We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
227
144
49
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
144
49
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal deal meal plan mini bar our honeymoon fish overwater fale manoa tours beach front swim up bar movie night coffee table sinalei resort restaurant staff samoan culture per hour samoan dishes other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We stayed in a so called tree tops room which was supposed to be 2 level with breakfast included.

Arrived, first thing was to find that breakfast was just a so called continental, not the breakfast menu. We were told we could have that or a drinks thing with 500ml wine, 2 bottles of beer (which we dont drink) and 2 bottles of soda (which we dont drink). So paid for breakfast each day. So much for breakfast included.

Go to the room, not a 2 level, single level with small double bed with mosquito netting which was needed due to the ponds outside which for the first few days were not turned on so were ideal for mosquitos to thrive.

We took the 1 day Savaii tour which is just a rort quite frankly. The options were to start at 6.00 am and finish at 2 or 4. Both were to include lunch. We started at 6.00 am, went to the ferry terminal waited an hour, spent 1.5 hours on the ferry, then go and get a rental car - first thing was the driver encouraged us to finish at 2,00, told us that instead of doing the whole island we should cut it short so we agreed. Turned out we had photo op at waterfall, photo op at blow holes (which were worth seeing) and photo op at so called swimming turtles which were 5 turtles in an enclosure, raced around at 100kph and didn’t have lunch other than a bag of potato chips offered to us.

We usually stay at Sinalei, thought we would give Coconuts a go, we wont be going back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Talofa Bill,

Thank you for being our guests and for sharing your comments. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with a few different aspects of your stay and trip.

For our free inclusions, it's unfortunate that you thought we offered something other than the Continental Breakfast or the Mini Bar beverages. These inclusions are clearly listed on our website, however with other websites we find the information is often there, but sometimes you have to look around for the details. For many guests, the Continental Breakfast is good way to start the day off with a nice light meal. Of course other items are always available off the menu, and we do offer our Meal Deal which includes full cooked breakfast, lunch, and 3 course dinner, so it's nice to have a few options.

With regard to our Treehouse room configuration, we try to make the details as clear as possible on our website, but sometimes it's hard to convey that this is a 2 story building, and the rooms are are either on the ground level or upstairs, rather than 2 levels. Perhaps you were looking on a different website? In addition, we are happy to answer any questions in advance, in case someone is unsure about something, Also of note our ponds have continuous water circulation and filtration, but you might have noticed water being added or diverted through the system. Also the water features are filled with sea water, which helps keep mosquitoes under control.

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your day trip to Savaii more. It does take a little while to drive to the wharf, and also to take the trip on the ferry to Savaii, It's just hard to avoid most of that. I hope that you immediately let our manager know that you didn't get to eat lunch, as we certainly would want to adjust the charges for you.

We appreciate your concerns and we will use your feedback to make improvements wherever possible. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Our holiday in Samoa was one of the best we'd ever had and we particularly loved Coconuts Resort - we stayed in two other resorts on Samoa and this one, in my opinion, was the best. We stayed here for 4 nights with our two children and my parents although I wish we could've stayed for longer! Our accommodation was the 2 bedroom beach fale which was fantastic - the best I've ever stayed in. We loved the stone floors and the rustic wooden beams and the bathroom was very unique. It was also very spacious. There was air-con but we didn't use it as the ceiling fans were adequate. The view from the front deck was simply stunning and the inclusion of 4 wooden deck chairs was great. You had to pay extra for wi-fi but to be honest I was quite happy for my children and husband to go without - same goes for the lack of a tv. Who goes to a beautiful tropical destination to look at a screen anyway!?!!

The staff here are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and are a real asset to the resort. Staff members OK and Seal (unsure of spelling) particularly went out of their way to make sure our stay was a great one. OK even got us out of a tricky situation with our rental car. And when our transfers that we'd booked from another company didn't turn up to take us to the airport at 3am Coconuts again came to the rescue and drove us to the airport!

The resort itself is very nicely designed so it feels like you can see the ocean from wherever you are and the style felt very Samoan - although some areas feel a little tired but didn't detract from our stay. The restaurant area and bar is great and the food, although pricier than other resorts we'd stayed at in Samoa, was good quality. We particularly enjoyed the Samoan style fish cooked with coconut and pineapple which came with a good selection of vegetables including taro - it was delicious! The kids meals were quite good too, especially the spag bol and the steak and were a decent size.

The complimentary continental breakfast which is served to you includes unlimited tea/coffee plus either a small selection of fresh fruit OR a glass or juice, plus one piece of toast (either rye or wholemeal) with either ham or marmalade plus one small muffin was a little disappointing. The serving size was too small for my son who has a big appetite and for my daughter who is a picky eater. As a result i needed pay for additional items off the menu. It would be preferable to be able to serve yourself these items. However, the kids breakfast options on the menu were good value (approx 11 tala) - esp the French toast which was delicious.

Overall we had a wonderful time at Coconuts Resort and I'm already trying to figure out when we can return!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 2eeskylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Talofa lava! We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us, and your holiday in Samoa was very memorable. We are honored that you consider Coconuts was the best during your time on the Island. We are not like most other resorts, so we won't appeal to everyone, but it sounds like we were a good match for the type of experience that you prefer, and that's what it all comes down to.

We are glad to know that you were well looked after by our staff, they are a big part of the overall guest experience, and they love to share their Samoan culture and hospitality with everyone.

With regards to food, for enthusiastic eaters, I suggest considering our Meal Deal, which provides a good quantity for most people, and also helps keep your budget on track. With our Meal Deal, the main problem is picking out which meal items to order off the menu, with so many delicious options it can be hard to choose.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests, and we would love to see you again too. Alofa tele from your new Coconuts family. Fa'afetai lava!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Picturesque, beach to ourselves, uninterrupted views, turtles & use of kayaks & paddle boards. We stayed in an over water fale to enjoy the privacy & location.

At $642.00 AUD/night our complimentary items included instant coffee with powdered milk. The fale was ‘tired’ & in some disrepair. There is little coral & little is being done to protect it. Breakfast was included ‘free’ in our booking, however was included for everyone. We received a continental breakfast. No free in room wifi or on the resort, ‘real’ coffee cost $7.50 AUD. One night there were 3 people in the fale next door. At 9.30pm they were screaming, breaking things & came to our glass door, placed their body on the door & tried to get in. We used our mobile to call reception (no phone in room). No answer. The resort book said “...If you have any concerns after hours please contact our village chiefs…” No number. We were too scared to go out. In the morning we went to report it, obviously upset, & told to come back & speak to the manager. She said this never happened before. If this was the 1st time it won’t be the last.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karenbT7372CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Talofa and thank you for being our guests, and also for providing your feedback.We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful location and surroundings.

The complimentary inclusions are the same for all the different room types that we offer. Yes there is a kettle for making tea and coffee, along with powdered creamer. Our restaurant is happy to provide on request, regular liquid milk for your room. The nightly room rate includes your choice of complimentary Continental Breakfast, OR en-suite Mini-Bar beverages (beer, wine, soda, and bottled water) restocked daily. So guests can pick whichever appeals to them the most. Of note, coffee or tea is included in the free Continental Breakfast. Otherwise, our regular brewed coffee is available for $10 WST (about $5.40 AUD) which includes tax and free refills.

We certainly wish to apologize for the disruption caused by our other guests, and we are sorry if you were scared by the ruckus. Unfortunately we had no way to know in advance that this was going to happen. Our security and management were able to get involved and bring things back under control, and we are happy that there was no direct threat to any of our guests.

We wish that you had a better experience overall, and we value your opinions. Fa'afetai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

First impression of Samoa is of a very nice, green and clean island.
The locals are beautiful and friendly people and really care about their island looking nice.
Many of the roads around the villages and houses are lined with lots of beautifuls and colourful plants and flowers. Magnific!
The hotel I stayed in, the Coconuts Beach Club Resort is a very nice property with beautiful landscaped gardens and a nice beach.
It has the nice tropical island holiday feel.
I must say that the beach is a bit nicer further down on the left in front of the Sinalei Beach Resort though.
As service and entertainment go, the Coconuts Beach Club Resort does not live up to expectations. It is quite an expensive  resort but there is mostly no night entertainment, no TV in the rooms and no included internet. It is very odd for this type of resort to not even offer a minimum internet for the guests. If you want it they have it, but it will cost you dearly.
Considering that the resort is quite isolated and that there is nothing around, unless you  are into early bed time nights, you will be disappointed.
Tonight for example the notice board said "movie night" but the people at reception told me "not tonight...may be tomorrow". I think I disturbed their conversatinon and they looked at me like I was bothering them.
So plenty of time to write this review!!!
From the time you arrive to this resort they try to sell you all sort of trips, activities and excursions. Which are all very expensive. But they tell you that they want to make it the best for you and they have your best interest at heart.
It all feels like they are trying to squeeze every last $ they can out of you.
Given that all staff are Samoan, and Samoan are really generous and friendly, my guess is that this sort of greedy approach is a resort management's policy inculcated in the staff.
If you choose the included breakfast you will be disappointed. After paying over $300US per night you would expect a good buffet breakfast. You would be wrong!!! All you get is a very poor light continental breakfast with some fruit (not much at all) one slice of toast and one muffin. The percolated coffee is not great, but you can get refills!!! And if you want to swap the coffee for a juice they want to charge you extra. Very disappointing for a resort this expensive to be so penny pinching.
And if you have dinner here do not forget to bring a torch because the lighting  in the restaurant  (as in the rooms and in the rest of the resort) is so poor that you really need a torch to read the menu.
Another thing I did not like is that their website  quotes you the price in US$. Then they charge your credit card in local currency  (WST), but they apply the US to WST exchange rate as if you were actually exchanging cash US$  into cash WST at the hotel so  they make at least  an extra 5% on their inflated exchange rate. Very sneaky and greedy!
I have not tried the other resorts in the area, but this one, although in a very nice location, was a bit disappointing and I would not come back.
The staff on the other hand, as all Samoan, are great.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank archima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Talofa and thank you for being our guests, as well as taking the time to write your detailed review. We are very sorry that you did not have a fantastic experience during your stay, but after reading your comments, it's quite understandable. Unfortunately it seems like Coconuts was simply not a good match for what you were looking for. From the beginning (a long time ago), Coconuts has promoted it's unique aspects, such as no TVs and no phones, which has made it a destination for travelers who are looking to take a break from the busy lives they lead, and get a chance to really relax. The need for this in current times is even more apparent, and terms like Digital Detox are now a common concern, but we recognized and offered this type of experience well before computers and the Internet were such a major part of most peoples daily lives. Apparently you prefer a more traditional type of hotel, as well as more entertainment or excitement. There's nothing wrong with that, and many people have similar preferences, but Coconuts does not happen to fit this model. It also appears that we were not a great match for your budget either, Again this is unfortunate, but somewhat avoidable, as we are happy to provide pricing in advance for any offerings, such as food, drinks, spa services, tours, etc.

I would like to clear up a couple of points that were mentioned. Our staff are not instructed to push or aggressively sell anything. They are supposed to inform our guests about the many options that are available, as this can often provide a better overall experience for the guests. It would be a shame for our guests to miss out on something that they would have enjoyed, because we failed to let them know it was available.

We realize the our free continental breakfast may not appeal to everyone, but we also offer the option to have free mini bar beverages instead of the continental breakfast.

With regards to currencies and charges, you are correct that our room rates are quoted in USD, and depending on how you book, the charges are made in USD or WST. All transactions made on premises will be in WST, because that is the currency that our bank uses. In this case we would need to convert using an exchange rate, but that is determined by the government and the banks. We don't use it as a means to charge more money, and in fact we are one of the few resorts on the island that doesn't add any service charges for bills that are paid with a credit card. So nothing sneaky or greedy is going on here, actually it's quite the opposite.

We are glad that you liked our location and staff, but we sincerely wish you had a better overall experience, and one which would have made you want to return again, as so many other guests have. Fa'afetai lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My wife and I stayed here for a week, and found it very relaxing. We were in one of the treehouses, and the room was a good size. There is air conditioning, although we only had it on for short periods during the day.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and extremely helpful in drawing up itineraries/routes for us to explore the island.

The whole vibe of the place is very laid back. The poolside area is a good place to relax, and the sunsets were stunning.

We ended up eating in the resort restaurant more than we had expected, and the food was excellent - with traditional Samoan options (such as oka) and more European dishes too.

There is Wifi available for a cost, but we didn't make use of it, as to be honest, it was just so nice to unplug and enjoy the resort, and Samoa.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Talofa lava! We want to thank you for being our guests, and for choosing Coconuts as your vacation accommodation during your Samoan holiday. We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing time, and that you were comfortable in your room.

Fa'afetai for writing your nice review, it does a great job of summarizing the general atmosphere, and the rewards that are available when you can unplug from the real world, and unwind in Paradise.

We welcome you to come back again in the future, it would certainly be our honor. From all of our staff, we wish you Tofa Soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews