We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet friendly cottage in beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annemarie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So amazing we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

There is so much to rave about that I don't even think I'll do it justice - just WOW! Our hosts (Pam and Vicky) were so friendly and helpful - even their dogs came to say hello at times (and the neighbour's cat)! The cottage was very spacious, clean and tidy, with some home made sheep-shaped shortbread to welcome us on a tray with tea and coffee. There are also plenty of books, DVDs and puzzles to keep you occupied in case the weather takes a turn - fortunately for us the weather was beautiful for most of the week, making the setting of the cottage more spectacular.

The views across to Chee Tor were breathtaking - such a lovely thing to be able to sit out with a cup of tea and just marvel at it each morning (or all day if you wanted - honestly you wouldn't get bored of the view!). They also provide 13 laminated walks nearby for anyone who is keen to take in the stunning surroundings (definitely do number 12 if you can - the walk is amazing though a little tricky in places if it's rained recently, and walk 13 provides the best views).

Genuinely one of the most idyllic and peaceful holidays I've been on - it was so nice to get away from the city and screens that dominate our daily lives (though still able to keep up with the Olympics thanks to the sky tv and wifi for anyone who can't live without it!). It's also in such a great location - Bakewell and Buxton are short drives away (approx 20 mins and 15 mins respectively) and there are lots of nice pubs and picnic spots around too, so you get the best of both worlds - feeling as though you're totally secluded but within a few miles of towns.

Like I said, we really didn't want to leave - in fact my partner is still grumpy with me for making him come home. We cannot rate this place highly enough - absolutely perfect!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is pretty hard to beat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrina k
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning scenery outlook”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a wonderful cottage with everything you could possibly need in it. Our hosts were wonderful. The cottage was situated with magnificent views across to the Monsal trail and wonderful walks just on the doorstep. it was so peaceful and tranquil, no rush around just get on at leisurely pace and take in the breathtaking scenery. Bakewell and Buxton short drives away and plenty of other dales to visit. Definitely visit again

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and scenery
Liked least: Shower had no pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine H
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at Monks Memories along with our dog. The property has everything you need and is very well presented. We arrived late one evening to find tea, coffee and gorgeous short bread biscuits waiting for us! The property is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area - there is a set of laminated walks available in the property and my husband and dog enjoyed a good walk every morning. Buxton and Bakewell are within easy reach. We look forward to making a return visit very soon and we have already recommended it to friends.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just came back from staying at Monks Memories cottage in Millers Dale and had to say what a lovely time we had. Pam & Vic, the owners, have thought of everything with a comprehensive list of local attractions, laminated walks from the cottage to the surrounding countryside, tea and biscuit when you arrive and for those who need it a really good Wi-Fi connection! Every morning and evening we just sat outside and read or chatted taking in the fantastic view and feeling the stress of everyday life fall away. In between we were making the most of the walks and local towns and villages and the week just flew by. Will definitely come back in the future and would recommend to anybody.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.