Fox Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.