We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo jandia premium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Playa
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Pajara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barcelo jandia premium”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A short break stay at the jandia playa, staying in the premium part.
We were so thank full that this was only a short stay as anything longer we would have gone stir crazy.
The good part was the atlantico restaurant which served breakfast & lunch, could not fault.
Fresh steak and fish daily and the table service was generally good. Why the hotel does not make full use of this area in the evening suprises me!
In the evening there is an a la carte restaurant that is average and service depends on how many covers they have as very little staff to service all the premium guests, in general the food was good. After dinner there is nothing for the premium guests to do unless you use kart of the hotel where there is entertainment with rows if chairs, children running around and poor service, not what I would expect in premium. The hotel is split in two and they are worlds apart!! If you just want a few nights break and not bothered about any entertainment or somewhere to have a nice drink in evening then this will be fine for you.
Rooms were ok, average, no English channel on sky except cnn, plenty of german channels.
The atlantico has a bar which you can use until 1800 daily however is in the shady part of the pool area, very cold and therefore cannot sit and relax also not manned and feel you are imposing when you ask for service! Example in the premium you can have branded spirits, I asked for smirnoff, was informed they run out, 3 days later they had not replaced the vodka, jot what you expect when you pay this upgrade.
Reception poor, staff could not really be bothered.
All in all, would not return have paid less and had better. If you are looking for great service with all inclusive try the Xanadu in Belek, turkey, it's amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlet1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloJandiaPlaya, Direction at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Madame,

First of all I would like to thank for your comments and let to know us your opinion about the hotel, that will help us to improve our services and facilities. We will consider your comments to take the necessary measure.

Our main goal it's to get the best satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to see you again at hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    2,057
    879
    323
    193
See reviews for
1,743
2,500
95
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked this holiday through On The Beach which advised us that transfers would take an hour. You need 2 and that was with us dropping off at 4 other hotels which where all close by.
On arriving at the hotel the young man, who was very helpful, booked us in very quickly and as the evening meal was just fininshing he sent us our way to the restuarant to get a meal. After which we went back to reception to get our room key. Our luggage had been taken to our room. We were in block 7 on the top floor over looking the sea. The room was clean and very nicely decorated. There was always plenty of hot water and the shower was very powerful.
The food was very much the same most days with not much variety and luke warm. Food would run out and wasnt replaced very quickly or the china wasnt there to put food on. We did go down to an English bar the Boot and Ball which did a very nice sausage and mash, full English breakfast, pukka pies and sirlion steak. Also a good cup of tea. This can be found almost opposite the lighthouse.
When we left the hotel we went through the gate at the back and down in the lift and did a right. Its a nice walk along the seafront up to the usual shops. There isnt a hill here. Ladies if you want to buy a pair of shoes or handbag haggle the price down. l saved almost 50 euros on a pair of shoes.
There was 2 pools and plenty of sunbeds at both pools. The snack bar just down from the bottom pool had hot snacks, salad, fruit and ice cream. Cold drinks, wine, beer and hot drinks.
We chose to drink in the reception bar in the evening, as we were given glasses to drink the beer from. Thanks to Oscar who made the cocktails and ran the bar very often on his own for part of the night.
Overall yes a 4* hotel, if they had a better menu and displayed it outside they would get a 5 from us .

Room Tip: you need to be on the top floor..We were on block 7 floor 2 which was the top and it was close to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuartkarran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Barcelo Jandia Playa is a good quality 4 star hotel at the northern end of the Jandia promenade . It is built up the slope of a steep hill so may be an issue for people with limited mobility. It should however be noted that it does cater for wheelchairs and I did spot a few people in wheelchairs whilst I was there who seemed to be getting about without issue.

I found service to be good with all staff being friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept clean in both rooms and public areas.

My standard room was a good size with an old style CRT based TV (only 1 English channel), a safe (charged extra), plenty of wardrobe space and a fridge. Beds were comfortable although the mattresses were a little hard. The bathroom had a 3 piece suite with shower over the bath and included a hairdryer.

I found the standard all inclusive food to be good quality with a varied choice of main meals throughout the week I was there. Starters and puddings were less varied but there was still a good selection. There are soft drinks, hot drinks, beer (San Miguel) and house wines (Red, White and Rose) available from dispensers around the restaurant. There were also sometimes special drinks (Cava, Sangria) served on entry to the restaurant or cocktails (Coffee based cocktails and alcoholic smoothies) on leaving the restaurant whist I was there. There are also coffee machines spread around the site where coffee and tea can be dispensed at any time.

The standard all-inclusive bar service is quite limited with one type of beer (San Miguel), about 7 cocktail choices, local spirits with mixers, house wines and vermouth. Despite the limitations I found the quality to be good and I didn’t miss the premium” brands. The service at the bars was good with a queuing system that seemed to work well even at busy times. Note however that the all-inclusibe bars shut at 11:30 pm with a charged for bar in the disco after this.

There are a number of separate swimming pools, one busy with regular entertainment/games and a pool bar, one much quieter that seems to attract adults looking for peace and quiet, a family pool at the back of the hotel and a separate pool for younger children. Thus you can find the atmosphere you want without the usual hustle and bustle associated with big pools in large hotels.

There were a few issues I found with the hotel:
1. Wi-Fi access in public areas charged for at 7 Euros a day
2. A broken lock on a gate at the back of the hotel that gave direct access to the promenade via a lift which meant the hotel was not secure.
3. Hot food in the snack bar was sometimes left on display for too long and going cold.

These were however, relatively minor gripes and overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Excellent stay last November. Had our silver wedding anniversary and the staff were very good in organising a surprise dinner with flowers and photographs etc. It did make the difference staying in the premium club side, you get what you pay for. Going back in 4 weeks time just for a weeks relaxation, which we know we will enjoy.

Room Tip: Some balconies have sight restrictions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we stayed in Premium Club of Barcelo hotel. when buying the trip, we were presented with pictures showing beautiful facilities reserved for adults only and a high end kind of experience. we payed even extra for the sea view and were looking forward to a lovely quiet week.

on arrival we were placed in a room with a glimpse of sea somewhere far far away. I was immediately complaining but was told - that is sea view. well, on closer inspection one can say ALL the rooms were sea view then as all the rooms were facing the sea side. so why did we get the option to pay extra?

we were on an All Inclusive plan - the breakfasts and lunches were really good, food and drink wise. the service was polite but the staff speaks almost no English/German at all so we were experiencing misunderstandings on a daily basis. what was "charming" the first day turned quite annoying after while. the dinners were rather poor - in the a la carte restaurant they attempted gourmet dining but neither the quality of the food, nor the service was adequate. again, very poor language skills, constant misunderstanding, at least 2-3 unpleasant situations EVERY day.

in the Premium Club after the lunch there was no possibility for a snack or anything even though the brochure stated that the snack bar at the pool has such option. so we had to go to the main part of the hotel where the food hall for snacks was a total disaster (McDonald's is a Michelin starred restaurant in comparison).

the most annoying part was the fact that we were sold a totally different product - a small delicate quiet hotel for adults only and ended in a charter tour. the hotel was enormous and ouor part was divided from rest by a simple row of bushes and a bit of a height difference. this resulted that we were forced to hear to loud music/disco whole day, reading at the pool was accompanied by constant screaming of the animators from the other side.

do yourselves a favor - drop this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing week as a couple. on the other hand, for stag party, families with small children and elderly... certainly a good destination.

besides, there is virtually nothing to do at fuerteventura - we hired a car and drove around the island, the nature is interesting at first, boring after a couple of miles - dry dry dry mountains. the winds are blowing constantly and even the capital of the island was a disappointment.

we were told there will be around 22-25 degrees there in December, we were looking at 16-18 at best. again - perhaps it was just a falsly promoted product by the travel agency.

Room Tip: in Premium Club, DEMAND upper floors. DO NOT upgrade to Suite - suites are not physically located wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fridtjofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloJandiaPlaya, Direction at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

First of all I would like to thank for your comments and let to know us your opinion about the hotel, that will help us to improve our services and facilities. We will consider your comments to take the necessary measure.

Our main goal it's to get the best satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to see you again at hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.1 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
59.6 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
12.0 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
844 reviews
0.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#17 of 71 in Pajara
4,680 reviews
59.7 km away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Playa

Property: Occidental Jandia Playa
Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Urbanizacion Playa del Jable, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Playa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pajara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pajara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Occidental Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Occidental Jandia Playa Fuerteventura/Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing