We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly memorable experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Argostolion, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dreamsofs...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Truly memorable experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We chartered the Golden Otter, as a family for the day, during our holiday in Kefalonia. Our children are 10 and 7 and they had a fabulous time. Alan and Vassiliki were perfect hosts and very experienced sailors. They took us down the coast giving us local insight along the way. We moored in a quiet bay, jumped in the tender and went to a local taverna for a fabulous lunch and then meandered back to where we started
I couldn't think of a better way to spend a day in Kefalonia - highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this trip as a surprise for our 3 teenage (16 year old) boys. Having never really sailed before, it was to be an adventure for the boys and us (3) mums. Alan, our host, answered all of our questions by email beforehand and was super helpful.

We had two nights/3 days sailing with Alan aboard his super stylish wooden sailing yacht. He is a really relaxed host and good company. He was super relaxed with the boys, who were able to use the outboard dinghy at will.

I don't usually review, but I have to say we all had such a magical time. I would thoroughly recommend and would be happy to answer any queries privately should anyone be considering booking the Golden Otter.

Totally fab!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl S
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent addition to a holiday in Kefalonia”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After a fantastic recommendation from friends we decided to book a day trip sailing on The Golden Otter whilst holidaying in Kefalonia. We were collected from our hotel which was close to where the boat is. Alan and Vassiliki made us very welcome and discussed where we would sail to for the day and whether to have lunch on the boat or to eat at a taverna. After a welcoming cup of tea we set sail for St Thomas's bay passing beautiful scenery on the way. Alan moored the boat at St Thomas's bay and we went in the dinghy to a delightful taverna and had ice cold beers and chips seasoned with herbs. It was a very peaceful setting with just a few people swimming in the aquamarine sea and a few on the sandy beach. Back on the boat Vassiliki made a Greek salad for lunch which we all enjoyed before relaxing to enjoy more sailing. We arrived back at the mooring after having a thoroughly enjoyable day trip. Having never sailed before and initially feeling nervous i would recommend this day trip on The Golden Otter to be a delightful addition to a wonderful holiday in the beautiful island of Kefalonia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magical experience of sailing on a wooden boat
Liked least: The day trip coming to an end
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john H
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Brilliant choose how you want to sail”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Serious sailing on the Golden Otter ( a solid hand crafted , Van De Stadt ). I am aiming to complete my Yacht Master Cert and this was a great addition. A week in the Ionian Sea on the Golden Otter with Vassiliki and Alan.
Two friends and I booked with A & V ( surprising easy to do on the Internet and great to phone and speak directly to Alan for last minute questions). We agreed to sail from Kefalonia to Sicily for a week to build up our sea miles and sailing experience. We were recommended by a friend who sailed with them last year.
A & V met us at the airport and took us to the boat where we had a cup of tea, a tour of the boat and the safety information. The forecast was good so we cast off straight away even though the sun was beginning to set. We sailed through the night taking different shifts of four hour watches. It was fantastic, if you are into sailing this is a must for you, take a long trip! The over nights were amazing, the stars and the night sky in the Mediterranean are absolutely stunning and the sea has a strange luminous phosphor essence better than I have seen before. The daytime sea was sparkling and glittering as if the stars were in the sea and the night was warmer than summer in England. Night time sailing is one of the requirements for the yacht masters certificate. Alan was not over protective of his boat and we were in control of the vessel day and night but was always there vto help, answer question and to support us. Most of our sailing was with a steady 3 to 4 from the south. This experience has given me the confidence to do more ocean crossings. A & V searched all over for their perfect boat and found it in England, and sailed it back to Kefalonia. They have plenty of varied sailing experience. I am planning to come back to the Golden Otter in October for more serious sailing and perhaps find some more extreme conditions.

We were straight into sailing, hoisting sails, plotting the course, Captain insisted we plot the course without the aid of electronic gadgets (although the boat has every possible navigation aid,) we plotted the course to Sicily. The boat sailed like a dream averaging 6.3 knots with the wind slightly a baft the beam. We sighted land and were amazed that our calculation was close to what the GPS told us when we switched it on. Syracuse is the birth place of Archimedes. It was 235 nautical miles around 40 hours sailing, a significant contribution to our yacht masters cert. We spent a day of relaxation and exploration, there are some very nice bars. Then we hoisted sail and sailed back to Argostolie. The journey back was all you could want, Dolphins escorting us, fish appearing from nowhere, the occasional bird dropping in and I am sure there was a sea turtle. Keep your camara handy, wish I had taken more photos. When we reached Argostolie using our own calculations we headed straight to the bar for drinks and food. A fantastic adventure and a great insight into sailing.

I can't thank A & V enough, they provided us with the experience of a lifetime. Alan stood in the background giving us the opportunity to be in full control but always there to answer queries and keep a watchful eye. Ask him to tell you some of his sailing experiences. I spoke to Alan about returning to do some more serious sailing, to up my sea miles and Skippers hours on the boat. Possibly sailing to Crete, Turkey or maybe up to Egypt, we even discussed Tahiti!
So hopefully October will see me back on board.

Look at the website to get a flavour, listen to the music and the surprise at the end.
Can't remember the website but - sailing in Kefalonia with the Golden Otter- finds it for me.
>
Oh and before I forget thanks for the bottle you popped and the lift back to the airport, I must have been too overcome to remember to thank you properly.
>
Sailing in the spirit of Bernard Moitessier

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: best experiance ever, to many highlights
Liked least: I didnt spend more time with them and didnt take enough photos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$327
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing