We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,671)
Filter reviews
3,671 results
Traveller rating
1,244
1,342
613
255
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
1,342
613
255
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kite surfing fun pub oasis restaurant rene egli level room level service level restaurant level guests gabi bar costa calma sea view high tide breakfast and dinner half board mini market master suite amazing beach
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 3,671 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

What a lovely hotel in a stunning location..
All staff were very welcoming and helpful. Public rooms were light, airy and there was always somewhere comfortable to sit and pass the time of day. Our room was comfortable with fridge, large balcony with sun loungers, free safe, lots of storage and a seating area. The beds were wide and very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size, well lit and equipped. While we were there our toilet flush seized but was attended to within 2 hours of reporting by a very helpful reception. It was a shame that our room faced the car park which meant that there was some noise from late night buses and we had very little day time sun so the balcony got very little use. We were told that this was a standard room and to change to a sea or pool facing room would be an extra 18 euros per day !The restaurant was lovely, the tables were a little close together which meant that at busy times you had to take care not to keep bumping into other diners when going up to the buffet and carrying warm drinks. The food was the best we have come across in any Spanish hotel in all our years of travelling. It was absolutely fresh and of high quality and showed what standards can be obtained. Well done Meliá Gorionnes. The hotel has recently had some refurbishment completed. One big let down was the paving around the glorious pool area. This was rough , worn and very uncomfortable to walk on in bare feet. One very good point that we noted was that the hotel was very well staffed. There were cleaners constantly at work, in the room areas, public areas, pool and service areas. The place was immaculate and there was never a dirty or abandoned plate or glass to be seen anywhere..The outside refuse was constantly monitored during the day, never over full and with an excellent recycling in operation for plastic glasses. Even the rodent reduction team of resident moggies was well behaved and unobtrusive.. The location on the best beach in Fuerteventura was brilliant, ideal for families, young water sports enthusiasts or more elderly less energetic people alike. The hotel is isolated so if you don’t have a car then all inclusive would be necessary as drinks and snacks are expensive to the captured clientele. If you have a car then the island has a lot to offer in the way of barren majestic scenery and walks. The northern resorts are purpose built and the expected tourist traps. Fuerteventura is still getting used to tourists and it’s northern developments are purpose built. The Melia Gorionnes has been here since the Seventies and we thought it was a gem, isolated from the crass plastic and neon aspects of the tourist industry. The hotel does not accept cash........only card transactions so beware and be forewarned. I feel that this should be pointed out to all clients when they book.
I have visited Fuerteventura 5 times so far, would give the north and Caleta a miss.
I came to the Gorionnes many years ago and due to its stunning location vowed to return. I have now done so and have not been disappointed. I shall be going back.

Stayed: May 2018
3  Thank HeatherKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Heather,

Thank you very much for sharing such detail experience of your stay with all Tripadvisor readers.

Reading your review we feel very pleased to read that your overall experience of your holidays has matched your expectations.

We consider that to keep our common areas and facilities clean and well-kept is very important and it is very important for us that our guests can realize our daily job to keep it. As you can see, we work continuously on improvements to make our facilities more comfortable for our guests.

In regards your food comments, on behalf of all kitchen staff we would like to thank you for your lovely comments. As everybody knows it is very difficult to please and meet all our nationality guest´s tastes. However, our kitchen staff serve every night different dishes and we really appreciated that you enjoyed.

After read your comments about your room location, we would like to inform you that we have different room types with different location and facilities. We encourage to contact our reception desk if you decide to visit us back to get more information about them in order to meet your room´s needs.

Finally, we would like to thank your comments about the friendliness of our staff. As they play a very important role in our guest´s holidays, it is important for us to read that you found our service as you expect.

All the staff of Meliá Fuerteventura would be very happy welcoming you back if your will decide visit the Island again.

Warm regards,

GEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We have staid in Melia Gorriones for few nights and i can only wish it would be a longer visit. Really happy with the hotel - oasis at the most beautiful spot on the island. Magical dunes and Sotavente beach , palms, cactuses, aloes, sea water pool, singing birds , hard working firmly personnel...the list of positives is endless. Food made this holiday just perfect- great choice without failures. Only 2 things i can mention on the “negative” (not big deal at all to be honest, very manageable) are mosquitos - bring good spray. And it was a little colder then we expected, but 20C isn’t actually cold of course. Windy , but that is expected. Even the most sensitive of us got to enjoy swimming and sunbathing. Would like to thank the hotel and staff for everything and highly recommend to book Melia Gorriones for your next holiday. It is true what they say, the place is a spanish Hawaii

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank KaterinaV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Katerina,

We would like to thank you for making us your choice on your visit to Fuerteventura.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays and you have felt satisfied with our services.

Having a tropical weather you would find different degrees along the day, se we suggest to all our guest to bring with their selves at least a pair of jackets. You will never know!!

We look forward welcoming you in a nearly future.

Kind regards,

GEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We have been staying here every November/December for the last 5 years, we meet up with several others we have become friends with over time.
It was cheap and you could ignore the poor dated deco in the rooms withe rotting moldy door bottoms rusty bath taps and dodgy plumbing. However the food was excellent and the sunbathing area around the large pool was lovely.
The last few years the number of repeat/return guests has diminished, the prices have gone up, the number of large cracks and support structures have increased.
On our last visit we upgraded to the Level, hmm, same poor quality room except we had slippers and dressing gown, the oasis dinning room had less choice than the main dinning room and the service was poor due to the lack of waiters, we therefore ate in the main restaurant 9 nights out of 10, the choice was better and the service was great being a Level guest you were treated better than in the level area.
Each year they have provided an iron and ironing board, not in the level for level guests, you get an ironing service and have to pay for it, they refuse to let you have the iron so we bought one as this was cheaper and more convenient.
We and many others we know have booked elsewhere this year.
Finally, for some reason the management think it's a great idea to play loud chill music from morning to night, that's fine in the bar but not by the pool, the level pool area is not as nice as the standard level and all guest can use the oasis restaurant at lunchtime, the same cushioned and table cloths are used in the evening for level guests which means the seats are greasy from sweat and suntan lotion.
When you raise issues with the management they are not interested.
What a shame as I enjoyed this hotel and will miss the friends from other parts of the UK and Europe.

Room Tip: Sea view 3rd floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scbean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel once again for your holidays in Fuerteventura.

Reading you review we feel very disappointed as the majority of our guests feel happy, spoiled and comfortable with our "The Level" service.
However, as we work with our guest´s feedback we would like to inform you that we have already shared your comments in our monthly meeting with all head departments and the management department in order to show them our guest´s point of view.

We are pretty sure that your opinion will help to improve our service and facilities as we are starting to do it.

We would love welcoming you back in a nearly future and show you that we work on improvements.

Sincerest regards,

GEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

I know the weather can't be helped, but when it's not too good, there's not too much to do! There's no little town to wander around ( well, not without a bus or taxi ride). The food is the biggest let down. Ok if you're only here a few days, but any longer, and it's so repetitive! Tuna, perch or veal!
Rooms are nice enough. We had trouble hearing other English people; it's a German/ Spanish resort, mainly.
Great if you're into water sports, but not much else.
Top tip: go All inclusive. Half board is a pain, as you can't pay in cash; other than in the little shop. You have to give your credit or bank card number, then pay at the end of your stay.
Beds are comfy, though why do hotels still do more single beds, than doubles?? The hotel was only half full, yet we still had a double room, with two single beds in???
We're having a nice time, but that's the best I can say. Shame.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Shelley,

Thank you very much for your feedback and choosing our Hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura.

We would like to inform you that we do have rooms with single and double beds. We always take care of our guest´s requests and needs so we encourage next time to inform about your beds preferences in order to allocated you with a double bed. We can never guarantee due to it depends on our booking situation however we always try our best possible to fulfil our guest´s needs.

In regards your food comments we would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectations as we always try our best possible to fulfil all our international guest´s tastes with different stations where you can create your own salad or you find salads already made; we offer also 3 different types of show cooking for pastas, fish and meat; in addition we serve too pizza and hot international food already made by our professional chefs and to finish the buffet we display a good range of homemade desserts. We love to have guest´s feedback and we inform you that we have already shared your comments onto the Head Chef as we are sure that your opinion will help us to improve our service looking for meet our guest´s expectations.

Once again, thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We would like welcoming you back and show you we work on improvements.

Sincerest regards,

GEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

First time to the island, flew in with Jet2. After an hour transfer arrived at the hotel.
First impression was how clean and spacious the hotel was. We initially took a sea view room, which was again spacious and clean. The AI deal was excellent, breakfast had a great range of food,the chefs and waiting staff all happy to help. Lunch in the Oasis sat under the canopy was excellent, lovely atmosphere, various choices of food , mainly freshly prepared.
The pool area is fantastically well maintained, the gardens of cactus look superb. As mentioned in previous reviews there are enough sun beds for the entire island,with plenty of space available.
The most stunning aspect to the hotel is where it’s situated, the beach is stunning. We walked every day along the beach, and as you leave the hotel area before the beach , leave your shoes in the area next to the foot wash. This way you don’t have to carry them on your walk. Be prepared for some nudity, nothing offensive, but some have more beach wear on than others.
The kite boarders make the most of the amazing location, great to watch when the lagoon area is full.
We decided to upgrade to the Level for our last two nights, bigger room and had all our meals in the Oasis Restaurant.
The AI option is very good, the alcohol is mainly named brands and served with a smile. The Level option increases on the AI package, but it’s not just about the drink!
All in all an excellent week away, highly recommend!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Fuerteventura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Andy,

Firstly we would like to thank for sharing such as wonderful review of your recent stay in our Meliá Fuerteventura.

Reading your experience we are very happy to know that you came back home with so many lovely memories of your holidays. It is very pleasant read that our guests have such a wonderful time with us and we are able to offer them the facilities, food, drinks and service that you expect for your holidays.

We would love welcoming you back soon!!

Warm regards,

GEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews