We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I see that The Yorke Arms has now been sold and that some refurbishment is on the cards. Thank goodness. This overnight stay with dinner was a gift. We were disappointed and felt that the hotel looked in need of care, The radiator in our bathroom did not work so cold towels, the room was rather bland; not what I expected considering the rather expensive stay. We have eaten in Michellin restaurants; however, we are not gourmands and found this meal to be an assault of so many flavours that you could not distinguish what you were tasting. The char-grilled onion was burnt, perhaps a case of style over substance. The staff were pleasant and breakfast was acceptable. It is a lovely location and Nidderdale is spectacular. As another reviewer has commented, good but not good enough to want to repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sozzy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

I had wanted to visit the Yorke Arms for so long. I am originally from Yorkshire but live in Surrey so took the opportunity of a dinner/overnight stay package for £355. Overall I would say the experience was good but I expected better. We stayed in a room in the main building; again it was fine but not making the most of the historic building. The room was bland and I could feet the mattress springs as I turned over. There was only two 'Yorkshire' tea bags although there were other flavours. Fresh milk was available and some home-made tray bakes.

There was also an annoying humming noise that kept going off and on.

The lounge and restaurant was suitably atmospheric and felt special. Despite myself & husband having eaten happily in a wide range of restaurants we found this meal to have too many aspects that were acquired tastes. Two of the savoury courses, including the main course were game birds. The main course (grouse) was incredibly strong with very little to cut through it. We felt the main course, for balance, should have been meat.

The service was excellent as was breakfast.

The location is spectacular and would be amazing for visitors.

I would categorise the experience as good (not available here) but probably not good enough for a repeat visit - sadly.

Room Tip: We were in main building. The room was large but nothing special. There was an annoying humming nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodwineandshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed here for a celebratory night away, the evening meal was outstanding with good and attentive service. Our room was large, comfortable and well equiped and we loved the quiet location with no traffic or street noise at night.
The hotel is a fair drive from Pateley Bridge along a twisting road so we were pleased we didn't have to drive after our meal.
There is a good choice at breakfast, even though we aren't great breakfast eaters it was too good to not indulge. Just one small issue, we had porridge but it was the most unusual we have ever had, tasted more like wheat flakes than oats?
We would definitely return and stay a few days and walk the surrounding hills and countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front garden have a nice outlook over the village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile


The staff were all friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in through the door. The service throughout the evening was amazing.
The food is exceptionally, every course a delight; imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel is situated, in a lovely part of Yorkshire, green, peaceful, remote. Our room was spacious and quiet. So far so good. The restaurant however was disappointing. We were rushed through dinner, we had barely finished a course when the next one was placed in front of us. As they took away the starters we asked for the process to be slowed down but the answer was that it would not be possible as the main course would already be waiting. It was overcooked, it seemed to have been waiting under a hot lamp for quite some time. The grouse was a plain disappointment, the beef was overdone. The cheese platter was average, no inspirational surprises, not even one of the exceptional Yorkshire Blues which you find in the area. All in all, the dinner experience was not up to the standard of a Michelin Star restaurant, furthermore it was heavily overpriced. There are definitely many better options between London and York to have a special dinner experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berlon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
12.8 km away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
18.4 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
19.5 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
35.1 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
23.2 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing