We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Talbot House(Pateley Bridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willow(Pateley Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harefield Hall(Pateley Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Pateley Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grassfield Hall(Pateley Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyndale Guest House(Pateley Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
303
102
34
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
102
34
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menumichelin staramuse bouchemain coursefrances atkinspetit foursper headbrowniefood and winesuperior roomdining experiencewine flighthalibutcrispsresidents loungelived up to our expectationscourse dinner
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed here for a celebratory night away, the evening meal was outstanding with good and attentive service. Our room was large, comfortable and well equiped and we loved the quiet location with no traffic or street noise at night.
The hotel is a fair drive from Pateley Bridge along a twisting road so we were pleased we didn't have to drive after our meal.
There is a good choice at breakfast, even though we aren't great breakfast eaters it was too good to not indulge. Just one small issue, we had porridge but it was the most unusual we have ever had, tasted more like wheat flakes than oats?
We would definitely return and stay a few days and walk the surrounding hills and countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front garden have a nice outlook over the village green.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile


The staff were all friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in through the door. The service throughout the evening was amazing.
The food is exceptionally, every course a delight; imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel is situated, in a lovely part of Yorkshire, green, peaceful, remote. Our room was spacious and quiet. So far so good. The restaurant however was disappointing. We were rushed through dinner, we had barely finished a course when the next one was placed in front of us. As they took away the starters we asked for the process to be slowed down but the answer was that it would not be possible as the main course would already be waiting. It was overcooked, it seemed to have been waiting under a hot lamp for quite some time. The grouse was a plain disappointment, the beef was overdone. The cheese platter was average, no inspirational surprises, not even one of the exceptional Yorkshire Blues which you find in the area. All in all, the dinner experience was not up to the standard of a Michelin Star restaurant, furthermore it was heavily overpriced. There are definitely many better options between London and York to have a special dinner experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berlon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

The start of the experience of visiting The Yorke Arms is the journey there. You leave the busy A roads as you travel up towards Pateley Bridge and then continue on past Gouthwaite Reservoir and meander along the winding small road until you arrive at this wonderful 18th century coaching Inn.
Tucked away in remote Ramsgill the ivy glad building almost gives you a warm hug as you park up on the gravel drive.
Once inside this very quaint and comfortable building its original features start to hit you.
From the magnificent shiny bitumen coated stone flagged floors to the crackle of the open fires within the guest lounge make you feel instantly at home.
Contemporary paintings are mixed with cosy seating and a pint of hand pulled bitter is an excellent way to start to enjoy this wonderful experience.
We stayed in a superior room in the more modern courtyard at the rear of the building, this consisted of a two tier design which had a comfortable lounge and tv area below the bedroom and bathroom.
We relaxed in our room before getting ready for our evening meal.
We crossed back into the main house, as we entered you pass a room with a window and for the first time we get a glimpse of the Chef-Patron Frances Atkins.
This really was a nice surprise and it was also very reassuring to know the person with the name above the door was actually going to be behind the stove.
We sat back in the guest lounge and enjoyed a drink whilst selecting the wine and also opting for the tasting menu.
We were then transferred to a small room to the side of the main restaurant, this was intimate and very tastily decorated, the log fire also made it a very pleasant temperature.
Onto the food and drink, 8 courses each with a different elements, as with all tasting menus it is unlikely every course will be for you, but the partridge and the long horn beef courses both stood out, these were followed by some lovely desserts and then a very welcoming cheese course to finish, which brought some contrast to the rich courses that proceeded it.
To accompany the food we selected a very nice bottle of Pouilly Fume and an exceptional bottle of Chateau Lascombes, both complemented the food very well.
We then retired back to the lounge and enjoyed a coffee and tea along with a few wee drams of whisky.
An excellent way to end a wonderfully relaxed evening.
The breakfast the following morning was served in the main restaurant, we opted for full breakfast which was plentiful and delicious.
In summary, the trip to The Yorke Arms was a very enjoyable one, at the heart of it was the sense of relaxation, we just wish we could have stayed longer.
Was everything perfect? Well not quite, the bathroom was probably not as swish as some we have previously stayed in and the mark up on the top end wines was eye watering, that being said they did provide a wide range of choice to suit every pocket.
It was nice to see the host on several occasions and all the staff were very polite and tried to provide the balance between friendly and formal.
With the business up for sale it will be interesting to see if it will remain as we found it, the loss of the star and the personal touches of the owner may take some replacing but we would definitely give it a chance, it shows Yorkshire at its best.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happytraveller186409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Yorke Arms for the 1st time in 2013. It was exceptional in every way. We have returned quite a number of times, always something to anticipate and look forward to - a real treat. This overnight stay was no exception. From the friendly and helpful initial booking, the drive up to Ramsgill with the beautiful reservoir alongside the road, the welcome on arrival, and tea and biscuits (a small regret is that they don't do the afternoon tea as fully as they used to, although you still get a selection of biscuits and a piece of fruitcake and cheese). The courtyard rooms are beautiful and spacious, the grounds lovely. Our meals were as excellent as always, bursting with so many flavours and textures. The Yorke Arms never disappoints. Looking forward to our next visit! Very much recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews