We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable and quiet cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Stores
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Stores
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
The Old Stores
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Andrea B
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and quiet cottage”
Reviewed 9 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

I stayed at The Old Stores for 4 nights in November with my parents (in their late 70's) and my dog. We chose this time to get away from the fireworks as my dog is terrified. So I checked with the owner first that there would be no firework noise, and thankfully it was perfectly quiet. There's a lovely, safe enclosed back garden and a great hill and interesting railway walk and lovely pub right across the road, so we were all kept very happy! We found most of the pubs and cafes in the area welcomed dogs and muddy boots which was great.

My mom is disabled, she can walk a little but needs everything on one level so the cottage was perfect. She couldn't climb into the bath to use the shower but this was fine for the few days. The cottage has everything you need, is super warm, clean and very cosy with a lovely open fire. It's actually much nicer and more spacious in real life that in the pictures.

We bought logs with us but there is coal supplied at a small cost if you need it. Be warned that the cottage is right on the road so there is a bit of noise from traffic, but honestly this didn't bother us at all and we got used to it very quickly. The worst period was first thing in the morning with rush hour traffic, but even this is minimal compared to being in a town. At night it was very quiet.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend. Nothing really negative to say. Thank you Julie and Martin for making it so welcoming for us with the lovely tea tray and dog treats!

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2018
Hi Andrea,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Stores, surrounding area and The Anglers Rest.
We take on board what you say about the shower over the bath being a problem for the less able.
Thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards, Julie& Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl and...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab getaway from it all place”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Has Buxton and Bakewell near by and the lovely village of Tideswell 2.5 miles.
The old stores has lured us back again, we have stayed here about 14 times and love it as much now as always. You need a car to get here and for supllies but that's all. once here you can walk many routes right from the door. Great pub 1 minute walk with good ales and smashing pub food.
Views from rear of cottage down Monksdale, small stream next to cottage, and River across road, very scenic. Comfy and warm with a real coal fire. Room for 4 adults. Very clean and well maintained with free wifi. Off road parking too. This is a quiet little hamlet not a village so it allows for a real relaxing escape form the madness of the cities. Have to mention that there can be some road noise but this is mentioned in the listing, it didn't bother us after the first day and obviously has not deterred us all the other times, book it and escape!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Hi Paul & Beryl,
So glad you enjoyed your return visit to The Old Stores.
Thank you,
Julie & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.