We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Carvery”

The Blacksmiths Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Naburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Traditional Pub in the pretty riverside village of Naburn. Large beer gardens for the Summer, log fire for the Winter, real ales, home-made classic pub dishes. Families, push bikes, muddy boots & dogs Welcome!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We came one Sunday for the carvery and the food was so fresh and hot. It was the best carvery that we have had. Plus the atmosphere was nice and your made to feel welcome.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOanne B, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Kelly

Thank you so much for your great review we are very pleased you thought our carvery was the best you have ever had - its very good to here!! also glad you felt welcomed and enjoyed the atmosphere.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

It's hard to fault this pub. The owners are lovely and so are the staff. There is an excellent range of beers and lagers on offer and the Sunday lunch is up there with the best we've ever had.

Best of all it's a dog friendly pub with doggie treats and water available for our four-legged friends.

With all that on offer it's no wonder we've been visiting this lovely riverside pub regularly for more than two years.

Unfortunately my wife is reluctant to return after an incident with a loud-mouthed, rude regular who was propping up the bar and took an exception to our dogs being in the pub. Not only did this ignorant oaf upset my wife and also a bloke we were talking to but he also threatened me with violence.

Apparently this obnoxious individual has been going in this pub for 30 years so he's obviously stupid as well as rude. The clue is in the description 'we welcome dogs'. As the pub landlord and his wife make great play of being dog friendly pub and are happy to advertise the fact and take money from customers who have dogs with them, they maybe need to make a business decision. Do they want the loudmouthed oaf of a regular insulting their customers or do they want the hundreds of dog-owning customers the pub attracts?

So, a really superb pub whether you gave a dog or not. But beware of big gob at the bar if you happen to come across him.

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank NuffsaidHesleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOanne B, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review we appreicate your lovely comments about our staff, food and drinks. We welcome all our well behaved four legged friends which, like you say, is why we have a dog friendly area in the pub and provide dog treats and water for them.

We would have preferred you would have spoken to us about this incident and appreciate there are always 2 sides to every story.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The sign above the door reads “arrive as a stranger leave as a friend “ unfortunately we experienced the opposite.
All of the tables displayed reserved signs even though it was only 5pm. Begrudgingly we were allocated a table & after a bit of manoeuvring I eventually found a comfortable seat.
I was tempted by the home made chips but again dissapointed when they arrived as they looked & tasted like Mr McCains finest!
We sat for 15mins before the plates were cleared & no offer of the desert menu.
£50 for a poor quality bar meal is not my idea of value.
Won’t be back sorry, my palette is more discerning than what you can offer.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Seasidegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOanne B, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit - as you can see from our many excellent reviews we offer a warm welcome to all. We also willingly offer tables to our customers when they are not occupied.
We can assure you that our chips are home-made and peeled, chipped and cooked on site and are definitely not "Mr McCains finest"
The dessert menus are on the table on the back of the menu.
Also our food is not of "poor quality" - again as you can see from our many great reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

My favourite place for Sunday roast. The beef is gorgeous and the trimmings are lovely too. Would recommend booking a table for a sunday as they always seem busy.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank green528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOanne B, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated - it it so good to hear that our pub is your favourite place for Sunday lunch!!
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Had a fantastic carvery on Mothers day. Can say this was probably one of the best we have had. Nice little touch giving frre gift for all the mums. Will definitely recommend and will visit again when we are back this way.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOanne B, Owner at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Jenny

Thank you very much for your great review and recommendation- we are very pleased you enjoyed Mothers Day with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blacksmiths Arms also viewed

Bishopthorpe, York
Bishopthorpe, York
 
Bishopthorpe, York
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blacksmiths Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing