We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
PricelineUS$169
eDreamsUS$169
Agoda.comUS$170
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
65
25
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
25
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar walking holiday lounge area rural setting large bathroom next morning balthazar alentejo portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but we enjoyed the surroundings and the hotel itself a lot.
Basic, in a good way, and very stylish infrastructures which remind of South-African lodges. The complex is nicely designed and feels airy. All inside areas were spotless.
Our evening meal was excellent and paired with very good red wine (2018 Herdade do Sobroso). Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Garp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

My partner and I stayed only one night but we wished we could have stayed longer.
The owner Balthazar was professional and personable.
The resort had a warm charm and very relaxing.
The food was basic and surprisingly delicious.
The rooms were a bit small but everything else at this resort made up for it.
I would highly recommend it and be prepared to extend your stay there...if it is not full.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scdpyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2019

We spent the last night of a walking holiday here. We lost our way and the manager/owner was kind enough to come and pick us up. Very helpful. In very large grounds with a lot of cows, donkeys and the odd ostrich. It is quite a stark, minimalist building and the rooms were concrete, bare and spacious. Not to my taste but very clean. The gardens were a little overrun and needed some work. There is an honesty bar, a lounge area and the dinner was good.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Unfortunately we only had an overnight stay and an 8.20 departure but the welcome was good, the room well equipped although the polished concrete floors and shelving may not be to everybody's taste. The rainfall shower was a godsend after a long day walking.
Evening meal was standard far with no complaints and although breakfast was not 'til 9.00 we were seen off with cereal and bread and jam(s) and ahot drink. Wished we'd had more time to enjoy the grounds.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Booked 2 nights here ... to shake off the dust the city after a week in Lisbon.
A pleasant trip until the last couple of kms - following the signposts, you would be forgiven for thinking you had gone astray. The road is rough , uneven and dusty.... and not too kind to your cars suspension or bodywork. We did it in daylight and it was bad... must be so much worse at night!
That said... once you arrive .. a feeling of calm descends. Greeted by the resident donkeys and ostrich..... you take a moment to enjoy the spacious Alentejo landscape .
Check in was informal.... room was ready at 2.30pm. Rooms are basic ... no pictures or decoration ... but functional and the bed was spacious and comfortable.
Dinner... which needs to be pre-booked, was tasty and filling ... slow cooked ribs the first evening, and the nation's favourite .. Bacchalau (codfish) on the second. Wine was included.
First evening everyone dined together .... next evening we had separate tables.
There is an honesty bar which was nice , as there was not always anyonearound to order a drink.
Overall... a beautiful place in an amazing setting. Perfect if you want peace and tranquillity....
A pool would be a huge addition... removing the need to leave the Tres Marie's at all !
We travelled to the nearby beach at Villa nova de Milfontes... where there are secluded coves and lots of places to eat and drink.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank ClareCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews