We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Verla was the first stop of our five day round trip of Southeastern Finland. A friend recommended... read more

Reviewed 22 December 2023
895heikkis
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Amazing and interesting

LOved my visit to this place. Baeutiful buildings which are free to wander around on the outside... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2023
dgjohansson
,
Ronneby, Sweden
Read all 88 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
57
29
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
29
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour charming village beautiful place paper factory summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Lovely place and ambience in the middle of nowhere. Finely conserved old paper mill and peripheral facilities

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank Jarmo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Old paper factory and mill. Local originall hand made design products. Cafe and restaurant. Really nice visit. Traditional

Date of experience: April 2021
8  Thank Tomi_Wickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2020

Verla is typical old factory in Finland, located next to a river, which provided power. It is located ca 30km from Kouvola, easiest to reach by own/rented car. There is public bus connection during the summer.
Area contains several old original buildings, making it really worth a trip. It is unique World Heritage Site, only one presenting forest industry and paper making. There is mansion, power plant, factory and employee accommodation. Additional few shops and restaurant.
You can learn a lot about paper production at the museum.
Summary: As an unique place, worth detour or even own trip.

Date of experience: July 2020
2  Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2020

The site is wonderfull, everything is like it was left tens of years ago. The guide had interesting stories to tell, including one lady who worked there for years and years on the same position and had even left markings on the floor during the years.

But in the evening, just before the sun goes down and everyone else has gone. Only seagulls screaming and the powerplant humming. That is the time to just sit, watch and think how different things were decades ago.

Date of experience: May 2020
Thank KriS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2019

If you visit Finland, you have to visit Mill that shows you what is very Finnish: pulp, paper and board manufacturing! This old mill is like it has been stopped yesterday though it has been closed for over 50 years. You can hear and feel how pulp has been manufactured in old times. In modern mills you can't see it as concretically as you see it here - and those nice old stories!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Jokke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews