We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Verla was the first stop of our five day round trip of Southeastern Finland. A friend recommended... read more

Reviewed 22 December 2023
895heikkis
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Amazing and interesting

LOved my visit to this place. Baeutiful buildings which are free to wander around on the outside... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2023
dgjohansson
,
Ronneby, Sweden
Read all 88 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
57
29
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
29
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour charming village beautiful place paper factory summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2019

If you visit Finland, you have to visit Mill that shows you what is very Finnish: pulp, paper and board manufacturing! This old mill is like it has been stopped yesterday though it has been closed for over 50 years. You can hear and feel how pulp has been manufactured in old times. In modern mills you can't see it as concretically as you see it here - and those nice old stories!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Jokke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

Old paper factory and mill. Local originall hand made design products. Cafe and restaurant. Really nice visit

Date of experience: August 2019
42  Thank Tomi_Wickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

The Verla Mill Museum is a compact and well-organized site where the Finnish industrial history comes alive. The guided one hour tour inside the museum is informative and interesting (and there is no access without a guide). Within the same courtyard there are also a cafe and shops where e.g. handicrafts, bread and wines are sold. The Visit to this UNESCO World Heritage site was a truly inspiring one, and I do warmly recommend it to everyone wishing to elaborate and experience the old times.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank teemuluk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2018

This factory museum is very well preserved like it was almost hundred years ago. One of the world heritage sites in Finland. I recommend to visit this site even it's located in rural area.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Marko74Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2018

I travel the world going to UNESCO sites, and that is the primary reason I went to the Board Mill. Once there, it became quite interesting to see and understand production in the late 1800s and early 1900s. It's very clear why this has received the designation - well preserved both pre electrification and post. We were lucky to go on the second last day of the year of operations, so the tour was free that day. We emailed a month in advance to book an English tour, and they were organized (ie expecting us) and it turned out we were the only ones, so we had our own private tour for free - what a deal. Our tour guide was very well educated in the mill's history - she was awesome. The tour is about an hour, and I would suggest 30 minutes to tour around the rest of the grounds. The trip from Helsinki up there is a great way to see the country and takes a little over 2 hours.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank CANDVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews