We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,110)
Filter reviews
3,110 results
Traveller rating
1,623
928
350
136
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,623
928
350
136
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswicked walubula brasseriejapanese restaurantsunset barsuva wingcoral coastkids clubfishprivate transfertable tennisan ocean view roomsea snakestennis courtsbeautiful resortrelaxing holidaywaterfall tourkids activities
Filter
Updating list...
2,558 - 2,563 of 3,110 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We visited the Warwick for a week at the end of January / beginning of February, mainly just to take a break form work after what had been a busy year.

We started off in what felt like a bit of a comedy of errors as the hotel couldn't find the keys to our room. The concierge got us in there with his master key, but then they found out that the door to the balcony wouldn't lock either. The desk staff dealt with all this excellently and found us another room (in the Suva wing rather than the Nadi one - and as most folk seem to point out, the Suva wing is definitely the quieter of the two wings to be in if you want a bit of peace and quiet).

I'd definitely say that the rooms are very dark. We thought this to be the case in the first room that we were put in (243), but it was even more so in the second (390) - there were three lamps in the room, but no ceiling lighting at all, meaning that it was pretty dark at night when you were in the room.

The bathrooms are the give-away around how dated the hotel is. Having stayed at the Hilton in Denarau on our last visit to Fiji, it was certainly notable that there was a big gulf in the rooms and particularly the bath rooms. That said, we were happy enough with the standard of rooms, as we were not expecting western style 5 star accommodation.

The food in all the restaurants is good (make sure you pay a visit to the Teppanyaki restaurant, which was a great evening's entertainment).

We had a deal that included breakfast and there was always plenty of food at the buffet and I'm not quite sure where the complaints about powdered eggs come from, as they have a chef on hand doing fried and poached eggs as well as omelettes. They certainly looked like real eggs to me!!

The staff were, in the main, very friendly and eager to help. One exception was the General Manager who refused to give his name to my wife who was asking him what they were doing with the stray cats that hung around the restaurant. He told her it was none of her business and refused to give his name to her - and then told the ladies at reception not to give his name. This hardly seemed like the behaviour you'd expect from a General Manager at a 5 star resort, but thankfully his staff were all far better behaved than him.

The resort grounds are lovely, and the staff attempted to lay on entertainment for both adults and kids (it rained most of the time that we were there) but we opted to find somewhere out of the rain and relaxed reading our books.

For anyone interested in a bit of archaeology, we booked a taki that took us to the sand dunes where you could walk to view the 2,600 year old Lapita pottery. It's around a 4.5km walk but was great to see all this broken pottery just lying on the surface of the dunes (although there is no map to find it, we just had to follow the verbal instructions of the staff at the office). We thoroughly enjoyed the walk, although it was very warm in the humidity - I'd suggest getting there in the morning before it gets too hot.

All in all, I'd say that the hotel is decent value, the food is good, the staff are helpful, but the place is in need of a bit of TLC. It's not the Hilton in Denarau (and you can get deals for around the same price), so on reflection, I'd probably aim to head back to Denarau next time. While the beaches aren't nearly as nice as on the Coral Coast, there is more to do and more choice. IF you are after something on the Coral Coast though, this isn't a bad choice.

Room Tip: Go for the Suva Wing if you are after more peace and quiet. There is a pool at this side, but it's much quieter than the Nadi Wing where most of the kids entertainment takes place.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1873KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Fiji_Resort, Manager at The Warwick Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We have noted your recent comments on Trip Advisor and we are obviously disappointed that there were aspects of your holiday that did not meet your expectations! For this we sincerely apologise!We have undertaken a thorough investigation of issues raised in your review and we have taken the appropriate action! Thank you for your positive comments in relation to our staffs however in relation to the General Manager, the General Manager was on leave during the duration of your stay and that was one of our Duty Manager's that was on duty and i have addressed this issue with this particular staff member. I also would like to thank you for highlighting several other concerns in your review. I sincerely apologise that we have not been able to deliver the outstanding Warwick experience that this resort is well known for!Please be assured that your feedback has been taken constructively as a means for us to further improve our resort services & facilities. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to our beautiful resort again.
Vinaka and regards
Loata Koroi
Area PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at the warwick for a family wedding for 6 nights with my partner on our first visit to fiji.
We stayed on the 2nd floor Suva Wing with a pool view. The warwick is a beautiful property - right on the beach. We had a great relaxing holiday and spent ours days kayaking, snorkelling, swimming & drinking cocktails. Most of the staff are very friendly and I highly recommended the Teppanyaki at the Japanese restaurant.
The wedding was also gorgeous right on the beach, all went smoothly and we had the seafood platters at Wicked Walu for the Reception - AMAZING!
The buffet dinners in main restaurant & cafe lunch are average.
Spend more time swimming in the pool near Suva Wing as Pool bar can be busy & noisy.
The room was clean & nice with a balcony although as other reviews have mentioned too the air conditioning needs to be fixed (is not that cool even on low temp).

