We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A real thrill to feel the past as it should be valued, whatever the whims of current history

This was one of the most interesting houses that I have ever visited, with huge historical... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jhmpeel
,
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Wonderful

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Curraghmore House. Our tour guide Eibhlin was so friendly and... read more

Reviewed 19 June 2022
522jenny
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Read all 112 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
86
20
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
20
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house tour stately home eighteenth century big house scheduled tour old house curraghmore house well worth the visit coffee shop original furnishings stable yard lord estate knowledge ireland history shells
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2021

I recently visited the beautiful Curraghmore House and Gardens and was not disappointed. From the moment we entered the gate into the demesne, the wonderful place came alive. The architecture of the house and stable yard is extraordinary. The rear of the house, as we discovered, houses a 12th-century tower house. The remainder of the house is mostly eighteenth-century.

We arrived just before a scheduled tour and as we had just ordered coffee and dessert in the tearooms, we asked a lovely member of staff to hold our cakes until after the tour. She politely obliged. We joined the tour, led by the articulate and well-informed Evelyn who pitched the tour at the perfect level of information. Sometimes, tours of historic houses can leave one weary after ten minutes. The house is magnificent and full of the family's possessions, collected over many generations. The art collection is extraordinary. As the family continues to live in the house, it does not feel like a museum, which is a lovely touch, and recent famly photographs adorn the tables.

Following the tour of the house, we were shown to the incredible Shell House which dates to the early years of the eighteenth century and is lined entirely in shells. It is a must-see.

The gardens are wonderful and in perfect condition. Look out for the sculpture of a stag's head - inspired by the family's motto and emblem.

We enjoyed our trip to Curraghmore and will return. It was very good value, and the cake was worth the wait - the best carrot cake in Ireland! An altogether welcoming Big House experience.

Date of experience: July 2021
3  Thank olop555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Nice Place but very impolite and grumpy resident old man, will never go back again and wouldnt Recomend to anyone to visit this Place. There are many nice Places like this in Ireland where you will be respected and treated politely.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank MariusJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alan W, General Manager at Curraghmore House and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Marius,

Thank you for your feedback . The timing of your visit was unfortunate as the estate was closed due to COVID . You are more than welcome to return now that we are open again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

The opportunity to be able to tour a lived in castle was something we could not resist. First we showed up not knowing there were only 2 tours a day, we were greeted in the parking lot by a nice young lady asking if we planned to tour the castle and the tour had just started so she got us in quickly and to Evelyn our tour guide. Little did we know the nice young lady was actually the Lady if the castle, how cool is that. The castle is all original from the 17th century, a rare find and amazing to see. Evelyn was an awesome tour guide and made the tour very memorable.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

Evelyn, our guide, was superb. Her easy style and encyclopaedic knowledge brought the house, and the family, and the history to life. Wonderful.

A tour of the house is a must. If you’re not already part of a pre-booked tour group, maybe ring ahead and make sure that you can join a scheduled tour.

The house (with its unique contents, furniture, paintings, plasterwork, etc.) is both interesting and fascinating. As is its own 800+ year history, and of course the story of the family who have lived there throughout that time.

Go. Take the tour.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Mac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Carraghmore House and Gardens. The authenticity of this lived in and working estate of approx 2,600 acres was remarkable and brought to life by Evelyn's guided tour. Her own life story is entwined with this house and its owners and her knowledge and love for the impact the house and its people had on this important community. Also we had a hire car problem and Alan the Estate Manager's assistance went above and beyond to get us mobile again. All the employees of Carraghmore House were extremely helpful and very friendly. This experience will stay with us when we return to NZ for many years.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank ancestry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews