We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Huge traditional cottage in perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Main house looking from lakeside lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house looking from lakeside lawn
Lovely tall trees Kitchen looking to living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Main house looking from lakeside lawn
Lovely tall trees
Kitchen looking to living room
Front deck
Friendly visitors on the beach
Living room looking to kitchen
Living room
Front lawn looking at small beach
Master ensuite
Kids on the swings
'Typical' sunset view from Boathouse
'Kids Family Room' looking over 12 seat dining table in sun porch
Looking west down the lake from the Boathouse
From end of Boathouse deck along 300 feet of waterfront
Fenelon Falls and Lock 34 of Trent Severn Lock System - 10 minute walk.
Boat house upper floor - great lake vistas
Master Bedroom
One of four identical guest bedrooms
Family room looking out to sun porch
Kid zone - family room
Stairs from family room to 4 guest bedrooms
Byrnell Golf Course - 2 minute drive
Bonfire for S'mores and Dogs
View from beach to boathouse and slide
Evening fishing
And they caught a fish...
Getting ready for evening meal in the sun room (seats 12)
Standard sunset view from boathouse upper deck
Upper boathouse deck view on calm evening
View from side of back deck to shore
Guests visiting Lock 34 at Fenelon Falls
Guests out for an evening walk on Grove Rd.
Sunset
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fenelon Falls, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet G
toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“large private waterfront property”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
4
people found this review helpful

This property is as pictured in the listing. It is 5 minutes from the town of Fenelon Falls and a popular tourist spot in the summer. We were told when we called the cottage wouldn't be ready for 3pm check-in and the cleaner would call us. We got a call around 3.30pm and were told where to find the key. The first impression was great clean bathrooms and bedding, lots of towels and a upgraded kitchen. Many cooking utensils and dishes are included and it is a well stocked kitchen for large family gatherings. The water access and boat house are wonderful also with many water toys and a row boat.
Unfortunately the cottage is for sale and needs some maintenance to make sure all the critters do not get into the cottage. We arrived Saturday July 21st and on Sunday the 22nd a chipmunk was running all over the cottage inside. We called the cleaner (our contact for the owner, who doesn't live in Canada) and she said we should try and catch it in a pail with some food. She also said this had never happened before. That is highly unlikely because the chipmunk was back on Tuesday the 24th. We managed to close off parts of the cottage and open a door and shoo it out both times. A chipmunk we could deal with along with ants, spiders and a possum that lived in the tree on the deck. After all you are in the country. The final straw was on Wednesday the 25th after we were in bed a bat was flying around the cottage. We are a family of 4 woman and 4 young girls. The bat flew into my granddaughters bedroom and was zooming over their heads. Once again we closed off the doors everywhere and opened a door and it finally made its way out .It was terrifying too say the least especially if the bat was rabid. We couldn't sleep after that and left the next day because we didn't want to stay another night. The owner did not respond once to any of our concerns. The tv did not work once the whole time we were there. This wouldn't have been an issue but it rained 4 of the 5 days we were there. We called the cable company ourselves and were told there is no signal coming from the cottage at all. Also they advise you do not drink the water. There were many trips into town to buy jugs of water.We also only stayed 5 nights because of the bat but paid for 6 and didn't receive any compensation. If anything in this review doesn't bother you then by all means rent this property.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge traditional cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This big cottage was perfect for a family gathering - 5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, comfortable beds, a kitchen full of everything you might need to cook and serve, several living spaces and a large table in the front room for meals and games. The boathouse has a large upstairs room with bed (no bathroom) and space perfect for the younger generation to hang out. The dock was large and lake water warm for swimming. He town with supermarket, beer store, liquor store, etc was just a 5 min drive. The cottage is old and needs some maintenance as some windows don’t open, no curtains on bedroom windows, fireplace damper only opens part way, we had to fill the propane tank to use the BBQ, the fire pit had broken edge, outdoor chairs dirty and mismatched, the outside of the cottage was covered in cobwebs and the lovely decks had to be swept before use. Don’t let these things deter you - just go expecting things won’t be perfect. Peaceful setting with beautiful lake views and stunning sunsets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family property describes this perfectly!”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The location is perfect....just a short trip to town, but still feels like a cottage.
Lots of space outside and in to hang out, eat, play board games, and watch the lake.
Good mix of sunny and shady areas. Loved that the kitchen had all the equipment we would need for a large group. Also, the fact that plenty of linens are included was a real bonus. We enjoyed using the games and water toys. Check-in was a breeze.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thanks for the wonderful review. Very happy you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DadShade
Puslinch, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for our family vacation”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A family vacation of a lifetime! Our kids, grand babies, brother, nephews and niece all found this cottage warm and comforting with space for everyone. Nana and Papa took the boat house to keep our sanity. Rented and docked a pontoon boat at the dock for the week. We could not have found a better location. Great Vacation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thanks. Really happy it worked out for the whole family. Hope you will consider us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lissbrink...
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a wonderful time with our kids, best friends and their kiddos! Even mom and dad came up to stay in the boat house..which they loved! Everything was perfect and would recommend the cottage to anyone. There is something there for everyone, especially for the kids. We had a couple rainy days, and with such a spacious cottage the kids were not bored:) The property is also perfect for the kids! Thank-you for a wonderful week, and we will be back next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Really glad you have a good time. We'll be doing some further upgrades over the winter so next year will be even better. Hope to see you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing