We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discover Slovakia with Dr. Branislav
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Review Highlights
Genealogy Research in Posa, Slovakia

In doing family genealogy research of my maternal great grandparents, I knew they came from Posa... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2023
Hugh Q
With gratitude to Dr. Branislav whose curiosity & tenacity helped us reconnect with family

Dr. Branislav was an amazing guide for our trip to Slovakia and onto Vienna. He used our genealogy... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2023
Valarie G
,
Rowayton CT
Read all 25 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2019

Branislav truly made our trip to Presov and Ladomirova special. He did research before to track down information and set us up to cover all the spots we wanted to hit in just two days. He is thoughtful, well informed and genuinely fun to be around. He even trekked through the forrest with us for miles in search of an old Jewish cemetery! Furthermore, he left us with a ton of great recommendations for where to eat and drink as well as great places to stop on way to Poland.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Branislav did an amazing job researching my grandfather’s roots and mapping out his history to show us when we visited earlier this month! He was a pleasure to be with for two days and not only gave us the history of Presov but also gave us a taste of what life is like there today. He had great food recommendations and we truly enjoyed our time wit him!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank RobsGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

While on a ten day tour of Slovakia, an excursion was set up for July 10th with Dr. Branislav to take my boyfriend and I to meet a cousin, whom I didn't know existed until the trip. With Dr. Branislav's expertise at navigating and with his excellent communication skills, he was able to transport us and translate for us everything that was said. His patience and guidance enabled us to not only visit with family but also to search the cemetery for deceased family members and to find the house where my grandmother was born. Dr. Branislav was so patient and helpful and made us feel like he was as excited as we were to find out about our family. We would highly recommend Branio to anyone who is interested in finding their ancestors.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank kathyhornung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2019

I had the most amazing ancestral tour thanks to the competence, kindness, and dedication of my tour guide, Dr. Branislav. He served as an interpreter when I met some relatives, and he helped with finding the gravesites, checking out the civil registry office, and getting directions to my relatives. He also paved the way by introducing me to my relative. Had he not been my guide, I would have missed out on this amazing opportunity. Also, Dr. Branislav saved the day for me when I inadvertently left my telephone in the WC of a restaurant in the southern part of Trebisov County. He went out of his way to come up with a solution that not only worked, but enabled us to continue our trip without missing a beat. This brilliant man contacted the mayor, had my phone retrieved, and then the mayor sent it along with a worked who was driving into Presov the next morning. I had my phone back ready to use by 8:30 the next morning. That was an amazing feat and Drl Branislav is a superhero in my eyes. Dr. Branislav also helped us find our ancestral villages, helped us look for the graves of our ancestors, and also kept us fed and supplied with amazing snacks as we journeyed along on with a long list of villages. His amazing personality and dedication to detail and accomplishing our goals transformed my trip from a great one to an amazing once-in-a-lifetime adventure that will never be forgotten. What was a personalized tour for me became his personal tour and he worked to the best of his ability to ensure success and happiness at the end of our visit. Dr. Branislav is now more than a tour guide to me - he is like family now. I highly recommend him and his services.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank RebeccaK20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
doctorbranislav, Owner at Discover Slovakia with Dr. Branislav, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Dear Rebecca, I had a great time with you and Bob too! Thank you for your time you spent in Slovakia and I am looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019

My husband and I traveled to Presov, Slovakia to find the villages where all 4 of his grandparents were born. I was able to find the birth records and the four villages before the trip, but was worried we'd only be driving through the villages because we don't speak Slovak and would be unable to communicate. I found Dr. Branilsav on Trip Advisor, read the raving reviews, and decided to take a chance. What a GREAT decision that was!! I sent the birth records I found along with a pedigree for him, and he not only helped us communicate, but found a cousin of my husband, who was also the mayor in the first small village of 68 people! He even had the same last name as my husband's mother! We would have NEVER been able to do that without Dr. Branislav! He set up another appointment with a historian in the next town, whose mother was also related to my husband's family.

Dr. Branislav's experience and knowledge of Slovakia are wonderful, and he described landmarks and places to see on our travels. He even brought us popular Slovakian snacks for the trip! He also knew the history of the villages we visited and helped us walk through the church cemeteries (even in the rain!) to find possible family members! He has a PhD in Hotel Management and Tourism and is the Tourism Director for the city of Presov. Very impressive young man!!!!

If you are looking for a translator and tourism professional who knows the areas of interest and historical information in Slovakia, you should hire him for your next trip!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank cls_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
doctorbranislav, Owner at Discover Slovakia with Dr. Branislav, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Thank you Cathy and Mark for your visit and I hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews