We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value typical portuguese cuisine”

Taverna D's Pereiras
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Carcavelos
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Been here several times but never thought of writing a review. One of our favorite restaurants, great dining at a very reasonable price. The portions are reasonable and in many cases suitable for two. Great ingredients and typical portuguese cuisine, without being snob or pretentious. Could advise all plates, as everything is pretty much delicious here.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch for two, had to wait 20 minutes but worth it, the sea bream was excellent. Seemed like a very popular restaurant tucked away near the church - good service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GtrMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This is a very authentic Portugese taverna, or thats what we thought it was from the reviews here. But the service was very bad, food not that good. The waiters were rude to us and it seemed it was because we were foreigners and didn’t speak Portugese. I would prefer to eat at the carcavelos beach with a view and pay the same. This place has a variety of Portugese food, mainly meats and some seafood, but we didn’t know the food very well so ordered without knowing. The meat was undercooked really bad, but the fish we had, Douro was not bad. However it seemed full with happy locals. And we were unlucky to go on the night of a soccer game so the locals all were watching the game and it was loud. If you go here make sure you make a reservation, because although its out of the touristic area its small and full. And if you go don’t sit downstairs, its very tight, and lacks air flow.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jj7735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The portions are very generous and the food fresh. Ribs with bean rice was a delicious and original dish. We sit in the outdoor area on a warm evening. There is an open square very Portuguese style in front which made the evening very pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joseaG4058KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

GO TO THIS PLACE!!! Waiter named Luis (i think) looked after myself and 2 friends in July '18. We chose the sea bass (out of the sea that day) grilled (no olive oil) with salt, veal steak the size of a plate and about an inch thick, and 2 plates of vegetables to share.

I can honestly say it was the best fish and piece of meat i have ever tasted. The vegetables were carrots and cabbage on silver platters steamed to perfection and covered in the most delicious garlic and olive oil.

The deserts were the best i've ever tasted also. We had 6 between us to share. Freshly made, velvety, sugary, creamy. Mind boggling. Was also introduced to a dessert called Molatov with fresh caramel sauce and creme anglais. If i could give this place 6 out of 5 i would. The bill, which also included drinks, for the 3 of us was £121. Great value also.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna D's Pereiras also viewed

Carcavelos, Lisbon District
Oeiras, Lisbon District
 
Oeiras, Lisbon District
Carcavelos, Lisbon District
 
Carcavelos, Lisbon District
Oeiras, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taverna D's Pereiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing