We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Ana(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
10
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral americamanicuredguatemalangardenbedantigua
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

This place is a great surprise.
Ginger is probably the most acknowledged yoga teacher in Guatemala. She is a direct disciple of Shri Baba Hari Dass. And she is one of yoga teachers trainers that provide education for the 200 + TT certifications in Mount Madonna Ashram in California.
Don’t let yourself be turn off by the surroundings of this Posada. Is a reminder that we live between locals and is not an scape of Guatemalan reality. San Juan del Obispo is a typical painteresque humble town.
Inside the Posada is a calm and pure space, with an amazing library and two beautiful cats. The rooms are cozy and allow yourself be surprised by the architectural eco designs.
Ginger’s yoga classes are amazing, right to keep the yoga practice rooted in its purpose. The Ayurvedic classes are also very good. She is an artist to simplify philosophical concepts where Ayurveda is rooted to make it accessible to you.
Food of course is sattvic and delicious as Ginger is also a chef. She is an Ayurvedic Therapist so this is a good start to find balance in your daily life and yoga practice through food and very asserted advices based on your Ayurvedic constitution.
As a long term student of Yoga, I highly recommend this place and appreciate it for its simplicity and coziness.
And I’m grateful to have crossed the path of this yogini.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nomadjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Propietario at Casa San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Wow! Thanks for all the kudos!
I appreciate your taking the time to review us... and we always look foward to having your here!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I have come to Casa San Juan to luxuriate in the best of Guatemala. This new hotel is a yoga and auyerveda center. The healing begins the moment you pass through the front gate to the beautifully manicured and designed garden. Look around and you find yourself surrounded in brilliant colors and sun. Look up and you see the encircling volcanic mountains, and rolling hills. Hummingbirds dance among the blossoms. Take a deep breath and feel the travel stress begin to evaporate. Your room will be decorated with Guatemalan textiles draping the bed and warming the floor. My room also has a private rooftop for reading, writing and enjoying the views.

Vegetarian meals are prepared using local fruit and vegetables and are nourishing and delicious. Spend time practicing yoga, meditating or borrowing books from the extensive library.

You are ten minutes from La Antigua, the ancient capital of Central America. It is a destination in its own right, full of Colonial ruins, restaurants, museums, cobbled streets, extensive shopping, music, dancing. Wanting more, how about a day hike up a volcano, a tour of a coffee plantation or a few days at Lake Atitlan.

Whatever you choose, this resort is the perfect base to explore and unwind.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Juvijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Eigenaar at Casa San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Casa San Juan is simply gorgeous! It is the home Ginger Hooven built for herself, then added several interesting rooms for us all in the garden -- count yourself lucky; I do! Charming, cozy interior, competent staff, lovely garden, swell food...and super friendly cats and dogs to play with. I loved every minute I was there! Thanks Ginger for Casa San Juan and a lovely time!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Propietario at Casa San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! I look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Casa San Juan B&B is just impeccably perfect.. This is not your ordinary Bed and Breakfast. Have you ever stayed at a B&B that nourishes you with Ayurvedic meals?

The main building houses an amazing open kitchen and a dining space that faces glass walls and which can slide open to the manicured terrace and garden… the house is filled with a mix of handicraft arts and interesting Christian artifacts, and furnished with beautiful wooden antique furnitures. You'll also find small hidden sanctuary-like spaces that are suitable for those looking for silence. The rooms are equally designed with attention to details, impeccably decorated, clean and warmly comfortable. Definitely a place for those looking for wellness, inner journey and wanting some peace. Throughout the stay you’ll be blissed with a nice scented fragrance that pervades all areas.. to me, this added sensorial experience is what sets this amazing house apart from other rentals.. ah, also there are two very playful dogs and three cats that add extra charm to this private sanctuary.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank hayunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Eigenaar at Casa San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! I am pleased that you paid attention to all the details in our lovely house! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The room was so adorable-- and I had very comfortable mattress, pillows, and linens. My private shower was by far the best hot shower I have had in 5 weeks in Central America. The garden is beautiful, complete with trickling fountains, and cascades of flowers from the roof. Breakfast every morning in the beautiful home has been delicious, and the coffee superb! On top of all of that, the hosts are super friendly. Every time I come in I am greeted with a big smile. They have gone out of their way to help me out-- even cut some fresh aloe and made a medicinal tumeric drink to help with all the bug bites I got from a trip to Belize. I have really been made to feel at home here, I would highly recommend a stay here to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Public Relations Manager at Casa San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you Madison-
It was our pleasure to host you. So happy you enjoyed all the little special touches that make Casa San Juan so unique. Good luck on the rest of your travels and PA School!

Kind Regards
Wyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews