We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$147
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$149
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
26
6
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
6
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We booked the lodge on the basis of the reviews and their web page. The place itself is wonderful, high in the hills overlooking Panama City. The staff likewise is wonderful. However, it is not paradise.
1. In spite of what the booking site promised, their is no pickup from the local airport at Albrook. When, we contacted the owner, he said that they no longer offer a transfer service although the booking sites still show that as a service. To be fair, when I questioned this, he was prepared to honour the reservation - but only to and from Tocumen. He did suggest a car rental.
2. While the hotel is really wonderful and there are many birds at the feeders in the morning, there is really nothing to do. The hotel website mentions being able to hike to Lake Bayano and the San Blas Islands, in truth the first is an hour away by car and the islands two hours - by car. Hardly a hiking distance. Locally, even with a car ( which is a necessity unless you want to sit in the property all day), there are no readily accessible hiking trails or any interpretive programme.
3. Be prepared that, if you know no Spanish, your visit will consist of a rapid learning curve in non verbal communication. The staff, in spite of being wonderful, speak no English.
4. Lastly, the food. The food is delicious home cooking - not cheap but good. However, be prepared to be a food hostage while you are there. There is no other choice anywhere in the neighbourhood.
At the end, we had a very relaxing stay at a wonderful property. It could have been better however.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F, Propietario at La Semilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valid opinion and comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was less than excellent. We have taken on board your comments regarding the lack of information on activities close to the lodge, and are now creating a booklet of information, thanks to your constructive suggestions. In the meantime our staff have been very good in replying to guests requests for information, unfortunately they tell me that you did not request for information regarding the local nature hikes, or kayaking on the lake. Again apologies for this poor communication.
Furthermore, thanks again to your suggestion, we are creating a more comprehensive menu, in order for the food options to be clearer and more extensive. The cost of food in general is very high in Panama, unfortunately this is out of our control.
As we discussed in person, and you agreed, it is almost essential to have a car when you visit us, or you will be stuck in the hotel, since the nearest hikes and activities are 5 minutes drive away. We did discount $45 from your bill to help with your car rental, as per your request, in lieu of the free transport to the International airport that we offered you.
As a gesture of good will we would be happy to host you and your wife on another occasion, free of charge for one night, in order for you to experience the lodge once we have implemented your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Pros: Good forest and bird views, comfortable rooms, delicious dinner, refreshing weather, very kind staff, great bed.
Cons: Very slow service, Bad Wifi, expensive food prices, no fridge in room, no bottled water in room, no A/C in room, crooked pool table, not 100% functional Jacuzzi, lack of doorbell in main entrance (we have to wait 15 min outside before the heard us and let us in), lack of staff (just two people), hot water does not work unless turning on the extractor.

Room tip: Please take your own cooked food, once up there, there are almost no options to eat. Their food is delicious but too expensive.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LuisRiverART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F, Propietario at La Semilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Luis,
We thank you for staying with us, and are very grateful for your valid comments regarding your recent stay with us. We constantly seek to improve the experience of our clients, and as such, we will improve many of the points you mentioned. For starters doorbell, and fridges in the rooms with complimentary bootled water will be added, as well as an adjustment to the hot water setting.
We would be delighted to host you again, without cost, when these improvements have been made, in order to better live up to your expectation.
With kind regards,
Paul Farrow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The hotel is nice and relaxing. The staff is very friendly and the food they cook is delicious, but there are several things I am very surprised nobody has mentioned in the reviews so far which makes me doubt their authenticity.

1) The hotel is NOT 20 minutes away from the airport. Both the hotel website and a review mention it which is not true. It is more like 40-50 minutes away and this is if there are no traffic jams near the airport. You can check Google directions, the hotel location is roughly correct. It took us 50 minutes to get there on an uber from the airport and there were no obvious traffic jams on the way.

2) The hotel does not have any airport transportation options. TripAdvisor mentions airport transportation in the amenities section as does hotels.com. Once you uber in, you will need to agree with your driver to pick you up whenever you leave, because you WILL NOT be able to request an uber from the hotel area.

3) There is nothing much to do around the hotel. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is a great place for relaxing and bird-watching, but the area is not really walkable. If you plan to go on a hike, you will need a car unless you want walk along a highway. Also, you might need a permit to enter a park.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Excellent team onsite offering a great experience. Very recommended for couples looking for a relaxed stay. Look for the hot tub and the fun table games available at the balcony. Lunch and dinner are also recommended and reflect very good value for your $$$

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oded S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, very comfortable and luxurious surroundings and plenty of wildlife, and all close to Panama City (40 minutes) & the International Airport (20 minutes). Will definitely go back! Delicious food and a cool climate.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PanamaPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews