We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mikael F
Helsinki, Finland

Pleasant stay

Review of Scandic Kouvola
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jun 2020
We stayed here for two nights in the best room category which is Superior Family Four. They are spacious rooms with a sofa.

The hotel is an old Cumulus and the decor is a little bit outdated. However, the room was very functional and clean.

The hotel has two wings. Bigger rooms are located in the older one.

The breakfast during these COVID times was handled very well. Everything was portioned to plates and cups.

The receptionist was very friendly and knew all the Scandic Friends benefits which according to our experiences is very unusual.

Our stay had a good value for 119 euros per night.
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Хорошее фойе
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
Стандартный номер
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
6.0 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
Отель
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
21.5 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
31.5 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rantamökit cottage by the lake
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
33.4 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
соседи
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
11.9 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel & Lunch Restaurant Kymin Huvila
  • Vio.com
5.0 km from Scandic Kouvola
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Домик номер 4, у озера.
    33.7 km from Scandic Kouvola
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Tykkimäki Resort
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    4.4 km from Scandic Kouvola
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kouvola
    Reviews (120)
    Filter reviews
    120 results
    Traveller rating
    26
    49
    29
    11
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    26
    49
    29
    11
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 120 reviews
    Reviewed 16 January 2020

    Date of stay: January 2020
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 November 2019

    Date of stay: November 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 September 2019

    Scandic Kouvola is in central Kouvola, 150 meters from the railway station. Hotel is Built 1952 and have about 100 rooms.

    Room was comfortable. Decent price. Had a good night’s sleep. Free and fast Wi-Fi. Breakfast is included, and the quality is good with some finish specialities. Staff is extraordinary friendly and spoke good English and Swedish.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank 619dano
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 December 2018

    The terrible experience of visiting Scandick Kouvola. Despite the excellent staff and excellent braekfast-buffet, I got a bad impression about Scandick Kouvola due to the lack of rest at night. Troughout the night, music from the restorant was heard with low frequencies hitting the head. In the morning I got up with a terrible headace and nausea, completely unresponsive. Instead of rest, a restless night provoked a terrible migraine attack. If you want to sleep at night, do not recommend visiting this hotel.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    1  Thank Wanderer36894342437
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

    Very friendly receptionist and smooth check in. I had a superior room so it was spacious and there was a kettle.
    Dinner was OK but a bit bland. I had the small fried fish and a salmon starter. The house wine was OK. Service was friendly.
    Parking is easy on the roof. It is a bit strange that you can walk from the outdoor parking straight to the rooms. That does not feel very safe. On the other hand Finland is a safe place so I did not worry and locked the door and forgot about it. There is a looking home in the door anyway.
    Breakfast is very good and there is a lot of choice. Coffee in Finland is strong so beware. Nice yoghurt and good selection of bread. Great choice of teas.
    Online checkout did not work but it was a quick procedure anyway.
    Good strong shower.
    I'll stay again when in Kouvola.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Ilse S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews