We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
31
48
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
48
23
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building high street clarks village nice bar area room was large original features an evening drink breakfast was excellent two night stay wooden beams full english breakfast enjoyed our stay stayed here for one night top floor few minutes walk nice stay tea making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Slightly in need of a makeover but quirky with friendly staff. Serve lovely tapas in the evening, large portions and delicious. They allow dogs in the bar area and the rooms at no additional cost. Also the local clientele were friendly.

Room was large with adequate facillties, no complaints. Well situated 5 minutes from Glastonbury.

Breakfast was well cooked and large, good value and had a gluten free bread option. Would definitely stay again when in that area.

Room Tip: Room 17 was nice and quiet.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank echcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, only because it allows dogs to stay with us. The rooms are clean although both times the bathrooms have not been so great (looked like the edge of the bath had been melted). The person who greeted us on Sunday was incredibly helpful and polite. However, we were informed this time (it wasn't a problem last time) that we could not bring our dogs into the breakfast area and had to eat in the bar. In May, there were our dogs and another 2 at breakfast. It isn't a hygiene thing, I know this for a fact. Won't be going back but only because of how our dogs were treated. I never trust people who don't like dogs.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Stayed for one night whilst in the area for a course. Whilst on first impressions the hotel appears a bit dated, the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable (Room 4). The breakfast was fresh and absolutely fine. We had some drinks in the bar, again very nice, however some of the 'locals' were in having a drink and the language was appalling, I kept waiting for the barman to say something to them, but he didn't, which was quite surprising. All that said, our stay was fine.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bailgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I booked 2 rooms and when we arrived, each of us was given a room. My friends had a lovely modernised room. My room was very old - OK nice beams etc - HOWEVER, the shower was cracked and smelled of damp and was mouldy in the corner; the window didn't close; the bed was obviously very old too - very lumpy and the mattress sloped to one side; there was no tray for the coffee/tea making equipment - it was just left on the floor. Breakfast wasn't great - Tea bags left in the original box for everyone to touch and pick out the one they wanted; coffee was weak and tasted bitter; the cooked breakfast came on cold plates; the choice of cereal was very limited - all in all NOT GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY at £80 per night.
Will definitely NOT stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank MaureenL799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

l liked this hotel even though it did not seem to do evening meals ,the hotel is old with large oak beams big fireplaces ,l think we had the smallest room but it had a good feel bed was to short for me but was comfy and warm , shower needs updating but water was hot and powerful,excellent breakfasts well worth money , nice bar and friendly staff
Would book again when in area

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fishfaceNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews