We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A museum on the past and present of hunting in Finland

This relatively small, specialised museum is right next door to the better-known glass-museum - but... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2015
lmsk2014
,
Helsinki, Finland
The Art of Hunting

The Hunting Museum of Finland has very good collection of hunting tools. If you are interested in... read more

Reviewed 4 December 2013
PerttiHar
,
Riihimaki, Finland
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
5
12
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
12
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

There was all kind of different interest`s for ladies too, how ever I`m not interested about hunting or guns aso

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Heli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This relatively small, specialised museum is right next door to the better-known glass-museum - but certainly worth a visit.

The museum displays the history of hunting in Finland from the dawn of times to modern day. Plenty to see and experience, also children will find the museum interesting.

--

Pieni mutta erittäin hyvin toteutettu erikoismuseo aivan Suomen lasimuseon naapurissa. Museo esittelee suomalaisen metsästyksen historiaa nykypäiviin asti. Paljon nähtävää ja koettavaa myös lapsille.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank lmsk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My young kids absolutely loved this museum! The interactions was great, and the staff was very helpful and informative. The kids loved the Reindeer/Moose type statues. :)

2  Thank Ukko_Halvorsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hunting Museum of Finland has very good collection of hunting tools. If you are interested in the history and procedures of hunting in Finland, this might be the museum for you. The collections could be renewed every now and then. The best activities are variouse events which are arranged at museum. For instance "Bird nest building day" is very popular every year. Lot of young people are participating these events.

Date of experience: December 2013
3  Thank PerttiHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suomen M, Public Relations Manager at Hunting Museum of Finland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

We have started to renew our permanent exhibtions in 2011. The process will last until end of 2015. The first section of new permanent exhibition was opened February 2013. The next phase - the trophy collection - shall be opened in new hall in 23rd of January 2014. Welcome!

P.S. The next bird nest day will be in spring 2015. We are giving a one year brake to all volunteers helping us in organizing the event. Our traditional Winter Fun Day will be in February 2014 as usual!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

For some people this museum might be of interest and there were a few exhibits that were OK but the biggest negative for me was the room of hunting trophies, from Africa and elsewhere around the world. I don't see the point in celebrating needless slaughter of animals.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank kpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suomen M, Public Relations Manager at Hunting Museum of Finland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your feed back!

The trophy collection is rising the most contradictory reactions among our visitors. Our mission is to collect, to study, to preserve, and to display Finnish hunting culture, past and present. Lately, trophy hunting and traveling abroad for hunting have become a part of that culture. The collection is a great place to introduce local school classes and guided visitor groups to non-native animals and also principles of nature conservation (including hunting among other means) but also of the ethics of trophy hunting and hunting in general. We have to admit that for non-guided independent visitors the trophy collections won't open all these aspects in present shape. We are working on that and hope to apply more diverse approach when the collection shall be opened in new hall in January 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews