We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$44
View deal
PricelineUS$53
TravelocityUS$87
FindHotelUS$54
Destinia.comUS$70
travelup.comUS$65
Agoda.comUS$54
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
13
36
17
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
36
17
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Imagine Malhão - one of the most beautiful and most popular beaches of the Portuguese coast. Imagine beautiful coastline, the warm sand and the sun. Sounds nice, right?

The Malhão Beach has got a parking space for over 300 cars, which in August are full every day. There is only ONE possible road to get to that parking and to the beach. This road is made from an extremely dusty gravel. So each day, these 300 cars use this road, first to get to the beach and then again to return from it, causing immense clouds of dirt and noise. The traffic is especially intense in the morning and in the evening, just when you are about to have breakfast or supper with your family and friends.

Now... imagine your mobile home is situated right next to that road (ZONE A of the camping). Nothing separates you from it, except from a half-dead bush patches and a metal fence with triple barb wire. Basically, it is impossible to live there! All we did was trying to escape from our house as often as possible. Is the how you would like to spend your holiday? The Orbitur Sitava management did not see any problem in our complaint, as "the road is outside the area of the camping".

Upon booking we were neither informed, nor aware that the mobile homes are located in such a terribly unfortunate location. If we knew this, we would never book this location. So we hope that this review is helpful to others.

The bottom line is, beware of ZONE A on Orbitur Sitava Milfontes camping.

See the pictures for yourself. Too bad one cannot upload a film, which gives a perfect feeling of noise and dirt right at your doorstep.

Room tip: Avoid anything in ZONE A
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonB_842
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOliveiraSantos, Diretor de vendas at Orbitur Sitava Milfontes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing our camping. We take your comments very seriously and we’ll work to fix the aspects pointed out by you. We’ll be looking forward to seeing you again soon at any Orbitur unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed two nights, the beach is spectacular, open ocean but with some quiet places to bathe depending on the tide, great walk on a virgin beach.
The surroundings are beautiful, milfontes is a great town to visit, eat . Porto Como, nearby is very nice too.
It is a pity that the gate to the beach closes before sunset in summer, they should close it later
The breakfast was so so, the orange juice is the sweetest I have ever tried, the coffee regular.

Room tip: best place to camp is at the end of the camp , near the beach gate if the wind is not so strong
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcnano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The worst aspect about our stay were the gate closing hours.

This site has two gates, a west gate nearer to the beach and the main entrance gate, to the east. The latter is open 24/7. The west gate has, regrettably, opening and closing times, for everybody, not just cars. On Tuesdays and Thursdays it closes at 19h, on the other days of the week at 20h.

The beach is a good 30 minutes walk. However if you are planning to use this facility to walk to the beach every day, then you must respect the closing times of the west gate. The only alternative is to walk an extra 1.5 Km to the east gate around the perimeter of the camp. Despite only adding 30 minutes to your walk, this is particularly unnerving.

Surprisingly, even the folks who drive to the beach were rushing back, missing the sunset and the smooth sea breezes of the end of the day, just to make it before the west gate closes. I can't understand why, since for them it's a quick drive around to get in through the main entrance. Go figure.

This place caters to the average family with kids who can't afford taking any time off from the daily feeding, child minding and husbanding routine and who wouldn't walk 10 minutes to reach the beach on foot, even if they could. So would anyone find it strange that, contrary to any nature holidays concept, there are always cars driving inside the camp? I guess not.

The management should adapt the west gate to allow the entrance of people in the early and late hours of the hot summer days.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joandne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

The camping has nice areas for tends stepping up. Nice shades and good soil. There is always hot water however the toilet paper sometimes is missing. Very nice and helpful staff. We will come back definitely.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ligia042
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this campsite and to be honest there were few things that the campsite needs to sort out.
After the check-in we had to drive to the camping support hut so one member of the staff could tell us where to camp. We had to wait for 45min until someone came.

The campsite has a back gate which gives you access to the beach. The problem is that they close early (8PM)and we didn't know,so we had to walk for a long time until we got to the main entrance. When we addressed this to the woman at the reception she was quite rude and said that there was a sign at the gate with the closing times.(look at the picture, the sign is the blue and white A4paper stuck on the window,it is impossible to see from the gate)

Supermarket was expensive and limited opening hours.

Positive aspects:
- Very quiet.
- Next to a beautiful beach.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank TitaVer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews