We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Went here for a family celebration. It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the country. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are comfortable. The food is a highlight: we had some particularly good lamb in Marwick's restaurant and it was nice to be in a hotel where breakfast is cooked to order.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Geoff C
Thank you for leaving a lovely review of the Millstream Hotel. I am very pleased you liked the area, the food, the room and staff. I can not ask for much more!

Kind regards,
Tom Sherlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

My husband and I have stayed at the Millstream Hotel quite a few times. However this time we decided to stay in Laneside - self catering apartments just down the road from the Millstream.
Part of the hotel, there are three apartments (two of them are two bedroomed and the third is one bedroomed).
We stayed in Apartment 3 with one bedroom. The bathroom and bedroom are downstairs and lounge and kitchen upstairs. On arrival there was a welcome basket with bread, jams, apples, cake and in the fridge a bottle of wine, milk and butter. Complimentary toiletries were provided as well as bath robes to use.
Everything we could think of was provided to make our stay comfortable - cooking facilities including oven, hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, kitchen utensils, dishwasher, washer/dryer. Outside there is a table and chairs plus use of the communal garden with summer house and drying room.
Would definitely stay here again as the property also has parking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Nesto69,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our self catering apartment. Thank you for leaving a kind review and I hope to see you back in beautiful Bosham again soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Sherlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Mixed feelings about our stay. Cool reception although I had told them it was our 55th wedding anniversary this was never mentioned. Room comfortable but certainly not special for the price £205. Had a bath to find there was no soap!when I mentioned this they said it would be sent up later with no apology.i had a very good dinner .my husband's fish was a little overcooked.however my wine was not cold. This was replaced with rather bad grace with a not full glass of wine that was not much cooler!! There was one very friendly female waitress in the restaurant. Overall too many niggles and a feeling of disappointment on a for us special occasion.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 120manon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear 120manon,

I am so sorry to read that your review. Customer satisfaction pervades in everything we do but on this occasion we have let you down. Please do call me on 01243 573234 so that I can understand better what went wrong.

Kind regards,
Tom Sherlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Had a beautiful lunch in Marwicks Brasserie in the Millstream Hotel. The best twice baked cheese souffle I have ever tasted. Everything was perfect and the staff could not have been more attentive. I would definitely go back. Unfortunately just no room for dessert and they sounded delicious.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank avril b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear avril b

Thank you very much for leaving a lovely review of the Millstream. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with friends and that you were well looked after. I hope you will come back for a dessert next time!

Kind regards,
Tom Sherlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Start with the positives! Lovely quiet location with beautiful grounds in the pretty little village of Bosham. Excellent restaurant well deserving of the 2 AA rosettes it has. We stayed in the thatched cottage adjacent to the main building which we can fully recommend it. OK, no aircon and it could do with a lick of paint but we understand the whole hotel is undergoing a staged redecoration - therefore this is an observation not a concern. We really enjoyed the character and privacy of the cottage.
So why not 5 stars overall? A combination of a number of little matters really. For example, the hotel communal rooms feel a little dated and we would have welcomed more information and guidance from staff on local attractions. In the restaurant, the head waiter was excellent but some of the junior waiting staff in the restaurant were not as observant of the diners needs as they could have been.
When we were there, it did have a high proportion of retired guests in residence but it would be an equally good local base for families/Goodwood visitors.

Room Tip: Cottage suites are separate from main building but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decapitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Decapitate,

Thank you very much for leaving a detailed review of the Millstream. Feedback like this is always helpful. I am delighted that you enjoyed the cottage suite and the dinner in the restaurant. I am sorry that you feel the communal areas are a little dated - the main restaurant, lounge and bar were fully refurbished about three years ago but they will be painted this winter. The corridors were all done this year. Thank you for your comments regarding some of the waiters. A few of the team are new and I am confident they will be on their A game next time. I hope to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Sherlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
4.5 km away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
953 reviews
5.6 km away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
9.6 km away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
674 reviews
5.5 km away
Travelodge Chichester Central
19.1 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range: €88 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing