We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Horner tea gardens”
Review of Horner Tea Gardens

Horner Tea Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Horner
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 April 2012

It's a beautiful spot just a mile away from Porlock village with the Exmoor hills around, birds singing and a babbling brook close by. It's just SO peaceful. It's my idea of idyllic.

I've been coming here over many years and it doesn't change much - it is a quintessentially English tea garden with tables out in the sun or in the shade in a covered area. You can just while away your time looking at the wild birds which inhabit the beautiful garden - and soak up the peace. Plants are sometimes for sale so you can take your own bit of Exmoor home with you.

The food varies in quality from time to time from average to good and the counter service is always friendly and pleasant. There is a large car park close by.

A visit to this area would not be complete without a walk in the surrounding area and lunch at Horner.

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MelanieTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Dated, an average tea and not particularly pretty garden or village. Now if you want one of the best cream teas in the area - or West Somerset / North Devon, go the National Trust village of Selworthy where the scones are impressive and the loganberry jam a real treat. Sorry Horner.

Date of visit: August 2011
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When combined with a walk along the stream and through the woods of Exmoor the Horner Tea Gardens are a perfect place to sit and relax and enjoy a cream tea or cakes served in the garden. Robins are often nearby and keen to perch on the back of your chair in case an odd crumb comes their way.
The cream tea was delicious and all served on 'old fashioned' china. This tea garden is well away from the busy main Minehead to Porlock road and definitely worth the detour.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crispin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Having visited Horner Tea Gardens on many occasions while my partner was out horse riding from the stables next door, I can well advise calling in here for a hot drink and some lovely home made cakes and food. Reasonably priced and generous portions. You are not rushed at all to drink up and move on. It is counter service only and staff are very friendly.

I highly recommend Horner Tea Gardens

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank H-n-K262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

After a cold and blustery day walking up Dunkery Beacon, the promise of afternoon tea in Horner, near the completion of our walk, was very appealing.When our group of 15 arrived at an almost empty Tea Garden, we thought out trade would be welcome. However, as people placed and collected their various orders, they all commented on the rude and unfriendly service.One single lady was greeted with,'And I suppose you just want tea for one! 'Eventually we all had our various cakes and cream teas which were all very pleasant and were enjoying the rest when suddenly the proprietor appeared and started screaming at a young lady in our group, who had had the temerity to take a gulp of water from her flask, that consumption of her own food or drink was not allowed. We were all a bit shell-shocked by this outburst, seeing as we had spent about £50 there.
Eventually, someone went to complain about his behaviour, explaining that the young lady in question was lactose intolerant and therefore preferred to avoid 'unknown' food.This was met with more abuse and we were told if we didn't like it we should leave.
The company which organises our walking holiday has decided to take this venue off it's recommended ports of call, which means the Tea Gardens will have a substantial drop in its weekly takings through the season. But as they clearly don't actually want customers, they may be delighted by this turn of events.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank MikeB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horner Tea Gardens also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park

Been to Horner Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.