The not so good: Room Cleaning was not done all at once, towels were brought back at different times, we were often left short of bathmats, facewashers & not all amenities were restocked each day.
There are many chairs around pools & beach however people put towels out early like 8am to reserve chairs for the whole day when they only use the pool once or twice.
There are costs to use the Gym, Tennis Courts, squash.
If plan to snorkel alot, take your own snorkelling gear as the resort says there is a half hr limit, however many people keep the snorkel gear all day & dont return it!!
A little far from the airport 1.5-2hr drive.

There are a few things that need to be improved on, however it is just so beautiful & relaxing at the warwick that they dont matter that much. We will definitely be returning to fiji

Room Tip: Ask for the Suva Wing if travelling without kids
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Fiji_Resort, Manager at The Warwick Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Greetings from the Team at the Warwick!
We sincerely thank you for your comments!We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and our beautiful resort and that you are looking at coming back. Thank you for comments in regards to our Wedding venue and the Wicked Walu menu. We have also addressed our Housekeeping Department on the issues that you have brought up. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to our resort again.
Warm and kind regards
Loata koroi
Area PR Manager - Warwick Group, Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Beautiful resort, very nice room, staff was extremely friendly, food was delicious ( especially the lovo buffet and the beautiful Wicked Walu restaurant ), would definitely recommend this place to anyone heading to the Coral coast.
It is very isolated indeed so if you wanna experience the real Fiji and meet the locals expect to travel long distance. Head down to the beach and walk towards the closest village for cheap massages, drinks and snacks, and look for Lino Cappucino (that's right) for good deals on tours .
Great place.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank GregKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Fiji_Resort, Manager at The Warwick Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to provide comment on your recent stay at the Warwick Fiji Resort & Spa! Your positive comments in regards to our buffets is highly appreciated. Once again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.
Vinaka and kind regards
Loata Koroi
Area PR Manager - Warwick Group Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Warwick with our teenage daughter from the 12th-22nd Jan and found that the staff were amazing and friendly, while the food overall was great. The only disappointment with the food was the Japanese resturaunt which was average but the Italian and Wicked Wahloo had lovely food. The cappacinos were a bit hit and miss, depending on who was behind the coffee machine, and pricey as they are not included in the inclusive package, I do think the all inclusive package is worth it tho there is a lot of food to choose from and its a good way to keep costs down. While we were there the power did got out tho due to mother nature so this couldnt be helped and the staff did their best considering some guests were a little short tempered due to the heat. I think tho the airconditioning system was poor and should be upgraded to deal with the humidity. The resort is far away from other amenities but this is why researching the location of hotels before booking is important! All in all we had a lovely relaxing time at the Warwick but it was the staff that made it truly memorable. Bula!!!!

Room Tip: If you dont have young children ask to stay in suva wing as it is much more quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Fiji_Resort, Manager at The Warwick Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Jen H
“Bula” from the team at Warwick Fiji!
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience at the Warwick was a memorable one. However, there may have been some aspects of your holiday that you didn’t enjoy and we do sincerely apologise for this. Thank you for your comments in relation to our staffs. Once again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the Warwick Fiji in future.
Vinaka and warm regards
Loata Koroi
Area PR Manager - Warwick Group Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at the Warwick and our kiddos, ages 8 & 10, are asking if we could do it again next year! The laid back atmosphere and balmy weather is ideal for kicking back and recharging the batteries and as a fairly well travelled family of 4 we have a good feel for the value vs quality debate.
If you need to bulk up for the year ahead then go with the meal deals, if freedom of choice is your go then choose a seafood platter and a chilled wine from the menu at Wicked Walu and enjoy the sunset. You’ll be back the very next night, trust me.
If you are there during the wet season then there is a likelihood of ummm rain and humidity, so take a good book along and chill out, and if you are after crash hot service then Thailand or Vegas are calling you.
From a family holiday destination perspective the Warwick is reasonably priced midrange resort that offers good food, nice digs and snorkelling right off the beach in front of the hotel. My kiddos tell me five Nemo’s hang out there.

Room Tip: The Nadi wing is closer to the "action" and the Suva wing is generally quieter. Both wings have pools for a cool off dip. Ground floor rooms give easy access to the pools. Upstairs rooms likely to offer better views.
Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Fiji_Resort, Manager at The Warwick Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear KenW
“Bula” from the team at Warwick Fiji!
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience at the Warwick was a memorable one. Once again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the Warwick Fiji in future.
Vinaka and warm regards
Loata Koroi
Area PR Manager-Warwick Group Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews