We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be out again”
Review of The Anglers Rest

The Anglers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely fillet steak and melted cheese baguette today at lunchtime. Chips were fab too. Staff were really friendly and service was quick. Tables set out next to the river. Ordered food at the bar and it was brought to us outside. Great stop off for our circular walk from Monsal.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank glenn_paxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2020

Sunday 13th December, we had the second Sunday roast beef take away since lock down. The generous amount of beef and of the vegetables presented had not changed; the flavour was wonderful. We will be back inside when our imprisonment ends! Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IainP637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

Seriously, the last time we visited we were greeted by a friendly face who made our baby son beam. The place was vibrant and the food was superb.
When we recently visited it was such a disappointment. Full of hope, we were shattered. The food was terrible and the atmosphere was dull. No dogs to greet us and no bubbly person behind the bar. Will not visit again.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank deldabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaP3262, Owner at The Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2020

I am sorry to see you have had to leave this terrible review. I don’t really understand what you are saying? We’ve never had dogs but dogs are always welcome as for our homemade treats on the bar. We are a friendly happy team who is always willing to help and welcome customers old and new. Even in these hard times we are in. I don’t believe you are talking about our little country inn. Maybe you’ve got this wrong? If you did dine with us and the food what that terrible, I don’t understand why didn’t you speak up to one of my staff members on table service who like I said are always happy to help and we could of resolved this for you. We are a very popular country inn just off the Monsal trail as you can see from our other reviews.

Thanks Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We came cross this pub halfway round a walk, we popped in for a drink and liked the look of the evening menu so returned for our evening meal. There are two bars, one which is for walkers and dogs which is perfect and and nicely furnished. The staff were extremely friendly and polite and the food we had was really good. A great pub with good food, great staff and a nice atmosphere. COVID procedures in place so we also felt very safe.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank JayneM822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

A lovely local pub by the river. The staff were very good and followed the Covid guide lines you were made to feel welcome and the food is very good the Steak and Blue cheese pie is lovely!
Nice atmosphere we went three times during our visit!
Kerry and Richard

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beltonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anglers Rest also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Litton, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.