We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time gem”
Review of The Anglers Rest

The Anglers Rest
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2020

Visited today with my dad after a few hours walking in the dales, firstly what a great location we sat outside next to the river, friendly staff once entering the bar to order, bar and inside looked really nice and welcoming, very clean also, food wise I choose the lamb shank, mash and veg it was really nice well cooked really enjoyed it, my dad had the homemade steak pie, chips and veg again he enjoyed his meal, I think it gets very busy on hot weekend days from what the bar staff said so maybe worth booking right now, overall great experience of this pub, well cooked tasty food at a reasonable price, would go back again

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank jamesc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Having arrived to find a power outage they were doing their best to keep things going.
Power on. Food was good.
T bone was a bit chewy but ok.
Reasonably priced.
Great waiting staff.
Would revisit if in the area.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely setting. Quaint interior. Potential to be a real gem. They’re not doing simple things eg. On our entrance, the Coca Cola was warm and we were not offered ice. Bad start. Menu was typical pub grub which is what we wanted. Sadly the food is from Iceland. The scampi was barely edible and clearly came from the supermarket. The chips were also frozen and tasted of nothing. My steak was fine but the blood soaked the chips rendering them mush. The onion rings were beige fried batter with an onion flavour. My daughter loved her sausages. I wanted to love this place but can not recommend based on our experience.

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank Stephelu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaP3262, Owner at The Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2020

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy you’re time with us. Firstly the Coca Cola couldn’t of been warm as it is on draught and goes through our cooler. Sorry you wasn’t offered ice as we are trying to serve as many people as possible and as fast as possible due to social distancing this wouldn’t of been done on purpose. We would of happily given you some if you had requested it. As for the quaint interior you have said our country inn pub is nearly 300 years old.
I can ensure you our food is not from iceland, we buy local products from our local suppliers, just a shame you have to say we use Iceland as an excuse as you didn’t enjoy you’re meal. If you had told us we could of resolved this for you when you was dining with us. Our scampi comes from local suppliers and it’s a very popular dish which many enjoy. As for the onion rings maybe they just wasn’t for you and like I said if you wasn’t enjoying them we would of resolved this for you if you had spoke up when dining with us.

Thanks Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

We stumbled on this pub at the end of our round walk from Millers Dale old station. It’s a traditional pub next to the river. Very friendly, good beer and reasonably priced food. Can’t go wrong.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Arrived Friday for weekend, staying in nearby campsite. Walked Friday for a drink, very friendly and received a warm welcome. Felt safe and all covid related issues were dealt with appropriately. Came back following night and had a wonderful meal. Would highly recommend this lovely village pub. Thank you!!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank doncasterpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anglers Rest also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Litton, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.