We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, amazing place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 1 night, initially we were only going to visit for the day but instantly fell in love with the beach so booked a garden villa. The room was lovely and clean, the air conditioner worked really well. We would definitely go again. We found the food in the restaurant well priced and very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezntez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for one night on a powered site a rented campervan. The road and parking place of the campervan is not in concrete which means that as long the weather is ok there is no problem. At rainy weather it must be a dirty area. The location is perfect next to the sea. We didn't saw the dolphins because of the weather on sea. Later we heard that it was the third day in a row that dolphins didn't show up. Pay attention that camper parks are mostly closed at 18.00u. So be on time or ask on beforehand if they have a check in possibility after hours

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVE-Melle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed here with friends in Feb, when it wasn't so busy. I stayed in a 7 bed dorm and the price was really great (i think you get a better rate if you stay at least 3 nights). Rooms were nice, no AC, but stayed cool enough and came with all linen and even a blanket. Every single member of staff was really nice, friendly,and helpful and seemed very happy to be there. They gave me my deposit back early and even let me switch rooms with no problem at all! I have never seen so many wild animals in such a small proximity, from emus running around the resort to dolphins, rays, turtles, dugongs and pelicans right on the shore every day. It did not feel over touristy or spoiled at all. It is very isolated so bring lots of food and drinks (you can drink your own alcohol everywhere except the bar). There is a big freezer and a couple fridges.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewMex114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The first impression of our garden villa was the ant colony in our bed. The second that the bed linen was very wrinkly as if the beds hadn't been made at all?! I would have expected a lot more from a "resort". We've seen better for half the price. The dolphins were great though but apparently we were lucky to see them as they don't come in every day anymore.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenResorts, Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort Management at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your review. Being in a remote location, surrounded by bush we do encounter natural ‘visitors’ from time to time. We have a regular pest control program in place and when reported to management, everything will be done to ensure that any unwanted visitors are removed.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the wrinkly bed linen, we are looking into this with our housekeeping department on ways to improving this during the laundering process.

With regards to the Dolphin visitation, aside from a few days over the Christmas period where the Dolphins did not come into shore, the Dolphins have returned to their regular visitation patterns. Their absence for a couple of mornings highlights the fact that the dolphins at Monkey Mia are wild and in their natural habitat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here in our Caravan in January. We were booked in for 3 nights but ended up extending for another night. The caravan Park has an ideal location for those wanting a beach break and wanting to see the dolphins. There is not much to do at the resort itself but we enjoyed spending time on the beach and at the pool. The pool area is lovely and the pool is very shaded (making it quite cold to swim in even in January!) The toilets and showers are very old, they were clean but definately need replacing!! We enjoyed a meal at the Monkey Bar, prices very reasonable as the prices at the restaurant were out of our price range. There was a very friendly group of emus walking around the park, these provided great entertainment for the kids and it was lovely to see them close up. The dolphin feeding each morning was lovely and there is a great information display setup at the resort along with movies that are shown on the area regularly throughout the day. The Wildlife Cruise is definately worth doing we saw dugongs, sea snakes, dolphins and turtles and enjoyed the sunset cruise later that night which was free when you booked the Wildlife Cruise. Definatley one of our favourite places along the west coast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkey Mia
23.7 km away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
23.6 km away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#1 of 10 in Denham
281 reviews
23.7 km away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Shark Bay Hotel
Shark Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Denham
82 reviews
23.7 km away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#4 of 4 in Denham
46 reviews
23.7 km away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Address: 1 Monkey Mia Rd | Shark Bay, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Monkey Mia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Price Range: €72 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Mia Dolphin Hotel Monkey Mia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing