We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better than 'good'”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I had wanted to visit the Yorke Arms for so long. I am originally from Yorkshire but live in Surrey so took the opportunity of a dinner/overnight stay package for £355. Overall I would say the experience was good but I expected better. We stayed in a room in the main building; again it was fine but not making the most of the historic building. The room was bland and I could feet the mattress springs as I turned over. There was only two 'Yorkshire' tea bags although there were other flavours. Fresh milk was available and some home-made tray bakes.

There was also an annoying humming noise that kept going off and on.

The lounge and restaurant was suitably atmospheric and felt special. Despite myself & husband having eaten happily in a wide range of restaurants we found this meal to have too many aspects that were acquired tastes. Two of the savoury courses, including the main course were game birds. The main course (grouse) was incredibly strong with very little to cut through it. We felt the main course, for balance, should have been meat.

The service was excellent as was breakfast.

The location is spectacular and would be amazing for visitors.

I would categorise the experience as good (not available here) but probably not good enough for a repeat visit - sadly.

Room Tip: We were in main building. The room was large but nothing special. There was an annoying humming nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodwineandshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed here for a celebratory night away, the evening meal was outstanding with good and attentive service. Our room was large, comfortable and well equiped and we loved the quiet location with no traffic or street noise at night.
The hotel is a fair drive from Pateley Bridge along a twisting road so we were pleased we didn't have to drive after our meal.
There is a good choice at breakfast, even though we aren't great breakfast eaters it was too good to not indulge. Just one small issue, we had porridge but it was the most unusual we have ever had, tasted more like wheat flakes than oats?
We would definitely return and stay a few days and walk the surrounding hills and countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front garden have a nice outlook over the village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile


The staff were all friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in through the door. The service throughout the evening was amazing.
The food is exceptionally, every course a delight; imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel is situated, in a lovely part of Yorkshire, green, peaceful, remote. Our room was spacious and quiet. So far so good. The restaurant however was disappointing. We were rushed through dinner, we had barely finished a course when the next one was placed in front of us. As they took away the starters we asked for the process to be slowed down but the answer was that it would not be possible as the main course would already be waiting. It was overcooked, it seemed to have been waiting under a hot lamp for quite some time. The grouse was a plain disappointment, the beef was overdone. The cheese platter was average, no inspirational surprises, not even one of the exceptional Yorkshire Blues which you find in the area. All in all, the dinner experience was not up to the standard of a Michelin Star restaurant, furthermore it was heavily overpriced. There are definitely many better options between London and York to have a special dinner experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berlon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

The start of the experience of visiting The Yorke Arms is the journey there. You leave the busy A roads as you travel up towards Pateley Bridge and then continue on past Gouthwaite Reservoir and meander along the winding small road until you arrive at this wonderful 18th century coaching Inn.
Tucked away in remote Ramsgill the ivy glad building almost gives you a warm hug as you park up on the gravel drive.
Once inside this very quaint and comfortable building its original features start to hit you.
From the magnificent shiny bitumen coated stone flagged floors to the crackle of the open fires within the guest lounge make you feel instantly at home.
Contemporary paintings are mixed with cosy seating and a pint of hand pulled bitter is an excellent way to start to enjoy this wonderful experience.
We stayed in a superior room in the more modern courtyard at the rear of the building, this consisted of a two tier design which had a comfortable lounge and tv area below the bedroom and bathroom.
We relaxed in our room before getting ready for our evening meal.
We crossed back into the main house, as we entered you pass a room with a window and for the first time we get a glimpse of the Chef-Patron Frances Atkins.
This really was a nice surprise and it was also very reassuring to know the person with the name above the door was actually going to be behind the stove.
We sat back in the guest lounge and enjoyed a drink whilst selecting the wine and also opting for the tasting menu.
We were then transferred to a small room to the side of the main restaurant, this was intimate and very tastily decorated, the log fire also made it a very pleasant temperature.
Onto the food and drink, 8 courses each with a different elements, as with all tasting menus it is unlikely every course will be for you, but the partridge and the long horn beef courses both stood out, these were followed by some lovely desserts and then a very welcoming cheese course to finish, which brought some contrast to the rich courses that proceeded it.
To accompany the food we selected a very nice bottle of Pouilly Fume and an exceptional bottle of Chateau Lascombes, both complemented the food very well.
We then retired back to the lounge and enjoyed a coffee and tea along with a few wee drams of whisky.
An excellent way to end a wonderfully relaxed evening.
The breakfast the following morning was served in the main restaurant, we opted for full breakfast which was plentiful and delicious.
In summary, the trip to The Yorke Arms was a very enjoyable one, at the heart of it was the sense of relaxation, we just wish we could have stayed longer.
Was everything perfect? Well not quite, the bathroom was probably not as swish as some we have previously stayed in and the mark up on the top end wines was eye watering, that being said they did provide a wide range of choice to suit every pocket.
It was nice to see the host on several occasions and all the staff were very polite and tried to provide the balance between friendly and formal.
With the business up for sale it will be interesting to see if it will remain as we found it, the loss of the star and the personal touches of the owner may take some replacing but we would definitely give it a chance, it shows Yorkshire at its best.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happytraveller186409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
18.4 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
13.3 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
19.5 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
13.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
840 reviews
29.5 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing